Which type of sub ? Sealed Enclosure, Ported Enclosure, Bandpass, Tube?

billyngcam

All the Sifus here,

Please enlighten me of the 4 major type of subwoofers characteristic :embaressed_smile:

Really confuse with what type of sub to use lah.....

I'm looking for SQ type....

Bandpass type:

HRBENC.jpg
VBP10.jpg

Consealed Type:
APSB12.jpg

Tube Type:
ATB10AT.jpg

Ported :

APVB120B.jpg
COLOR][IMG]

easiest way for SQ is sealed box. once u know what youre doing in box building and port tuning, a ported box would be better, provided u know what youre doing first. free air (no box) type also good for SQ but not many subs designed for this are in the market anymore. also more importantly to get good SQ is the sub characteristic itself, good subs dont come cheap.

Easiest way to get SQ sub is sealed box like member above mentioned, just build to size and make sure no air leaks, dump in sub can already :_:

Zenn & Alcon06,

Thanks for your feed back!

What's the bass characteristic if compare the sealed box with ported box?
How about tube type? Many people tell me tube type does not give "deep bass", true?

all depends on stregth and build quality of the enclosure. the tube could be less strong, air could be leaking, or the sub size is smaller, so u dont get as good result.

ported u will get very strong bass at certain frequency, just that u have to know how to tune the box size and port length to get the correct frequency that coincides with the type of music u play then it will become really cun, if not, it will sound lousy.

I've seen in overseas website , seems like bandpass type sub-woofer is very popular. What's the principle of getting the bass out (by looking at it, the woofer is inside the box), and what's the advantage of bandpass?

if U go to IASCA or EMMA website than U will know much better either Sealed or others is common enclosure they use in competition...

billyngcam said:
I've seen in overseas website , seems like bandpass type sub-woofer is very popular. What's the principle of getting the bass out (by looking at it, the woofer is inside the box), and what's the advantage of bandpass?

A bandpass as a type of enclosure which allows a range of freq. to pass. Thats why its called a bandpass. Its popular in the SPL scene. Just like the one note wonder.

Sealed is suitable for SQ, but if you want exxagerated lows you would opt for ported. While a Transmission line is better for lows, its down side is it will be to big to fit into the car. Most home audio will go T line or ported rather than sealed. Why is this? Its because HT application will need rage of freq. form 10 - 60 hz which ported is more suitable.

If you willing to give it a try, you could try the ABC enclosure.

appleyard said:
A bandpass as a type of enclosure which allows a range of freq. to pass. Thats why its called a bandpass. Its popular in the SPL scene. Just like the one note wonder.

Sealed is suitable for SQ, but if you want exxagerated lows you would opt for ported. While a Transmission line is better for lows, its down side is it will be to big to fit into the car. Most home audio will go T line or ported rather than sealed. Why is this? Its because HT application will need rage of freq. form 10 - 60 hz which ported is more suitable.

If you willing to give it a try, you could try the ABC enclosure.

Sorry sifu, what's "Transmission line" , "HT application" and "ABC enclosure" huh?

Sorry lah, newbie here:tongwink:

Thanks appleyard,

Great website... But a bit technical for me loh..... Give back all the physic knowledge to my school teacher already... hehehe

Anyway, thanks a lot.