when to renew driving license?

cyclonite

Just wanted to know... if my driving license expires in Feb 2007 can I renew now? What would be the Pros/Cons?

If not then what's the right thing to do? Wait until expire then only renew is it?

Thanks.

cyclonite, you can renew before your driving license get expired, but I can't confirm how many months in advance that exercise can be performed.

but usually we do it months or days after we realise that our driving license expired. :biggrin:

arrr not a good idea to renew it cos they will deduct the days left and start from the day of payment,i renew mine and they makan 2 days edi

kelvio, for your case, you shall check it when they hand over the driving license to you.

procedure is,
if your driving license expired at 30 Nov, 06. (01/12/05 - 30/11/06),
if you renew for a year, the new validity period shall be (01/12/06 - 30/11/07),

expiry date = "from date" + "year of validity" - 1 day

the problem is JPJ system and POS office system (if you renew at POS office), the system accept any date, even if the date overlaps (by right it shouldn't). They don't do checking, No user input control.

I was questioned by the officer because my old license validity period is (27/01/2000 - 27/01/2002), they though I carry fake driving license.... *speechless*

i am those lazy to waste time waiting for long que, so usually one shot do renew for 5 years period. No need to see those sohai face in JPJ counter.

i just renew my lisence 2 days ago..
it was expired for a few months
hahahahahha

IMHO you shouldn't toy around with driving license expiration. It's a very serious offence.

1) What are you going to do if police catches you driving w/o license or with expired license? You'll get into big big trouble.

2) Worse still what happens if you have an accident which your passengers get hospitalized? They won't be able to claim their PA insurance because the driver did not have a valid license. Are you gonna pay for their hospital bill?

Please think before doing stupid things like that la...

cyclonite, not only that, even Motor Insurance you may have problem to claim. Insurance company always look for ways not to pay money for customer, or at least make you claim less.

PS: I got free PA from MNI.

yaya insurance company is our money sucker
they suck our money but when we wanna make a claim they finds ways to not to pay,or pay in full

It's not wrong for them to do that. If you don't have a valid driving license it only means 4 things:

1) you don't know how to drive a car so you can't qualify for one

2) you are too young to drive a car so you can't get one

3) you drove your car in a wrong way and the government decided you're not fit to drive so they suspend your license

4) your license has expired and you are no longer permitted by the government to drive

so why should they let you claim? :)