What to do when your Turbo car overheats?

HanJackaL

Imagine you are whacking the car to its limit for about 30 min..red lining every gear,then suddenly you notice smoke coming out of your engine and your engine temperature is at redline.

What do you do ? I am in a dilemma here because since the car is turbo,if you turn off the engine suddenly to let the car cool down,it might cause your turbo bearings to fail.However,if you dont turn off your engine and let it idle,i am wondering if the temperature eventually regulate or will the engine fail?

What to do in this situation to minimize the damage?

If temp goes up... something is wrong with the cooling system or the engine itself. A friend of mine used to hv his temp up to 3/4 or almost redline during high boost. A couple of months later, the engine busted. He ended up replacing the head n block together.

By right, even if u shift gears at red line, the temp usually don't go all the way up till red line.

After whacking, let engine run for around 3 mins or so. If the cooling system is ok, the temp will go down.

hanjackal.. what car bro?

err.. normally.. go service the radiator,let the shop do it,they clean all the radiator fins n also put chemical.

i did it mine last week. coz my temp up n down.. when at traffic light or long stop,car idle.. my temp will shoot. but when the car start to move,the temp drop down.

then drain the radiator,see those radiator fins inside we blocked by some metal dust chip small2 things.. every single fin inside the radiator.

hope it works!

Agreed with mrbear. Service the radiator 1st. And ask your foreman to flush the everything from the cooling system as well.

i think the best way.. is to remove the radiator n also ask mech to send (or if he can do) for 100% cleaning/service.

if normal flush,etc etc.. won't help!.. can try..

if its still persist,service the whole radiator.

if still the same,change another radiator.. 2core

if still the same.. custom aluminium radiator

hehe..

i think if u let the car idle, the temp shld go down.

hm... my speculation, i mean for worse case, engine block crack? gasket kong?

probabilities are:

- gasket leakage
- head warped
- blocked warped
- radiator needs to be flushed
- radiator needs to be replaced or upgraded to aluminium type
- check yr crank fan clutch if it's screwed or yer electric fans are screwed

There's once my car did that, i let my car idle at a friend's place and keep on spraying water to the radiators, the bonets, underneath and all....... kekekke cools down real fast!

There's also once smoke came out of my bonet...... opened the bonet.... let the engine idle and pray...... kekekek

as far as your turbo goes, remember when your engine is running the turbo is cooled two ways, by the oil pumped through the bearing and (if fitted and additionally) a separate water line connected through the engines cooling system. BUT when you turn off the car, both these systems stop! Sure the fans may run, but this only cools the water in the radiator, not the engine and not the turbo! this is usually referred to as "heat soak". and with no oil flow or cooling the bearings in your turbo will eventually crack / wear out / warp / etc. so allowing it to cool after being under constant boost is a must.

ofcourse its cheaper and easier to replace a turbo than a whole engine (or the head to be more accurate)

1) True. Dont Stop Immediately. Coz wind can cool the engine and fuel acts as a cooling agent in the engine.
2) Stop whacking till red line immediately. Go back to the standard lower boost.
3) Cruise in 5th gear at 80 - 90 km/h.
4) Switch air-cond on if not switched on yet. Extra fan will help cooling.
5) Hope for the best and its not too late...

it should return to normal in 1-2 mins (if you have'nt gone over the engines limits that is)

Ingolstadt said:
There's once my car did that, i let my car idle at a friend's place and keep on spraying water to the radiators, the bonets, underneath and all....... kekekke cools down real fast!

wont the metals wrap up...
as we noe if keep on pouring cool water over
hot metal it'll warp or 'supercooled':embaressed_smile:
anyway, i think should jus cruise to let
the oncoming wind to lower its temperature

most problem with turbo cars is the gasket...it will leak oil and water will mix with oil...so there will disruption in the cooling system...

So by turning off the engine,thats the worst possible move to do on a overheating turbo car? (aside from continuing to redline it of course)

razr_sped said:
wont the metals wrap up...
as we noe if keep on pouring cool water over
hot metal it'll warp or 'supercooled':embaressed_smile:
anyway, i think should jus cruise to let
the oncoming wind to lower its temperature

Just imagine you're revving hard and suddenly rains. :) If our cars couldn't resists that, then its dead. :) and oh, it's "WARP" :)

HanJackaL said:
Imagine you are whacking the car to its limit for about 30 min..red lining every gear,then suddenly you notice smoke coming out of your engine and your engine temperature is at redline.

What do you do ? I am in a dilemma here because since the car is turbo,if you turn off the engine suddenly to let the car cool down,it might cause your turbo bearings to fail.However,if you dont turn off your engine and let it idle,i am wondering if the temperature eventually regulate or will the engine fail?

What to do in this situation to minimize the damage?

hello...

is it true that if ur engine overheating then u turn off the engine sudenly the turbine bearing will fail??? damn... i have been in this sitiation before... but but la redlining all gear but i am driving quite fast.... 140-160.... then sudenly heard alarm sound TEEETTTTTTTTT like that..... what i do is... i let go the throttle.... press clucth and let the car cruise ulti it wanna stop... (by this time i already put on hazard light)... i dun switch off the engine (lucky me if the turbo bearing failing is true).... and i let the car cruise to cool the engine....

after that wait about..mebbe 2 and half hrs (thats how long i wait that until can touch engine head...lucky the roadside is very windy) oh.. while waiting... pray to god that only minimum damage happen..lol...open radiator cap (careful..use towel or ur shirt if desprate)... wait again until suree engine cool... put spare water... i always spare water inside my boot trunk... by the way... GSR need around 3 bottle of water (4.5 liter) to fill up radiator and resevoir.. (correct me if i am wrong as it is from my experience).... then drive normally and fai fai to the nearest workshop/petrol station....

my cause this happen... rusty thermostat that didnt function anymore.... my damage... head gasket burnt... total RM spent to repair... RM500++ (damn i shud pay extra to get those metal head gasket... )

that my story hopes helps...

Well to those saying check your engine for problems... even almost stock engines without problems can overheat when pushed to the limits, neh? Happens all the time to tracksters. I think Ive seen those standard VTECs overheating as well on BMI.

I'd drive the car for sometime in a normal fashion for the incoming air to cool things down. Not that I have pushed my car to a limit as far as that anyway.

Write your reply...