Water Temp

Saabie

Need help in resolving overheating problem.Cruising without boosting ,water temp kept rising.When idling temp stay at 80 deg cel.Currently using front mount .Lastly whats should the normal water temp on a series 5 FC?

water pump not efficient or radiator dirty or leaking (loss of water pressure)

no leak .radiator flushed.water pump not yet change though.

must be the water pump....
check for lost of water... or maybe even u might consider burping the radiator.

not much lost of water .minimal.
ok think today i will try flushing the whole entire cooling system and put in new coolant to try .But what shld the normal operating temp for this car be?

cruising allows for lots of air to be pushed thru the radiator so by right it should not overheat.check you thermostat and water pump belt for slippage. have you done the champagne test?

normal working temperature is around 80 over to 90.. depending on the settings of the fan.

you might want to consider the water pump bearing is dead thus not spinning as efficiently.

Also check the clutch fan. Known to go bust on older cars.

Lennon.......The big fan in front of the radiator which runs of the pulley.

phat7 said:
cruising allows for lots of air to be pushed thru the radiator so by right it should not overheat.check you thermostat and water pump belt for slippage. have you done the champagne test?
Just did a pressure test on the cooling system and found that there is no leakage and pressure maintained stable.Thermostat has been recently replaced with ARC low temp thermo.belt no slippage.I am no more using the clutch fan but a big and high speed electric fan.

Alchemis said:
normal working temperature is around 80 over to 90.. depending on the settings of the fan.

you might want to consider the water pump bearing is dead thus not spinning as efficiently.
Wow 80 and 90 is very low.I am only getting that at idle.moving at a speed of 80km/h will see the temp go up to 110 AT NIGHT.jialat

120c is the max and its time to shutdown. let us hear the scenario again - idle what temp, crusing what temp?, boost what temp? do you have an aftermarket gauge?

Fit the clutch fan back. My RB25 was a bit high on the temps without a clutch fan and when I put the clutch fan back.....solved the problem.

phat7 said:
120c is the max and its time to shutdown. let us hear the scenario again - idle what temp, crusing what temp?, boost what temp? do you have an aftermarket gauge?
Idle-80,cruising at 80kmh in the afternoon with aircon-110 to 120,boost - 120.
yes i using an aftermarket gauge to measure all these.

theseira said:
Fit the clutch fan back. My RB25 was a bit high on the temps without a clutch fan and when I put the clutch fan back.....solved the problem.
prob is that if i were to fit back the fan,alot of alteration nit to be done ,as the fellow who did the IC pipings for me did a damn lousy job in designing it.

did u have the proper ducting ? i know FC has huge ductings...
let's start from begining... cooling system

1) thermostat - replaced... less likely the culprit
2) pipings - impossible this one
3) radiator - no leakage or such...
4) radiator cap - maybe u wanna change to 0.9 BAR
5) water pump - this one ahahahah, maybe the fan blades are worn out.
6) V belts - no slippage
7) fans - as long as there is fan turning no problem, but might want to think about the ductings.
8) clogs in the rotor housing... that one cost alot to check.

Alchemis said:
did u have the proper ducting ? i know FC has huge ductings...
let's start from begining... cooling system

1) thermostat - replaced... less likely the culprit
2) pipings - impossible this one
3) radiator - no leakage or such...
4) radiator cap - maybe u wanna change to 0.9 BAR
5) water pump - this one ahahahah, maybe the fan blades are worn out.
6) V belts - no slippage
7) fans - as long as there is fan turning no problem, but might want to think about the ductings.
8) clogs in the rotor housing... that one cost alot to check.
Radiator Cap is 0.9 liao.today checking the water pump.hopefully thats the cost

do you loose water in the overfow?
what have changed most recently?

yup i lost water in the overflow.but maybe just 150ml and less.radiator fan,thermostat, radiator cap.