can any SIFUs explain how it actually works??? does it mean somelike spraying water directly in to the explosion chamber since water is h2o...and some how provide greater explosion/burning?
it injects the water into the i/cooler piping that leads to intake manifold.the water is to cool down the temperature before the air is getting into intake manifold and into the engine.i think it's agood stuff,especially malaysia is humid.it's also helps a lot when u r running at high boost.i think it dont help directly in burning process in combustion chamber,the water is being use to cool down the hot intake air that coming from i/cooler.so no dramatic explosion/burning process.the stuff is like helping i/cooler to further cooling down the air temperature.
guys, one thing though. as pointed to me some while back by skagee, won't there be long term corrosive effects of squirting so much moisture into your engine/head? water injection is good, but it should also be managed carefully for instance to detect when the bottle has run out of water and reatrd ignition accordingly, else pingpingpingping kaboom.
the best water system i've seen is called 'Super Enema'. :D it really flows well, both in n out. wonderful stuff. :D
ehehe. jus kidding.
f8...i think thats y they say u should get a sensor to check the water level on the bottle. after a certain level, a buzzer/light will turn on, warning of low fluid level.
f8 is right also.
i use spearco system.but many ppl say aquamist is better..since it got it's own controller,the MF2 i think.
mine is controlled via Haltech EMS. i agree with f8 bcoz u can't simply install it and on.in my case,got to ask the tuner to retune the haltech whenever i want to activate it.and i dont use it most of the time.
the water injection tht u guys are talking about,is it those like on evo 8?i've seen in it on top gear la,where jeremy clarkson reviewed thtcar,showed the water injection onto the i/c,to cool the air intake.well,it looks cool man....
If I'm not wrong, the purpose of water injection is to cool the intake charge. Water will not break down due to heat, as far as I know, so the oxygen molecules won't affect the AF ratio. The oxygen can only be released thru electrolysis. The volume should also not be enough to raise the compression by any significant amount.
what mengxiu asked is not the intercooler water spray ... that spray the water on the surface of intercooler.this intercooler spray is fitted as oem on evo & impreza i think.
oh ok,so the water injection u guys are talking about has got nothing to do with the intercooler la?
then wat does it do then?injecting water into the combustion chamber?for wat purpose?
hmmmm.... is there a chance that there's some water injection method that inject water in gas form in to the engine(combustion chamber) to allow greater explosion ler??? maybe can try try DIY it! wat u guys think?
mengxiu: last time when i was driving my corolla... i have this extra wiper water container installed with the extra button there ...when engaged, the hose is actually attacted to a metal nozzle (taken from my sister's perfume mauhahahaha).. then it actually shoots out very fine water mist around the air filter and gets sucked in when u step on the gas pedal... i dunno whether got increase in hp or not..coz last time no $$ for dyno... but butt dyno tells me there's improvement... nevertheless, u gotta becareful when u secure the hose to the perfume nozzle... u gotta make sure it's securely fitted, else, the nozzle will fall off and it'll shoot water onto yer filter...!
Blackie's Corolla so high tech one... my car wiper spray only also sot sot liao. :o
I thought the water increases compression to get more power? Such a small amount can cool the engine enough to feel the difference meh? Or both? Not sure also if wrong dont tembak me kaw kaw... :)
last time waikit was asking me to try this stuff...dont dare la. :D
i think like this will make ur combustion chamber veeeeeli realli dirty wor.... coz the ''dirt'' in there will be veeeeeeli KAO KAO.... dont u guys think so?
no wonder ur sister couldn't spray her perfume..hehhehehe.. just kidding... aquamist is the method of spraying very high pressure water into the INTAKE MANIFOLD (not the intercooler) to "cool" down the intake temp thus reducing the formation of detonation and over heating in a turbo eng. this methods been use for quite some time in WRC... other than this, with the pressence of H and O2 in the water, it helps ionizing fuel mixture and increase O2 level in the piston chamber.. more fuel = more power , lower temp = stable eng and less detonation