wastepipe???

wreza

thinking of installing wastepipe for my gsr,where to do it and how much?is there will be any power increase?Pls advice

waste gate+down pipe?? wad i been told bigger down pipe can give u better feel (not sure, mayb power?) n the waste gate act as the actuator.. which controls boost level.. normally apply to high boost.. n the sound of waste gate is always nice! :D

ooopss.. tht's new term for me!
sifus here.. pls enlighten me too.. i wanna know wad's tht n how it functions..

i dunno much also,but i think it's not as effective as wategate but it's also produce the sound like wategate.i just want to know if it aslo will increase the performance or not?pls give advice

produce the sound of waste gate ar?? dunno y la.. ever since i changed the down pipe my car "sound" like got waste gate wor.. hahaha.. sound only..

wastepipe is the pipe that connect to your external wastegate from the exhaust manifold.
downpipe is the pipe from the turbine to the exhaust pipe

simply bantai only, correct me if im wrong

wastepipe is the pipe that connects to your INTERNAL wastegate, meaning the stock wastegate in your turbine. will give SIMILAR, not exactly the same sound as wastepipe. they just drill or burn a hole at your ori downpipe and cucuk one pipe out. :p

no increase in Hp, slight diffrence in response, slightly harder to regulate boost.

hmm, ok so just to be sure.

wastepipe - used with internal wastegate / actuator

downpipe - used with external wastegate

differ said:
hmm, ok so just to be sure.

wastepipe - used with internal wastegate / actuator

downpipe - used with external wastegate

i think downpipe can be use with internal also right? can do a better downpipe with the internal wastegate??

waste pipe can be done at price rm70...but forgot where d...my fren tol me n ask me to do...roughly say, better performance...more precise, i dunno...
hehehe

hi,
wastepipe=dumppipe=poorman's wastegate. can be used with the stock downpipe or with custom downpipe. gifts a little extra torq since when the internal wastegate door releases the gas, it doesn't rush into the exhaust pipe. when a slight increase in torq, a little xtra whp might be realised. also based from the sound, u will notice the attitude of how your actuator opens the wastegate door with different sets of adjustments & boost levels if you're using an electronic boost controller.
Downpipe is the one that connects the exhaust housing of the turbine to the exhaust pipe. change the stock ones to a bigger sized downpipe to get better response. the famous size is 2.5" downpipe for turbo cc 1.6 and above. some uses mild steel pipe bends & some uses stainless steel bends for the downpipe.
wastegate=external wastegates.

myself runs on a 2.5" mild steel downpipe with 1.5" stainless steel wastepipe. can feel the different compared to the stock downpipe.

Lan D

if ur GSR still running on TD04L.... don't bother... coz' the internal wastegate is not properly isolated from the exhaust outlet... So if u masuk, it'll sound like ur exhaust bocor, as in, you don't have to wait for full boost, the 'wastegate' sound can hear aledi!... =Þ If u've changed to a TD05... then by all means, go do it! hehehez...

effects? Already mentioned by MitonCT26, I re-quote "no increase in Hp, slight diffrence in response, slightly harder to regulate boost."

can use a steel plate to separate the rooms. weld it to your exhaust housing. proper welding should be the cast iron welding. a little more costly than the MIG kedai ekzos but stronger.

anyway, how much is the workshop gonna charge u to do the wastepipe?

last i asked was 300 bucks... but thats for a TD05 laa.... still think not much point doing a waste pipe for TD04... its not like the turbo response isn't good enuff... hahaha... =) but then again, heard its supposed to give u better top end.

Rm300? well the turbine needs to be taken out than can do proper job. that's why it's rm300 i guess. but rm300 should be together with bigger downpipe.

with stock downpipe, there's different but not much. best to do with bigger downpipe. then better response.
for topspeed? i think it's true too. but during drag also I feel the response.

Lan D