Wastegate sound effect

waikeatyeo

Hello guys, i was wondering how can i get the wastegate sound effect when i accel without having the wastegate installed? Does the downpipe create such sound? I know it does for my 180SX last time..Not too sure about the one for evo. Thanx! :regular_smile:

you can of course create the 'wastegate' effect sound via a dump pipe..as you did on your 180SX on a evo engine...

but take note that the wastegate sounds will be very much sharper and concentrated compared to a custom dump pipe. And more importantly, wastegates introduces the stability to the boost compared to a dump pipe. So if sound is what you are looking for, then go for dump pipe.

But if u're looking for something to boost higher and replace the stock actuator, then wastegates might be a better choice.

wat do i have to change if i want to install a wastegate to my evo? manifold perhaps? thanx

Yo bro,

Yep, u can either change de after mkt manifold which come with de wastegate joint or u can modd ur existing ori evo manifold to add a joint for de wastegate... Both ways can work well, depends on what u wanna n budget on hand too... :_:

thanx andy .. any suggestions where i could get it installed?.. wats the price range for wastegate on standard manifold? and which brand or model suits my turbo? thanx again..

waikeatyeo, depends on which version of evo..if it's 4-8, an aftermarket manifold would cost 1.5k above (customs or branded la).

As for wastegates, assuming you get a 1 bar wastegate should cost ard 900+ and above ..ie, Tial.

There isn't specific brands that suits your turbo (assuming it's an evo ori turbo). It's just the specs and as far as wastegates is concern, is usually the spring weight (ability to withstand the boost pressure, measured in bar). So usually they come in 0.5bar (or 0.8 ?), 1 bar and 1.5 bar wastegates for the more common brands.

speaking about wastegate,

in what rpm yurs wastegate open?

like mine 4500rpm boosting 0.9bar , is this rpm correct?
can the wastegate adjust the opening..

speaking about wastegate,

in what rpm yurs wastegate open?

like mine 4500rpm boosting 0.9bar , is this rpm correct?
can the wastegate adjust the opening..

with ori turbo,it should peak below 4krpm.so it was not normal for ur car.saw alot of wrong installation of wastegate on the twin scroll designed manifold that cause this lag.even some of the cheap manifold on the market design wrongly for the twin scroll turbo.

if you notice tdo5 twin scrolll turbo, have 2 inlet . my wastegate pipe tapped from both 2 inlet become one to wastegate.
i think that should not be a problem..rite

how about the top part of the wastegate?
is that nut to adjust the opening?

if you notice tdo5 twin scrolll turbo, have 2 inlet . my wastegate pipe tapped from both 2 inlet become one to wastegate.
i think that should not be a problem..rite

how about the top part of the wastegate?
is that nut to adjust the opening?

thats the problem:proud:

cylinder 1-4 to one of the turbo inlet
cylinder 2-3 to one of the turbo inlet

normally those exhaust shop guys very kind hearted,they will tap from both turbo inlet place.so the gas from cyliner 1234 also mix together.the twin scroll turbo need the exhaust gas pulse to work at the best.(this one im not too sure,i didn know much too technical but just telling wat i experienced).so when they tap that way,the car will run lag,the gas going in the turbo inlet will not balance,one side more than one side.

how i know?i dismantle the manifold and found out one side of the twin scroll turbo inlet darker then the other side of the inlet.before i use wastegate the car will peak boost below 4krpm,after fix the wastegate the car will peak after 4krpm.the power still there but it was lag.some owner with this wrong setup will tell u the car more powerful after switch to external wastegate from actuator.why?because maybe they boost higher than stock actuator.and some guys feel the car more pull,because it was higher rpm when it peak(or some said when turbo kick in)

if u using stock manifold,then u need to tap at the top(runner for cylinder 1-4) only.dun go and korek lubang at the runner for cylinder 2-3 and let the gas pass there.

i knew because i tested few stock manifold.or can can say spoil few manifold:banghead:

dunno which type of wastegate u using,so not sure the nut for adjust or wat
trust wastegate can adjust from the nut
tial wastegate cant

the nut for adjust the wasgate presure,not to adjust when the wastegate open.
some people may tell u it was to adjust when it will open,why?
because

lets say ur car running at 1.0 bar when 4500rpm

when u adjust the pressure till 1.0bar then the wastegate will open at 4500rpm,so when u adjust at 1.0bar.u feel the car lag and the wastegate only open at 4500rpm

when u adjust to 0.7bar,u will feel the wastegate open faster.below 4500rpm.but
power lesser because running lower boost.when 1.0bar at 4500rpm then means u will reach 0.7bar around 3800rpm to 4000rpm.so some people will think the nut was there to adjust when the wastegate open

for your info stock evo turbo from 4-8 sure will peak boost below 4000rpm
for me,i will never use a external wastegate on stock turbo

hopefully u will understand the crappy english i type.if u feel i only talk rubbish then telling the truth then just skip this post:burnout:

wastegate vent to atmosphere's screeming sound can be annoying. Used to love it, but now had enough of it. Driving much pleasure now since i vent it back into my downpipe. ;)

I still wish my evo can be more quite though! felt i'm too old already lah...

thats the problem:proud:

cylinder 1-4 to one of the turbo inlet
cylinder 2-3 to one of the turbo inlet

normally those exhaust shop guys very kind hearted,they will tap from both turbo inlet place.so the gas from cyliner 1234 also mix together.the twin scroll turbo need the exhaust gas pulse to work at the best.(this one im not too sure,i didn know much too technical but just telling wat i experienced).so when they tap that way,the car will run lag,the gas going in the turbo inlet will not balance,one side more than one side.

how i know?i dismantle the manifold and found out one side of the twin scroll turbo inlet darker then the other side of the inlet.before i use wastegate the car will peak boost below 4krpm,after fix the wastegate the car will peak after 4krpm.the power still there but it was lag.some owner with this wrong setup will tell u the car more powerful after switch to external wastegate from actuator.why?because maybe they boost higher than stock actuator.and some guys feel the car more pull,because it was higher rpm when it peak(or some said when turbo kick in)

if u using stock manifold,then u need to tap at the top(runner for cylinder 1-4) only.dun go and korek lubang at the runner for cylinder 2-3 and let the gas pass there.

i knew because i tested few stock manifold.or can can say spoil few manifold:banghead:

dunno which type of wastegate u using,so not sure the nut for adjust or wat
trust wastegate can adjust from the nut
tial wastegate cant

the nut for adjust the wasgate presure,not to adjust when the wastegate open.
some people may tell u it was to adjust when it will open,why?
because

lets say ur car running at 1.0 bar when 4500rpm

when u adjust the pressure till 1.0bar then the wastegate will open at 4500rpm,so when u adjust at 1.0bar.u feel the car lag and the wastegate only open at 4500rpm

when u adjust to 0.7bar,u will feel the wastegate open faster.below 4500rpm.but
power lesser because running lower boost.when 1.0bar at 4500rpm then means u will reach 0.7bar around 3800rpm to 4000rpm.so some people will think the nut was there to adjust when the wastegate open

for your info stock evo turbo from 4-8 sure will peak boost below 4000rpm
for me,i will never use a external wastegate on stock turbo

hopefully u will understand the crappy english i type.if u feel i only talk rubbish then telling the truth then just skip this post:burnout:

thank for you info bro,
never mind the crappy english coz i have 'rubb'lish ...hahahah:biggrin:

well, learn from mistakes

how about if i 'remod' the manifold and make a tap from cylinder 1-4 only...
will it reduce the lag and open below 4k rpm...

from yur experience, you tried several standard manifold...rite

not sure it will peak below 4000rpm,but sure reduce lag,if your turbo in healthy condition

i seen 1 guy having his tial almost STICKing into the tube for either 1 or 4 (btw....from which side do u start counting 1-4 ?)

I'm restarting this wastegate discussion.

1) So can I gather from reading the posts above that its a BAD idea to use external wastegate on a stock turbo setup?

2) Lets say I intend to hold the boost at 1.0 bar. they say u should get wastegate with lower spring rate, say, 0.7 or 0.8 bar. Why? Wouldnt this mean peak boost would be 0.8 bar?

3) Lets say wastegate open at 0.8 bar, that means the boost wont peak higher than that anymore?

Please help all sifus. I pening kepala already doing internet research hahhahahha