UK ap for student

fritz

May i know where can i get more info about bringing car back to malaysia from UK?
Im a student here anyway..I would like to know how much will got tax n above how many year's car is not allowed to bring in..n etc. Tq!!

tax n plus plus other expenses sure will be high.

i tink better confirm the latest procedures from m'sia ambrassor near ur place..

from what i know, 2 years from the first day of the car ownership for student. for those who working there is 5 years... but im sure this has been changed la...

wei fritz, your going to study there ar? PM me for details leh... :)

fritz,
Im going to study there. Don mind to PM about the life there. Thanks.

http://www.miti.gov.my/ekpweb/application?origin=publishedcontents.jsp&event=bea.portal.framework.internal.refresh&pageid=miti&subpageid=contentdetails&section=content&global=yes&_cat=D47p34Dq1Hd6620&0.81876931398234550.88675717105155170.09005346757117627&_cont=EPB0000270025&0.10097433551972346&_type=FULL&0.12806954988595398&0.09328191239709771

Can a Malaysian working or studying abroad bring back vehicle/car to Malaysia. What are the conditions?

Effective 18 September 2000, several criteria have to be met by any Malaysian studying or working abroad in applying for an import licence (AP) to bring back his vehicle. The criteria are:

• Applicant must be legally staying abroad for a minimum of one year.
  • The vehicle must be registered and insured under the applicant’s name for at least nine months.
  • Applicant has a valid driving licence (temporary/probationary licence not accepted).
  • Applicant returns to Malaysia permanently after completing his study or working stint overseas.
Individuals not conforming to the above criteria are advised not to bring back their vehicles. Otherwise, MITI will not be responsible to approve the import licence, even though the vehicle has arrived in Malaysia. Most probably, The Royal Customs and Excise Department of Malaysia will take legal action against the owner of the vehicle who imported it without AP.

This regulation applies to:

• Government officers who further their studies overseas.
  • Malaysian students overseas.
  • Malaysian citizens who work and stay overseas.
  • Husband, wife and children of staff serving the Malaysian Embassies/High Commissions and representatives.
The applicant has to apply by completing Form J.K. 69. This form can be purchased from Percetakan Nasional Malaysia Berhad, Kuala Lumpur or any of its branches. Completed applications, together with relevant supporting documents, must be submitted to the Ministry of International Trade and Industry, Kuala Lumpur.

if you are just going, I suggest you not to get a new car so soon.

a beater car will be enough in the outskirts, and public transport is enough in the cities. 8pound daily congestion charge...siao wan

which part will you be in?

m3 cost 30K but the insurance cost 5K and will cost more for your age

4agze said:
get a E36 M3 2nd hand only 8k pound
and in one year time, his maintainance+fuel+insurance will be as expensive as his car

yes.

Lets say if he lives in london.
fuel cost is slightly under a pound/liter. Usually, I need about 80L a week.
Congestion charge is 8pounds a day if he drives in the city between 7am - evening..cant remember correctly...still sober.

That's easily 120per week.480 a month. about 6000pounds a year.
Add his insurance, and maintance cost...you do the maths

im currently in sunderland..im here for around 2 months..studying auto. BENG here 2-3 years. So plan to get an OLD car..not BMW nor MERC..haha! Just wanna know if i bring back to malaysia is ok anot. If its ok, then the last year only get a better car n bring it back. I need a car just for travelling to other places like newcastle, york, london or manchester n not for daily usage. Daily i can travel to uni or shopping by train for 20pounds per year!

Petrol here is about 90penns/litre. My fren owned corolla fx and he pumped 15pounds/week. He drives everyday to uni. SO i think if i din use it daily, i can pump around 10pounds per week. I need to know is becoz i got a deal which is 800pounds for a toyota celica GT. SO impressive and the insurance is ok since im putting my gf's name. Female can pay alot lower for the insurance..haha!
So do anyone know about the % tax for bringing in different cc cars back to malaysia?

im planning next year to go there for study and work... will be in Brighton if everything goes well...

sure... why not! :)

i was in uk for visiting last month, spend 10 days in london and already sucked up half of my expenses in UK... damn!

haha..the next trip u come here..let me know..ok? just PM me..any part of uk i also will go n find u..hehe..

hey, the next trip will be studying and working in Brighton... planning before mid of 2006... :D