tyre with nitrogen

when i service my car in 1 utama(eneos car centre) they pump my tires with nitrogen gas, hardly noticeble.

tyre with nitrogen gas is kind of new technology,the gas is lazy n stable,its will be less changing compare to normal gas if u tyre is getting hot(when go in high speed),then ur tyre will be more long lasting n stable,this theory u have to refer some mechanical book which explain tyre,wat different n the shape between slow n fast period

guys guys,

got something to say here.

I see some forumers benefit from it and some don't. I think those who hardly notice the difference after nitrogen pumped, it their car suspension are good like those in Altis la, Accord la, Camry la....and of course those continental.

If i pump into my stupid rock n roll wira, sure got difference one !!!!

I'll pump and post the result, okay ??

Cheers !!

voon said:
guys guys,

got something to say here.

I see some forumers benefit from it and some don't. I think those who hardly notice the difference after nitrogen pumped, it their car suspension are good like those in Altis la, Accord la, Camry la....and of course those continental.

I'll pump and post the result, okay ??

Cheers !!
ok
hope to hear your results
:)

voon said:
guys guys,

Cheers !!

Damn... this is the best sentence I've read from this forum for quite a while... kah kah kah...
make my daylah voon.. beginning to imaging your wira bounce like those hip hop caddilacs...

:D

hey...

what is the use of our forum ....

1) ask Q
2) share info, view, experience
3) learn
4) of course.......have fun and laugh at people jokes !!

Man I lOVE THIS PLACE !!

ka! Ka! ka!

for me it wastin` y`all money..to me whether u charging with normal air or nitrogen it give u same result bro..RM15 for 4 tyre is too expensive..why not u just topup it with normal air..since it free..i don see any advantages using this kind of gas,unless ur car can fly like aeroplane!!!heheheheh..it has their own reason why aircarft manufacture design such thing..i think more to safety laa..not to improve ur speed..or tyre lightness..bumpy or whateva..bla..bla..but it more to preventative during tyre burst of fire since it not support the combustion..and one more thing..to prevent corrosion.no matter la ur wheel is aloi or besi tuang ka..corrossion still take place slowly..u just thinking laa..let say ur car speed can reach 200 km/h laa..ur think how much heat produce ar..very little compare to aircraft during landing roll or take off can go up 400 km/h ma..so...very lot heat generate..that`s why they use nitrogen to inflated they tire..so i don see any relevant to use nitrogen on our car..if FOC i also want laa..hehehehe...it`s up to u` all bro..kalau korner tajam slalu mmg la cepat botak..try as ur car manufacture what is the best gas to inflate ur tire..ABSOLUTELY NORMAL AIR MAAAA...byee...

everyone can inflate nitrogen...

the air that we breath contain 70% nitro...there is no difference except to waste your money.. just stick to the free air from the petrol stations..these people are looking to supplement their income due to the bad economy by conning people!!!do we look stupid???

Well I think its all depend on the vehicle setting, usage and driver's attitude :) As I know most KL's Lim Tayar and Siang Hin Tayar is offering this service, does Pg have Lim Tayar too?

headshot said:
Well I think its all depend on the vehicle setting, usage and driver's attitude :) As I know most KL's Lim Tayar and Siang Hin Tayar is offering this service, does Pg have Lim Tayar too?

the main reason nitrogen is offered is because it doesn't contain moisture, which in turn leads to stable tyre pressures , especially when the tyres and the gas inside them have heated up. Somebody mentioned this earlier in the thread.

Another popular myth many people will want you to believe is that F1 cars use nitrogen in their tyres. That is totally untrue. All the F1 teams go thru hundreds of tyres over the race weekend, and to have thousands of nitrogen bottles around to fill up those tyres would not be practical.(They probably use less tyres today due to the new rules :) )

To get around that problem, F1 tyre engineers use a special machine that dries the air completely, before it's pumped into the tyres.

So they basically use normal regular air, thats been dried out.

to me i always purchase Nitrogen from MOX in Cylinder form... i am not sure how does the machine in the tyre shop produce nitrogen.. anyway... my regular tyre shop guy charge me once only for life time nitrogen air usage in his place...

my personal opinion... i cant really FEEL all the claim goodness stated by the tyre shop but there is one thing that i am happy about it is... there is once i left my car at home for 4 months and guess wht? the tyre pressure still remain the same...

quite a lot of tyre shop in Penang does offer this Nitrogen Air Services...

nitrogen does help extend the life of the tyres... also dont have to top up the air soo often.

i kinda against the idea of pumping nitrogen gas to ur tire.
people claims lighter, save fuel etc etc.. but one thing i agree
is that its less expanding property and inert property.
even it is not expanding that much at high speed, one cannot
abandon the facts of force. at high speed, whatever air, with
mass, will be pushed outwards (centrifugal)... so it will still
exert some if not more force to your tires. regarding the claim
that tires with nitrogen no need to repump for 5 month is kinda
crap.. coz when u drive or do whatever to ur car, the gas also
consists of tiny molecules which can easily escape through tiny
gaps between rim and tire or even through the tire rubber lattice
itself. the best method to maintain tire is to pump to its required
pressure every weekend.

HERE IS SOME FACTS ABOUT THE AIR WE BREATHE:

Air Composition
The percentage of gases found in sea-level air, or another way of putting it - What makes up the air we breathe?

Element or Gas Chemical ~ Symbol ~ Percentage of Air
Nitrogen N2 78.084 %
Oxygen O2 20.9476 %
Argon Ar 0.934 %
Carbon Dioxide CO2 0.0314 %
Neon Ne 0.001818 %
Helium He 0.000524 %
Methane CH4 0.0002 %
Krypton Kr 0.000114 %
Hydrogen H2 0.00005 %
Xenon Xe 0.0000087 %

What is major gas? Isnt it Nitrogen? Why pay RM5 when u can get
it for free?

donCityZ,
Yes you got your point. Indeed our atmosphere consist of about 78% of nitrogen.
Nitrogen got relatively larger molecules compare with CO2, O2 and others. Therefore is relatively harder/ slower to escape thru the gap between rubber and rim. This is one of the reason they say no need to fill up air at a longer period( i dun agree with 5 months thingy too, its just selling gimmick)

Secondly, nitrogen also a "lazy" gas molecule compare with other kind of gases, more energy needed to change it. Ie: less expanding property like what you said. This is also another reason of less pressure lost to the tyre. As we know higher tyre pressure, more gases easier to escape.

Why we need to pay to get nitrogen? Well, actually we pay to get a higher percentage(%) of nitrogen. Depend on the nitrogen generator that used by tyre shop, some can chunck out about 90-95% of nitrogen and pump in ur tyre.

Some use pure nitrogen gas from MOX cylinder will got almost 100% nitrogen.

And actually, the nitrogen generator will filter out dirts, and another major tyre enemy====moist
The moist penetrate into the tyre, rust will happen on those steel belt/cord. When rust happen, tyre belt leaving the tyre casing, and other tyre damage will happen.

Thats what i know, and hope solve the doubts here

Another thing about pumping it into the tyre.. if u notice, when installing tyre, before pump in any gas, your tire already oocupy air in it after ur tire already fit into the rim. what air is in there? also normal air. so when u add any more gas (nitrogen or not), u WONT GET 100% occupation. unless, u are pumping it in vacuum space la..

I and a lot of people have been using tires with normal air for how long? no problem of steel belt broken due to rust or other thing.. i can so far use my tire for up to 2 years.. u think using nitrogen gonna get me 3 years? i doubt it. u are welcome to try though. but are u willing to spend RM5x4 for every 2-3 months.. thats rm80 per year extra just for the nitrogen?

But, ur money mah.. if u feel improve anything, pls do so... hehehe.

as for me, keep it simple, maintain tire pressure every weekend (since my daily driving always pass by a good air pump), rotate tire when needed and drive moderately according to your tire type.

true, thats why if the tyre shop only inflate ur tyre with nitrogen then it wont be 100%. Should doing purging, fill in and release, and refill it again. Try to minimise the other gases.

Well, about the rusted of steel belt case and bengkak most of the time it happen on those commecial vehicle, which the amount of air, pressure are much higher.

Ofcoz, i will say nowadays if the air compressor installed with drier( most compressor nowadays got it with filter too) and service well, the moist in the air are very minumum.

By using the nitrogen it just further minimize the possibility.

I do understand that the cost of refilling nitrogen is relatively high. And it may not that significant in the pay back. I would say, nitrogen is better option than normal air inflation, however when $$$$ issue comes in, its different story.

Lastly, i do see that nowadays quite alot tyre shop offer free refill if u purchase tyre from them.

Actually doncityZ, what you doing is really good enough in tyre maintainance.
Keep it up dude!

hehehe... its just that i feel most people are trapped in some kind of
loop when they hear "Fuel saving".. and i just wanna help.

cheers bro evan.

lol .. i also dont believe in this nitrogen gas thingy ..
We have free air at almost every petrol station, why pay more for air in ur tyres ??

Now Eneous is offering their so-called "Service Package" that comes with free nitrogen for your tyres .. So i was thinking.. IF i were to service there, once i pump, i'll surely need to keep using Nitrogen from then on... So kinda smart ya Eneous, at first offer free... later u have to keep going back la lolzz..

by the way donCityZ .. actually how often we have to Rotate the tyres? (rotation is bring the front to the back and vice versa right?) .. I think mine is performance tyre, so it will kinda wear very fast .. Any advise?

tnx..

i've got one question.. how do u bargers here that believe in this nitrogen shit knows that what the tire guys fills in u're tires is really nitrogen? i can always just get a nitrogen bottle and fill it up with compress air and charge u guys 15 bucks a tire n u'll believe its nitrogen.. nitrogen is odourless, tasteless and colourless just like normal air.. dont be like the emperor with his new cloths..
also air planes uses nitrogen because at high altitude normal compress air will contract therefore looses pressure.. u dont wanna be in a plane when it lands with no air in its tires.. nitrogen is an inert gas therefore it is not greatly affected by temp, hense retaining its pressure in the tire.. discovery channel have shown this before..
Apperently if F1 is still using nitrogen, its because of the same reason airplanes use them.. u want a consistant presure in u're tires while racing.. dont want the pressure to increase after a couple of laps coz that'll alter the handling of the car..
dont worry about road cars coz no way its got enough of speed on the street to heat up those tires..
dont fall for those skim cepat kaya..