problem with new tyre

engineer1

Hi, first of all, selamat hari raya, happy deepavali and happy holiday

I owned a 97 mazda lantis hatchback, 1.6 auto and stock standard.
During my balik raya trip to johor, somewhere on the highway, my left front tyre got burst. I was about 140km/h but manage to pull safely to emergency lane and get the tyre change. Thanks to PLUS for the help.

Thinking of the kids and further trip I had to go, I change all 4 tyre to a brand new good year GT3, 145/65/14, together with balancing, camber adjust and alignment. The old tyre is quite good, but just for safety reason.

On the way back to kl, I noticed that at certain speed, the steering got vibrate. For me, I was thinking that the balancing was not done properly. Correct me if I m wrong. So, I did a balancing again, but only the 2 front tyre.

Again, another trip to my wife hometown, somewhere in pahang. Just entering the karak highway, at 110 to m120, the steering and even the whole car start to vibrate again. It even worse then before. Getting sucks, I maintain at 100.
At the straight stretch, I try 140, its back to normal. No vibrating at all. Push to 150 to 160, damn hell. Up to 170km/h, back to normal.

Back to kl, my last option for the tyre, I try to find a shop which have a mesin kuda a.k.a on wheel balancing. Manage to find one at sri gombak area. Cost me 12 bucks per tyre, I did the 2 front tyre coz the tauke said in my case, two front tyre will solve the problem. Is he right?

After all, at 110 to 120, I can still feel a bit of vibrating on the steering, but it is normal at other speed. What do cause this? Is it a tyre defect? Do I need to rotate the front and rear tyre to see the different? The rim also no bengkok. Anything to do with steering? BTW, nothing wrong with this all before I get the tyre change. Additional info, a week before raya, I change the bush for the front anti roll bar. Its a bar that link together with left and right tyre. Or is it call the lower arm bar? Which one, pls tell me. And also, I just want to make sure, stock knuckles pcd 100 or 114? Just in case there is an option for a 17 inches

To all the sifu out there, plese help me on this. Do really appreciate if you all could share something.

Thanx. Cheers. :)

check all ur bushes under carriages.. it may worn out liao.. or during ur changes of ur antirollbar bush..someof the bushes not properly tighten.

Originally posted by laserman@Nov 20 2004, 20:08
check all ur bushes under carriages.. it may worn out liao.. or during ur changes of ur antirollbar bush..someof the bushes not properly tighten.
already check, all is ok. any other cause?

Bengkok drive sap may be ????? :blink:

Its happned to my Famillia Neo. :)

Ask the tyre shop tauke to jack up the car and spin the tyre, check the drive sap.
hope this will help :lol: :D

yah drive shaft.. check any bengkok..other possibility is your tyres are not in round ..

usually vibrate after certain speed especially 90kmh is due to drive shaft failure. maybe can check it out.

btw how many psi u pump into your tire? R14 just fill up with 30psi will do.