Tyre Question

evolancer

hello guys:
i had changed my engine to 1.8gsr,so planning to change rims size to 17....
need advice from sifus regarding the tyre width and thickness....as for the
thickness,choose 40 or 45??any difference??how about the width??205?
215??need your feedback guys.......thanks

the wider the tires are, the better, of coz the rims must support also

the thicker the tires are, the more comfortable you will feel

zero4 said:

the thicker the tires are, the more comfortable you will feel

correct me if im wrong,the thicker the tires,the fuell consumption also higher??

evolancer said:
correct me if im wrong,the thicker the tires,the fuell consumption also higher??

If you want stability you should go for 215/45 17". If you do want stability you will have to sacrifice comfort.

Slipknot Fanatic said:
If you want stability you should go for 215/45 17". If you do want stability you will have to sacrifice comfort.

not comfort that mean bumpy??

not comfort doesn mean bumpy, if bumpy also have to check your suspension. If u go for 40series tyre your car looks cool enough, but when u hit the hole, your rims easy to dent. Be careful. Enjoy your setup...

17's looks nice and all, but... their heavy (performance and fuel consumption suffer), expensive, prone to damage (tyre and rim), uncomfortable and just not practical on Malaysian roads... 15's is the way... :biggrin: just my 2 cents...:biggrin:

No one can change yr mind if u have yr sights on fitting 17s.. they look damn cool but xtra effort required.. 16" should be good enough for KL roads when put together with a good set of shockers..

its very subjective either u want go for 15", 16" or 17".
but 1 thing for sure is 17" is heavy n FC up...

gunter said:
No one can change yr mind if u have yr sights on fitting 17s.. they look damn cool but xtra effort required.. 16" should be good enough for KL roads when put together with a good set of shockers..

hehe me from ipoh..the road condition down there still....ok la

ya 17'' FC high....my gsr now like feed with water also not enough haiz..blame my heavy right foot

evolancer said:
hehe me from ipoh..the road condition down there still....ok la

ya 17'' FC high....my gsr now like feed with water also not enough haiz..blame my heavy right foot

feeed water cannot lah, must feeed petrol mah

zero4 said:

how is it better? the wider it gets, the more prone to aquaplaning it is.

Evolancer finally know someone from IPOH! :smile: Where u get rim from IPOH? Falken in jln KK? I also wanna change my 15 rim to 16 ler since my 4G63 spin a lot. :biggrin:

Ohh....Ipoh guys out there. I heard tyre at ipoh quiet cheap if compare with KL wor...is that true?

17inch can put la.....use lightweighted rims lo..but oledi cost u a bomb la if u go for original volk racing te37....etc

mostly i see on the kl road...15inch or 16inch la for wira.....205/55/r15 i think....i think la...coz it is on ori evo3 rims..hehe

my 2 cent

i use 195/60/r15 for my ride, last time 195/50/r15.
but meter reading of coz lari laa..
damn comfy la, after using damn keras hwl adjustables.

Pot78 said:
Evolancer finally know someone from IPOH! :smile: Where u get rim from IPOH? Falken in jln KK? I also wanna change my 15 rim to 16 ler since my 4G63 spin a lot. :biggrin:

pot78:
u also from ipoh??ya mine spin alot too if tekan kuat,so planning to change to 17'' or 16'' due to heavy FC and $$
me using 15'' 5zigen now...bought from falken at jln KK...
last month went there again to check out the rims....MA CHAU HEI!! one of the staff(i think senior one) LCLY!!!!! i just walked out!!!

The GSR 1.8 turbo, what is the engine model ar? Just 4G63 only? Or 4G63T or what? Not familiar with those stuff.
And I also heard that 1.8 GSR turbo is plug and play for satria, no need to modify the mounting. True ar?

evolancer,
I would personally advice you to stay away from BirdgeStone Potenza GIII. Crap tyres. Dry road grip ok but on straight road (hot and dry weather) and you press your brakes harder a bit harder on a speed of about 70kmh, the tyres will start to skid. Never tried the grip on dry road just yet. Perhaps it's the way I drive that makes the tyres seems crap. hahahaha