Tyre comparisons

praetorian

To all ZtH,
Anyboby wanna post their comments on tyres? interested in comparisons between
FAlken St115, Potenza G3, Toyo Proxes t1, kumho ecsta(dunno which1) etc.
gonna change tyres soon but dunno which to go for.
looking for good grip in wet and dry, relatively quite, should last for 70,000km
Thanks to all

normally performance tires sure wil be noiser....wont be silent one

Falken st115 is silent n good in performance wet n dry..but last quite fast......

try Hankook....not bad....the higher grade tyre la if u wan good result.....Hankook Rs II if not mistaken...

If you're looking for good grip, try Yokohama ES100. But the tyre noise can get on your nerves. Its darn noisy. Back when i was looking for new tyres to fit into my wheels, grip in dry and wet was my number 1 choice. After using the ES100 for about a year, i think my next tyre will be something quiet. Maybe Michelin or Continental. But then again, i have no qualms about the grip of the ES100. Superb!

I got a friend using ES100, no doubt the grip is there but its pretty noisy. Got another friend using GIII. Just change it before Raya. Won't b asking him now because tyre still new maaa... sure everything good. I'll ask him in 6mths time.
If u want low noise and good grip in the wet and comfort, try Michellin Preceda. It's a bit pricy but u won't regret it. Btw, it will wear out pretty fast. Or mayb Goodyear F1. Wet grip is very very good.

Just

I got a friend using ES100, no doubt the grip is there but its pretty noisy. Got another friend using GIII. Just change it before Raya. Won't b asking him now because tyre still new maaa... sure everything good. I'll ask him in 6mths time.
If u want low noise and good grip in the wet and comfort, try Michellin Preceda. It's a bit pricy but u won't regret it. Btw, it will wear out pretty fast. Or mayb Goodyear F1. Wet grip is very very good.

Bottom line is, if got the chance, try to take a ride on wheels with tyres u've shortlisted.

cheers....

FALKEN Ziex 512

Here's my experience on this tyre. Would i get it again? Well no coz it wears out to freakinly fast and it'll be very noisy and the ride is harsh at the end of the thread life.

Date of purchase : Sat Mar 13, 2004 (Condition : 100%)

Date of tyre gone bald : Sat Oct 01 2005 (Condition : 1%)

Location of manufacture : Japan

Tyre pressure : 29 - 31

Percentage on normal tar road : 99.5%

Percentage on track : 0.5%

Driving condition :
- Urban road : 60%
- Highway : 10%
- Hills : 30%

Driving behavior :
- Normal : 90%
- Aggresive : 10%

Total rotation : 2 times

Total time tyre hit nail : Twice, different tyre.

Tyre load :
- 1 person : 70%
- 2 person : 20%
- 3 person : 5%
- 4 person : 5%

Initial timeline impression : Very grippy, silent, superb anti-aquaplanning.

Middle timeline impression : Grip not as good as initially, feel the car slightly bumpier, uneven wear on the sidewalls eventhough it's rotated, balanced.

End of timeline impression : Noisy when it's 1-2mm thread left, grip is still there, but wet road, aquaplanning like mad. 1-2mm to completely bald in 1 month time, summore single driver. Very bumpy ride.

currently using : bridgestone potenza, slightly silent than ziex and wet performance good nuff.

DimDimer said:
Here's my experience on this tyre. Would i get it again? Well no coz it wears out to freakinly fast and it'll be very noisy and the ride is harsh at the end of the thread life.

Date of purchase : Sat Mar 13, 2004 (Condition : 100%)

Date of tyre gone bald : Sat Oct 01 2005 (Condition : 1%)

What tyre you're refering to regarding this review of yours ?
ES100 or GIII ?
Sorry if I can't catch it the first time.

Good discussion you have over there, this is what car forums should be all about.

Though i'm not sure which tyre you're talking about, i'm assuming its the ES100. If so, yes i very much agree that this tyre had low noise when i just fitted it in. Almost as quiet as my original Michelin Certis. But so far after 20,000KM on the ES100, the noise is starting to be quite unbearable and i find that i have to tune up my stereo just to kill of the road noise. Worst still when i'm carrying 2 person inside the car.

However, one thing about tyre wear though, as i said i've used for about 20K KM and to be very honest, my tyre wear is still very minimal. I think still about 80% thread still available. I've heard of people saying their ES100 is gone after 40K KM while admitting their quite aggresive with it. As for me, i think i'm quite a careful driver so i'm quite surprised the thread is still good on the tyres.

One more thing about uneven wear, if you find that your tyre is wearing off one side, its not so much of whether you rotate and balance your tyre, your camber settings might be abit out so no matter how many times you rotate and balance your tyres, it will still prematurely wear out one side.

whops sorry guys for the confusion, i forgot to type in the name of the tyre.

it's falken ziex 512.

i heard GIII got thai version n japan product , i was using the thai one, not so bad lerr

hahaa...yea...even last time the re711 also got japan n thai 1...thai 1 cheaper but not as good as the japs 1...
i tot last time u say g3 not so good for its price? :P

if i buy new one for 4XX then not worthit better buy advan neova
i bought thru lobang 215 a piece so dont feel like wasted hehehehhe
now got another lobang bt 280 for 17"

wei wei...u damn many lobang hor...got lobang for 195-50-15 or not?
or if got 205-50-15 even better

praetorian said:
To all ZtH,
Anyboby wanna post their comments on tyres? interested in comparisons between
FAlken St115, Potenza G3, Toyo Proxes t1, kumho ecsta(dunno which1) etc.
gonna change tyres soon but dunno which to go for.
looking for good grip in wet and dry, relatively quite, should last for 70,000km
Thanks to all
You can try Goodyear Eagle F1 (GSD3). Very good performance in both wet & dry roads. Grip & cornering also good. Noise level i can say it's consider 1 of the most silent among high performance tyres. I'm currently using it on 205/45/ZR16 & so far very satisfy. :)

You can check this website for more info:

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/surveyresults/surveydisplay.jsp?type=MP

Happy searching..~!

Tyre size 225/45/17 - usually driving alone or with 1 passenger only. My review of 2 tyres:

Falken ST115
Made in Japan. Bought brand new in March 2004, changed in June 2005 after about 20k kms, with about 50% left.

Noise - very quiet, probably the best I've tried.

Dry grip - not bad when new. Breaks away progressively, no surprises. Sidewalls not very stiff, so best with higher than normal air pressure. But grip was becoming lousier by the month, and by the time I changed the tyre, the tyres were starting to break away very easily at corners.

Wet grip - not bad when new. Felt quite confident in the rain, no aquaplaning. But at 50% remaining, the tyres were becoming unpredictable, and therefore no longer inspired same level of confidence.

Would I buy again? Only if I could afford to change often.

Goodyear F1-GSD3
Made in Germany. Bought brand new in June 2005. So far done about 8k kms, more than 80% left. Was advised not to get the Thai version, as the sidewalls are softer.

Noise - very good, but ST115 better.

Dry grip - not bad, but ST115 is slightly better in terms of 'sharpness' in tight corners. In fast corners the roadholding is as good, if not slightly better, than the ST115, and allows quite high cornering speeds.

Wet grip - the best so far. I feel just as confident in the rain as when its bone dry!

I suppose I have to wait until I do about 20k kms in these tyres before I can really compare with the ST115, but for now, I would recommend the F1 over the ST115. Also, I understand that the prices for the German F1s are about the same as the ST115, so that is a plus.

previous tyres - ST115... lovely wall design. Good grip in dry and wet. Had opportunity to try them out on the track. Fair only. Performance faded after 3 laps of hard pushing. Not a good tyre for track. Superb for road though....

current tyres - Neova AD07... wall looks "ganas". love em. Huge, huge grip in dry. Wet grip is good, but a little prone to aqua planning. ST115 was better in this devision. Performance on track was great. Still faded after a while (still road radials maaa) but after longer hard pushing. Grip, response and sharpness is better than the 115's.. recommended for those who want a good road tyre but once a while want to take it to the track, and don't have money to buy a second set of semi-slicks like me... :biggrin:

ST115 is Falken Azenis right ?

Anyway,I'm using Potenza GIII on a 14", there's nothing much to review, wet grip is good, dry grip is good only on the 90% thread level, after that it sux big time. Not worth the money spent IMHO.

I have in my house another set of Advan Neova....
Will try it out and post later.

used ES100 (15') for 2 years. Did not rotate before as the offset of the rim prevent me from doing so.

front tyre gone completely in 2 years time but the back still have.. at least 50% - 65% of thread left.
normal driving on road.

and it does get very bumpy when the front is going towards the end of the life span.

dry grip was perfect. aquaplanning, normal

yeah... i've heard that the GIII's are over rated...
a friends of mine simply say they suck and regretted big time buying them (all 4 new, and now no money to change.. heheheh). i've also been hearing from others that they don't meet the expectation as a 'replacement' for the excellent RE711's....

TiBuN said:
ST115 is Falken Azenis right ?

Anyway,I'm using Potenza GIII on a 14", there's nothing much to review, wet grip is good, dry grip is good only on the 90% thread level, after that it sux big time. Not worth the money spent IMHO.

I have in my house another set of Advan Neova....
Will try it out and post later.

I asked a few shops about 14" Potenza GIII but they said BS never produce or bring in these sizes. Similarly, the Advan Neovas which apparently doesn't come out with 14" size. Can you please lead me to the tyre shop. I'm interested in trading in my ES100 for a quieter tyre but still with reasonable amount of grip.