turboe'd 4G15

yeah, i've used the mosselman kit on my 1.6 before and i think if u are really serious about power its better to get a turbo engine. As a comparison the a.6 can actually beat the stock 1.8 engine and the lower and mid range while the top end is about the same. if u wans to boost higher than that than u have to change a lotta of things. Now I'm using a transplanted engine ... no worries much more durable and can withstand higher boost... The only down side in terms of performance i would say is the engine is much more heavier causing a lot of understeer during hard cornering...

hi...thanks for all your replies...
actually i'm collecting data (just for the heck of it) for this engine...like i said, its light...so i don't have to worry so much about understeer probs like gsrturbo mentioned....
anyway...thanks again to all... ^_^

Originally posted by vestax@Aug 18 2004, 09:14 AM
joeker which has experience in the turbo kit era rather listening to those who say turbo kit is a waste of time
Turboshit = Wat a JOKE!!

Joeker's car is a BIG JOKE.

might b a lil off topic here, but after some serious research on via the net n books, turbocharging a normaly aspirated car, just doesn't seem worth it ler.

For the amount of money spent, better off just getting a conversion with an OEM turbo engine. Its less headache cos reliability is not so much of an issue. I dunno bout u guys ler, but it pisses me off when my car spends more time in the workshop than it does with me.

many factors could contribute to this, ie tuning, quality of parts used. but lets face it ler, OEM is the best.

btw i know of 1 fella who turbocharged his 1.5 wira.

after like 3 months(not incuding the countless other visits to the workshop), n enuff money 2 buy a halfcut, he dynoed n got .....

*drumroll*........119atw

wastin time.

but joeker's 1.6 turbo kit can tiong gsr woh.... true or not joeker?

Originally posted by Jun9970@Aug 18 2004, 10:17 PM
after like 3 months(not incuding the countless other visits to the workshop), n enuff money 2 buy a halfcut, he dynoed n got .....

*drumroll*........119atw

wastin time.
lol.... the drumroll makes me excited for awhile! lolololol :P

Originally posted by Danny@Aug 18 2004, 11:14 PM
1.6 turbo kit can tiong gsr woh.... true or not joeker?
Turbokit tiong GSR? must be a joke because Turbokit car is a BIG JOKE, especially Joeker's poor excuse for a car.

Originally posted by philipplim@Aug 18 2004, 12:27 PM
Hi there,

I own a proton 1.6 sohc converted to mitsu 1.8 sohc (from lancer mx)...
comes with 86kw ( 120hp)
do you guys think it is better for me to bolt on a turbo kit for extra horsies or do the normal mod for NA..

there is two choices..

1st choice
Bolt on a turbo kit..boost at low bout 0.4 -0.5
horse power increase in 20 to 40 % ( tell me i dunno...guessing)
cost bout 2k...to boost higher need to change internal parts (pistons, conrods ..etc..
wat else i need ( besides fuel regulator and higher cc fuel injectors..upgrade piggy back???

2nd choice
To remain NA, do a PNP..change cam shafts to stage 2.( degree higher than standard ( 272 and above), tuned length extractor. change adjustable cams.
upgrade ecu (piggyback)

which of the choice is the best..and which one will increase my horsies more..and by the way, which one cost more..(my opinion is 2nd choice..not cheap to get these stuff from matspeed or powerzone..power wise..i let u all decide..

thanks for feedback sifus and experts out there.
phil
If u ever find a turbo kit i am interested, but AFAIK, Turbo kits can be from 3.5K - 10K. from simple bolt on capalang, to branded stuff with pistons, gaskets, manifold to ECU managements kits.

The serious turbo kits should have all those stuff, but it will be almost the same price as gettin a half cut and puttin it into your car.

Of course, the real benefit of turbo kit is to able to put it on, play awhile, then take it off, and sell off your current car, upgrade to a better car and use the turbo kit on that new car too.

sum minor parts need to be changed but this should be possible.

I seen the kleeman compressor kits for mercs. They r exactly like turbo kits, even bolts on and off easily. How shiok huh ? Hehehehee. But cost a bomb tho.

there are some question that i wanna ask

1)to turbocharge a car ... how much its estimated ?? and wat r the things that needed to change ?? eg.ecu ...or maybe a piggyback thingy(safc ?) piston ?anything ?

2) wat setup that needed to prepare ? intercooler ?? turbine ?? anything ??

3)(sry if i ask this stupid question) bolt on turbo can be take of easily or wat ? or need to put the car on workshop for few month ??

cheers .
(thnx for ya help) :lol:

Originally posted by ky_fei@Aug 19 2004, 01:09 AM

1)to turbocharge a car ... how much its estimated ?? and wat r the things that needed to change ?? eg.ecu ...or maybe a piggyback thingy(safc ?) piston ?anything ?

3)(sry if i ask this stupid question) bolt on turbo can be take of easily or wat ? or need to put the car on workshop for few month ??

cheers .
(thnx for ya help) :lol:
1) Price from RM 3.5K to 10K. Change ? Simple mods which only need intercooler, turbo, manifold. To complex ones, low compression, better lasting pistons, programmable ECU, AKA Haltech, Or piggy back, SAFC, Turbo timers, Boost meters, exhaust system, metal gasket, better brakes, bigger injectors the list goes on.

2) Major item, Intercooler, Turbine, Manifold. An ecu to tune 4 to suite the turbine.
U can skip a few stuff, even run on low boost, 0.2 ? 0.4 ? But u might not even feel the difference beside the loosely screwed BOV which gives out a very light pssst, much like kancils, even lighter.

3) Bolt on turbos r suppost to just bolt on, and can be taken off easily. Problem will be, r u goin to be the one puttin it on and off ? Or sum one else ? And if u r willin to pay for it. If u rework your pistons and engine internals for lower compression then it's not really a bolt on kit. It's more like a monster inside.

Usually 0.2 - 0.4 is quite low, hence engine internals not really needed to touch. But when u boost 0.6-1.0 lots of stuff much touch and changed. IF u r plannin to run on proton engine, i seriously suggest u think it over. Mitsubishi engines might stand higher pressure, better yet, get turbo based engine kosong to plonk in to your car.

By the time u do that, might as well u go for turbo engine conversions. The term bolt on turbo is really to have the fun of havin turbos, minus the trouble of havin to do a major transplant.

Solty8 Posted on Aug 19 2004, 11:39 PM
QUOTE (ky_fei @ Aug 19 2004, 01:09 AM)

cheers .
(thnx for ya help)

1) Price from RM 3.5K to 10K. Change ? Simple mods which only need intercooler, turbo, manifold. To complex ones, low compression, better lasting pistons, programmable ECU, AKA Haltech, Or piggy back, SAFC, Turbo timers, Boost meters, exhaust system, metal gasket, better brakes, bigger injectors the list goes on.

2) Major item, Intercooler, Turbine, Manifold. An ecu to tune 4 to suite the turbine.
U can skip a few stuff, even run on low boost, 0.2 ? 0.4 ? But u might not even feel the difference beside the loosely screwed BOV which gives out a very light pssst, much like kancils, even lighter.

3) Bolt on turbos r suppost to just bolt on, and can be taken off easily. Problem will be, r u goin to be the one puttin it on and off ? Or sum one else ? And if u r willin to pay for it. If u rework your pistons and engine internals for lower compression then it's not really a bolt on kit. It's more like a monster inside.

Usually 0.2 - 0.4 is quite low, hence engine internals not really needed to touch. But when u boost 0.6-1.0 lots of stuff much touch and changed. IF u r plannin to run on proton engine, i seriously suggest u think it over. Mitsubishi engines might stand higher pressure, better yet, get turbo based engine kosong to plonk in to your car.

By the time u do that, might as well u go for turbo engine conversions. The term bolt on turbo is really to have the fun of havin turbos, minus the trouble of havin to do a major transplant.

thats mean minimum needed to change is intercooler,turbine,manifold ? if boost around 0.4 .nothing much needed t0 change ??

Turbocharging a normally aspirated engine is not a job for the inexperienced. However we need o remember that it's always going to handle well set-ip 100% torque&power gain.

Dont think that boost kills these engines, it doesnt. 2 things do - idiots that rev them too hard and idiots that allow them to detonate.

The only things to consider now is:

Turbocharger, seized a matching turbocharger. Always choose an exhaust housing that is a little small as this determines how quickly the engine comes onto boost.

Manifolds, theres only one way to do it, customised. If you are after a better turbo response, always go for tuned length, or, like wise, simply making something short that will fit into the space available.

Intercooling, there are no points to be gained from cutting corners, forget any sort of top-mounted bonnet cut-out. Get any front-mount decent sized. Don't go too big though, yuo have to respect that when you size your front mount intercooler, think of the radiator mounted at the back :)

Fuel System, injectors wil be too small, fuel pump will not be efficient, remember to not run more than aruond 85 percent injector duty cycle. Go for the smallest injector upgrade, large injectors just make life difficult to tune. Get a larger fuel pump and make sure they work well. Dont forget to get a rising rate fuel regulator.

Management, get a good engine management, and if you are budget type, you can always get something like Unichip, Emanage etc. Maintaining the factory computer means this piggybacks do nothing but simply control the fuel and ignition timing, hence factory computer still can do its best for other functions.

Engine, this is a typical questions, everyone says, you have to consider about the compression ratio and your piston not being able to accept boost. If you try hard enough not to detonate them, they are generally safe, if you go further until changing pistons etc, you are better off starting with a turbo-based engine. Think carefully the power you want and the level of your satisfaction.

Think carefully the power you want and the level of your satisfaction.
i especially like this line.

Many ppl like turbo kits its MAINLY because they just want the god damn blow off "psssstttttt" sound, and doesn't want to use those device to make the turbo sound. (want face mah). I understand this becuz i was such a person before.
To tell the truth, turbokits doesn't really give u much power gain..... i would rather port and polish the 4g15 cylinder head until stage 3 than put on a turbo kit. A tune up NA gives much better power than turbo kit. BUT, waste money and time also. Unless u work in a workshop or something.
Better use the money to pay downpayment of a new car than bolting on a turbo kit in a 4g15.
I have a fren he is driving a 4g15 wif proton EMS turbokit, change piston and such, almost whole engine modified, dynoed out its about 120bhp on flywheel boasting 0.8bar. Sure it doesn't sound impressive. But, he spend an impressive amount of money, more than RM10k, believe it or not.

Originally posted by xcheong@Aug 21 2004, 05:52 PM
Think carefully the power you want and the level of your satisfaction.
i especially like this line.

dynoed out its about 120bhp on flywheel Sure it doesn't sound impressive. But, he spend an impressive amount of money, more than RM10k, believe it or not.
Many ppl like turbo kits its MAINLY because they just want the god damn blow off "psssstttttt" sound, and doesn't want to use those device to make the turbo sound. (want face mah)
Yalor, those stupids thick face Beng. Just wan to "PSSStt sound" went and put those crappy turboshit. TIEW!! My fren's 3rd stage port and polish 4G15 also tarpau his turboshit.

AIyo!! wan Turbo ah, pls go change engine lar, don do this kind of malu thing like use turbokit and bluff people it actually REAL turbo engine.

To tell the truth, turbokits doesn't really give u much power gain..... i would rather port and polish the 4g15 cylinder head until stage 3 than put on a turbo kit. A tune up NA gives much better power than turbo kit. BUT, waste money and time also
Thats wahy I said from the beginning, turboshit all useless wan. My fren stage 3 4G15 already bungkus his turboshit berkampung kampung. Damn SiaSui lar, PSSSt! PSST! sound but lost to N/A 4G15.

I have a fren he is driving a 4g15 wif proton EMS turbokit, change piston and such, almost whole engine modified,
EMS also got develop turbokit for 4G15 ah? I tot 1.6/1.8 oni got EMS turbokit. Anyway, Useless wan lar.

boasting 0.8bar.
WAH!!! 0.8 bar!?!?! FUIYOOOOOOoooo. My fren oni 0.5 bar. But like I said before, lost to 3rd stage 415. Maybe this 3d stage 4G15 is same person as your fren.

haha alot of people against turbokit's i wonder why ? if it was a waste of time & money , then why was the kit invented in the first place ?.

xcheong ,
comparing a 4G15 stage 3 vs 4G15 turbo kit obviously kena sapu . what if the stage 3 n/a vs stage 2 turbo kit , would it be a different story ?.

well well well...all against turbo...if not ... wat should ppl do to upgrade the horsepower?not to say that wanna race with this la lumba with that .. juz to find summore power and so on...any suggestion ??

Originally posted by dolly@Aug 24 2004, 01:29 AM
can someone explain to me what all these stages are?
Try this linky,

http://www.rpw.com.au/Performance%20Upgrades/Mitsubishi/Lancer/Lancer%20%20%204G94S16/lancer103turbo.htm

It's a turbo kit tho, with stage 1, 2, 3.

N/A tuning is also available. Go have a look for more info.

Turbo kits as the name implies, it's just an add on, if big big kuda power is needed, might as well straight go 4 engine conversions, not turbo kits anymore.

However, there's always those few unlucky ones which might have problems with engine conversions, thus they prefer to seek turbo kits.