turboe'd 4G15

Originally posted by Joeker@Oct 23 2004, 17:45
1.35/1.5 with turbokit maybe can follow SOHC 4G92 oni.

IN tat case, why don put 4G91 DOHC? no need to trouble doing the turbo manifold and pipings. Sumore 4G91 DOHC can tarpau 4G92 and even follow SGTi.

Much better than put turbokit on 4G13/15 lor.
aiyaaa... this one is suggestion to those who dun wanna transplant engine ma. If u everything also say transplant engine more worth it... then when will it stop la?

4G13/15 turbo kit might as well transplant 4G91
4G91 turbo kit might as well transplant 4G93
4G93 turbo kit might as well transplant 4G93T
4G93T larger turbine + higher boost might as well transplant 4G63T
story goes on and on....

Anyway... i've driven a 4G13 turbo kitted running on 0.7 bar... definitely faster than stock GTis and Putras.

Originally posted by alvin24+Oct 23 2004, 18:31 -->
QUOTE (alvin24 @ Oct 23 2004, 18:31 )
--QuoteBegin-Joeker
@Oct 23 2004, 17:45
1.35/1.5 with turbokit maybe can follow SOHC 4G92 oni.

IN tat case, why don put 4G91 DOHC? no need to trouble doing the turbo manifold and pipings. Sumore 4G91 DOHC can tarpau 4G92 and even follow SGTi.

Much better than put turbokit on 4G13/15 lor.

aiyaaa... this one is suggestion to those who dun wanna transplant engine ma. If u everything also say transplant engine more worth it... then when will it stop la?

4G13/15 turbo kit might as well transplant 4G91
4G91 turbo kit might as well transplant 4G93
4G93 turbo kit might as well transplant 4G93T
4G93T larger turbine + higher boost might as well transplant 4G63T
story goes on and on....

Anyway... i've driven a 4G13 turbo kitted running on 0.7 bar... definitely faster than stock GTis and Putras. [/b][/quote]
4g13 turbo may be faster than Gtis as you claimed...

but the stock internals and engine Dies also faster than Gtis and putras... ;)

even you run low boost, killing the stock internals is a factor...
unless you spend huge amount on the 4g13..

after all, why dont just get an engine transplant, better mah...
correct? :blink:

Originally posted by DJmobile@Oct 23 2004, 18:52

Aiyoo.. like i said... when will it end? The term "why don't just get an engine transplant" will never end... coz' its applicable to everything that you do. In the end, you might as well just say... "why waste money mod car? Just buy a better car la".

Its not about where you end... its about where you start... when it comes to modifying your car... there's never an end. There's always that something more that you still haven't done...
Pick an engine you wanna start building up... and start from there.

As i said in my earlier post... a turbo kit applies to those who do not wanna transplant ma.

Quote:

So whut's your point? We should all buy EVOs so that we can beat GTis and Putras AND have our stock internals last longer if not just as long?
Modding your car increases the wear and tear rate anyway... and if u're against that... then you're better off NOT modding at all. This is a known fact in the modding scene...

And if u're thinking... "if i drop in a GSR and run everything stock... should not have any problems whut...". You're dead wrong again. Proton chassis isn't built to take that much stress... in the end, you'll end up having wear and tear at other places; suspensions, mountings, welded joints, chassis structure.......... etc etc. In the end, might as well just get a better car.

I've always told myself:
If you're not prepared to face the consequences... then don't do it.

NO offence... being straight forward as I always do. :D :D :D

No offense, but I'd still say transplant engine easier ,cheaper and more satisfying in the long run(if done correctly from start). Dun compare to buying a better car la cause thats a totally different story oledi. When wanna buy car u need to get loan, every month need to pay summore etc. But transplanting engine wont cost that much ma.

Actually as malaysian we r very lucky bcos our h.cuts are cheap and are also veli ez to find. Why wanna waste that opportunity? Unless u live in Australia ka or U.K ka then i 'd understand if u wanna t/charge ur original engine. Even the people in U.K see GTi with Evo 3 engine already sakai like what. I know cause i joined one of the U.K based forums.

Trust me fren, u'll never be satisfied with ur 4g15T. As time goes by u will wanna upgrade. Maybe for a while u'll be content with it (since ur among the few to do it-dare to chage as they say) but after being smoke by VTEC (example only) then ur tangan will start to get itchy again.

Regarding the chassis kenot tahan thing, i agree with u. Sure, Proton chassis might not be as rigid or as strong as those Jap cars but heck i think if u maintain it 2WD then it wont be a problem. Unless if u're using 4WD then different story edi.

I think if it was 4WD the stress would be more evenly distributed rather than a 2WD where the stress is concentrated on 2 wheels only right?? Already known quite a few people who had their chassis bent and some worse, cracked... due to excessive stress from transplanted engine (VR4, GSR, B8). Whut happen in the end? Sell car, buy GTi or Putra and mod their OEM engines. HAhaha... =) Maybe just their right foot too heavy la... i know this one argumentative, as many of you out there will be sayin "where got?".

We lucky meh? Here got halfcuts...yes, but overseas got cheap cars! Hahaha... thats why they rather change car than transplant engine.... unlike here, terbalik. =) Thats why they laughing at a GTi who transplanted EVO3... coz' for the price of his conversion, he probably could have bought an EVO3 already! =) Our halfcuts come mostly from Australia or Japan, from what I know, they buy a whole car there, cut it in half, and bring it back here. The halfcut price we're paying, is the price of a 2nd hand car there + shipping fees + untung by chopshop. =)

Anyway... of course a 4G15 turbo kit won't satisfy you enough if you're craving for ULTIMATE POWER... then again, neither would a 800hp skyline after you've gotten used to the power. Power is like money... its never enough. There's always that something more you haven't quite done yet...

I'll say this again, if you're not someone looking for ULTIMATE POWER, but rather than just some extra kicks... then you can consider a turbo kit... else don't waste money, save up and buy a GTR... Power sometimes isn't 'everything' (just like money isn't everything either), its all about you being satisfied and happy with what you have.

a while back there was someone claiming to have a friend who turboed his waja 4g18 to 1 bar. if i'm not mistaken hes around johor

One word of advise. If any of you plans to turbocharged your NA engine. Be firm and keep to yourself by saying "That's all I need, a little more pickup power and the keeeppishh sound, I am not after power!" , say that as many times as you can. If you are after power, bolting on a turbo and start playing around with cars like VR4 etc etc, you are just plain stupid. Bolt on the turbo, and dont race with others, unless its a friend.

else, you will just be a laughing matter

Originally posted by saltydogg@Oct 24 2004, 21:19
i've never seen a turbo waja..
without the transplant
got one turbo charged Waja in Kuching...no transplant..the original engine...hehehe
wait i go look for the photo.....

Originally posted by alvin24+Oct 23 2004, 22:49 -->
QUOTE (alvin24 @ Oct 23 2004, 22:49 )
--QuoteBegin-DJmobile
@Oct 23 2004, 18:52

Aiyoo.. like i said... when will it end? The term "why don't just get an engine transplant" will never end... coz' its applicable to everything that you do. In the end, you might as well just say... "why waste money mod car? Just buy a better car la".

Its not about where you end... its about where you start... when it comes to modifying your car... there's never an end. There's always that something more that you still haven't done...

As i said in my earlier post... a turbo kit applies to those who do not wanna transplant ma.

Quote:

So whut's your point? We should all buy EVOs so that we can beat GTis and Putras AND have our stock internals last longer if not just as long?
Modding your car increases the wear and tear rate anyway... and if u're against that... then you're better off NOT modding at all. This is a known fact in the modding scene...

And if u're thinking... "if i drop in a GSR and run everything stock... should not have any problems whut...". You're dead wrong again. Proton chassis isn't built to take that much stress... in the end, you'll end up having wear and tear at other places; suspensions, mountings, welded joints, chassis structure.......... etc etc. In the end, might as well just get a better car.

I've always told myself:

NO offence... being straight forward as I always do. :D :D :D [/b][/quote]
those who don't want to transplant its either don't have budget or they are not going to take the risk example : engine problem's , registering the engine , insurrance , resale value & too much headache .

so turbokit is their only last option ? i guess if they wanna waste their money , better waste their money on something good , stuff like cam's , ported head , performance filters , oversize throttle body , this kind of mod is much reliable then turbocharging the 4G15P engine .

Originally posted by vestax+Oct 25 2004, 12:12 -->
QUOTE (vestax @ Oct 25 2004, 12:12 )
Originally posted by alvin24@Oct 23 2004, 22:49
--QuoteBegin-DJmobile
@Oct 23 2004, 18:52

Quote:

I've always told myself:

NO offence... being straight forward as I always do. :D :D :D

those who don't want to transplant its either don't have budget or they are not going to take the risk example : engine problem's , registering the engine , insurrance , resale value & too much headache .

so turbokit is their only last option ? i guess if they wanna waste their money , better waste their money on something good , stuff like cam's , ported head , performance filters , oversize throttle body , this kind of mod is much reliable then turbocharging the 4G15P engine . [/b][/quote]
i have a friend who turbo'ed his 4G15 ....low boost but still got BOV sound, ic and stuff like dat..he drive normaly, no tekan dere and tekan here...after 6 months, the engine start to bleed engine oil..quicky take it out and sell the car....new owner driver for 3/4 months engine condemmed...

Originally posted by vestax@Oct 25 2004, 12:12

so turbokit is their only last option ? i guess if they wanna waste their money , better waste their money on something good , stuff like cam's , ported head , performance filters , oversize throttle body , this kind of mod is much reliable then turbocharging the 4G15P engine .
Agreed. Thats why I said turbocharging is your 'last option'... modding n/a will definitely be more reliable than putting in a turbo kit... though putting in a turbo kit WOULD give u better money:power ratio... in order to make it reliable, you have to either stay at low boost (no more power upgrades from there on!), or start spending bigtime to upgrade your internals.

Originally posted by edgar_raphael@Oct 25 2004, 09:17
One word of advise. If any of you plans to turbocharged your NA engine. Be firm and keep to yourself by saying "That's all I need, a little more pickup power and the keeeppishh sound, I am not after power!" , say that as many times as you can. If you are after power, bolting on a turbo and start playing around with cars like VR4 etc etc, you are just plain stupid. Bolt on the turbo, and dont race with others, unless its a friend.

else, you will just be a laughing matter
I support this statement !! =) Putting in a turbo kit is purely for your own enjoyment only. =) When it comes to racing... don't forget you're the slowest turbo around (of course stock turbo engines are much faster than you la)... and if u go layan n/a... they say u bully them coz' u turbo! Hahaha... =) And if u unlucky... come across the few powerful N/As.... your car's going to be famous.... the laughing stock of the month. HAhaa....

true true....u race with those modified NA and win, they say u BIG EAT SMALL cos u got turbo ohhh...if u lose...aiyo....turbo loss to NA...become a laughing stock in the town... :P