Turbocharging Na Engine

Originally posted by J4X@Jun 3 2004, 10:40 PM
Next, this is the best, you modify the part that actuator rod is connected to. part B.
You shorten part B, say 0.5cm.
If your actuator rod move by 1cm, wastegate will now open to 1.5cm.
At the same time, when your actuator did not move, wastegate will still be closed.
How it works? Assume the part to be like your manual gearbox. Previously you are running at 1st gear, now you are running at 3rd gear. Think.

So what if you overdo part B? Doesn't matter, you already lowered your stock boost. Get a boost controller now to increase your boost.

What if you want to increase the stock boost?
Modify part B, but increase the length.

However,
my only worries is, even when I have open the wastegate(not actuator rod) to the maximum, the boost still cannot go down to 0.3bar because the amount of exhaust flow cannot go through it fast enough.
is the word shorten is correct ? i doubt about it
and if it is true...how to shorten it...elaborate it pls

one more thing u have to know...after shorten the rod, it is not actually goes to 0.5cm or 1.0cm or whatever like that...it is not linear

after shorten the rod, we r actually adjusting the actuator spring pressure rate. when WG is closed..the spring is like being compressed a bit..then after given its standard boost, it cannot fully open the WG cos the spring getting harder and harder to compress..that's all

yes shorten. Simple, like how you shorten or lengthen your actuator rod. You can cut and weld. Or you can drill a hole nearer to the swing point and pasang the actuator rod there.

I know it's not linear, it's just for the sake of assumption to make an example to make it easier to understand.

I am not very sure about adjusting the actuator spring pressure. In my theory, I expect the whole actuator to be constant. the length of the Part A or Part B to be the independent variable and the wastegate opening to be the dependent variable.

The wastegate swings open and close totally control by the actuator right? There is no mechanism to close the wastegate automatically other than the actuator right? Therefore, wastegate opening becomes the dependent variable.

Maybe you can explain your last paragraph abit. I am really new in this boosting stuff and still trying to figure out how this things work. Thanks!

ermmm...in the actuator..there is actuator spring..and the end of the actuator rod, it is attach to the actuator spring. the actuator spring after being pressed by boost pressure will compress itself and pushing the actuator rod outside (looks like it is longer) and push the internal WG to open

when we shorten the actuator rod...we actually makes the spring to act like it sees boost by compressing it when the rod is pull outside the actuator

Originally posted by flamefox850@Jun 3 2004, 11:48 PM
ermmm...in the actuator..there is actuator spring..and the end of the actuator rod, it is attach to the actuator spring. the actuator spring after being pressed by boost pressure will compress itself and pushing the actuator rod outside (looks like it is longer) and push the internal WG to open

when we shorten the actuator rod...we actually makes the spring to act like it sees boost by compressing it when the rod is pull outside the actuator
but in the case of lowering stock boost pressure, we dun shorten the actuator rod because it will increase boost instead. We need to increase the length to lower boost pressure.

yes..u r correct dude. just do it coz i've done it back and forth with my custom made look-alike to the picture. i do it with one 10mm skru and 4-5 10mm nut weld tu the actuator rod. now u have adjustable..lenghten or shorten...u choose

Originally posted by Joeker@May 22 2004, 07:05 PM
If not mistaken, K20C forum has wan member who has a Kelisa wif bolt on turbo.

The turbo kit is from an Mira L200 engine.
eh, he's one of the gods in K2OC la wei...

Originally posted by lestat+Jun 4 2004, 07:28 PM-->
QUOTE (lestat @ Jun 4 2004, 07:28 PM)
--QuoteBegin-Joeker
@May 22 2004, 07:05 PM

eh, he's one of the gods in K2OC la wei... [/b][/quote]
oic

then u should try Gtti or 4E piston in ur block jx4...then u dun have to worry about boosting higher. better to install turbos from RHF4 or bigger

its not that i don't want to boost higher or anything... i plan to do a low boost bcoz i know there will be significant gain from such a high compression engine with some other NA mods ;) While, maintaining stock stuff... I will see what I can do... maybe I could save up all my money and transplant an engine, that is if my dad change the car name into mine.

get yrv engine lolz... very expensive. i heard we can put it in rite??

yes
our kenari put it in and break the 200kph mark... just imagine if i hav it in my kelisa ;)

Originally posted by flamefox850+Jun 4 2004, 10:55 PM-->
QUOTE (flamefox850 @ Jun 4 2004, 10:55 PM)
Originally posted by lestat@Jun 4 2004, 07:28 PM
--QuoteBegin-Joeker

oic

then u should try Gtti or 4E piston in ur block jx4...then u dun have to worry about boosting higher. better to install turbos from RHF4 or bigger [/b][/quote]

Will it fit? I have no idea on the tech specs of the GTTi engine.

Btw, speaking about controlling boost, if you want a better control at lower boost pressure, I'd suggest you increasing the wastegate discharge area(ie. more exhaust gas discharged,less energy put to the turbine exhaust wheel,:less boost pressure produced).

I can't write much at the moment as I have to leave now to meet a friend for supper.

Cheers.

Originally posted by lestat+Jun 4 2004, 07:28 PM-->
QUOTE (lestat @ Jun 4 2004, 07:28 PM)
--QuoteBegin-Joeker

eh, he's one of the gods in K2OC la wei... [/b][/quote]
wah, me where got god wor...normal chinese guy only

and the turbo kit from l5 and l9...no l2

and to lower boost no need so mar fan to go cut the rod all those ler...

if you wanna low boost with a bolt on turbo, one of the important things is electronics...cause there is a hose that sucks the internal wastegate open 1, once open the excess boost will exit the downpipe together with the exhaust gas and boost will not exeed a certain amount. and you need a boost controller to control that hose which will suck the internal wastegate open cause the ori na engine ecu dont have that function

hehehe

wei jax, since u want so low boost maybe u should try this

http://www.turbonator.com/

Originally posted by kelisa959@Jun 10 2004, 12:53 AM

if you wanna low boost with a bolt on turbo, one of the important things is electronics...cause there is a hose that sucks the internal wastegate open 1, once open the excess boost will exit the downpipe together with the exhaust gas and boost will not exeed a certain amount. and you need a boost controller to control that hose which will suck the internal wastegate open cause the ori na engine ecu dont have that function
dude, i think u have misunderstood the turbocharge system la.

hose not sucking the internal wastegate to open and...
wastegate's function is not to dump boost(air) and exhaust altogether
wastegate's function is to dump certain amount of exhaust flow according to the pressure received by the actuator, and the small amount of flow only go through turbine blades that create rotation motion that create boost by compressor

Originally posted by Cylinderhead+Jun 9 2004, 10:46 PM-->
QUOTE (Cylinderhead @ Jun 9 2004, 10:46 PM)
Originally posted by flamefox850@Jun 4 2004, 10:55 PM
Originally posted by lestat@Jun 4 2004, 07:28 PM
--QuoteBegin-Joeker

oic

then u should try Gtti or 4E piston in ur block jx4...then u dun have to worry about boosting higher. better to install turbos from RHF4 or bigger

Will it fit? I have no idea on the tech specs of the GTTi engine.

Btw, speaking about controlling boost, if you want a better control at lower boost pressure, I'd suggest you increasing the wastegate discharge area(ie. more exhaust gas discharged,less energy put to the turbine exhaust wheel,:less boost pressure produced).

I can't write much at the moment as I have to leave now to meet a friend for supper.

Cheers. [/b][/quote]
of cos can't fit...have to rebore the block (how many mm..can't remember)

Originally posted by flamefox850+Jun 10 2004, 04:47 PM-->
QUOTE (flamefox850 @ Jun 10 2004, 04:47 PM)
--QuoteBegin-kelisa959
@Jun 10 2004, 12:53 AM

dude, i think u have misunderstood the turbocharge system la.

hose not sucking the internal wastegate to open and...
wastegate's function is not to dump boost(air) and exhaust altogether
wastegate's function is to dump certain amount of exhaust flow according to the pressure received by the actuator, and the small amount of flow only go through turbine blades that create rotation motion that create boost by compressor [/b][/quote]
after the turbine the hole at the top release excess boost and the bottom hole release exhaust gas...this is wat i thought

and i said that the hose is sucking the actuator to open the wastegate to release excess boost only, no exhaust...cause when i did my downpipe they separated the top hole from the bottom hole...so i thought the top would be air(boost) and the bottom would be exhaust

sorry if my theory confused anyone

ermm actually it is not like that...all the holes are actually from the extractor that dump exhaust.

the upper hole (internal wastegate) also dump exhaust but it is different from the bottom hole (turbine housing hole ?) because the internal wg can be open and close that is control by the actuator

by closing the internal wg will force all the exhaust flow from the extractor to come out through the bottom hole and makes the turbine wheel rotate faster that create more boost on the compressor side

on the other hand, opening the internal wg will separate the exhaust flow into two direction...one through it and the other through the turbine blades, this will cause the turbine blades rotate slower or maintain its speed depend on how big the internal wg opens

ooo, been having that theory in my head for almost a year now...hehehe

thanks for clearing it up, hehehe

Aiseh... want 0.3bar boost ah? RM170 only what? Those guys that sells SURBO claimed the stuff gives boost upto 0.3bar? :lol: