Turbo for Idiots - like me...

ShallowRiver

Guys,
I dunno what i got myself into... Mit Colt RalliArt and I never owned a turbo before... and i am kinda lost! install this, install that, add this, add that... i need to know what is really needed... all i did was just a turbo timer.

help?
:embaressed_smile:

shallowriver,
first question is what do you want from your car? in terms of performance/handling/comfort....etc... then you look into your driving behavior and style of driving. do you like cruising around.. just needing an extra power when you over take? do you like hard driving, taking corners maximizing your car's capability? or do you just like styling putting on some cool rims, carbon fiber looks, with some cool bodykit?
and.... you are not lost!! if you're lost you wouldn't have bought the mitsu colt!!! hehehe.. cool ride bro!!.. its just that in Malaysia.. there is too many things you can do to your car!!! just that you don't know where to start? installing the turbo timer is a normal first step!! so.. it's a good start!... but b4 you go ahead with any other mods or configuration... you just need to ask yourself those few questions above!!!
HAPPY DRIVING!!!!

cheers!

leslie,
thanks for your advice... Well, I am alil' bit of all actually. Order the rims and bodykit... and these are the least of my worries. I just need to know what to install so I can take care of the car, esp. the engine.

what is the difference between the original colt and the ralliart version? in the engine bay? or chasis?

the original colt is an NA.
the colt ralliart is a running on a mivec turbo, in short it's a like a civic type r.

check out this link :- http://www.ralliart.com.au/RalliartVehicles/ColtTurbo.aspx

wow.. damm nice ride!!! what colour is your car?hehe...
i think you dont need a body kit coz it's very nice already!!! hehehe...
did you buy it from Mitsubishi Malaysia or from a grey importer... coz just wondering about waranty status!

Well... first of all it don't come with the kit, it's running on a 6 speed cvt, instead of a 6 speed manual, ralliart seats instead of recaros, and 15in instead of 16in rims, the rest is the same.

It's a Colt Wald here in malaysia and it comes with a 2 year warranty ( i just got my service booklet today ). Warranty comes from Amazing Tempo...

Interesed to take a peep, just give me a buzz...

oic.....interesting..... if you want to do some minor mods... maybe you can start on handling first... so nothing affects your engine coz its still new!! (which i think you should'nt due to warranty).. trying out strut bars, sway bars, anti-roll bars, H bars rear bars....etc... if you dislike the hard ride.. maybe just change the springs and remain your ori shocks.. this will lowered your car for better handling... it's a bit harder than the ori springs but not as hard as aftermarkets ones... try eibach springs.. i heard some users it's not bad... but it's up tp you lah...nice rims with proper tire chosen is important too..(depending budget) if you got try advan AD07 or TOYO T1-r... if a bit restrain you can try Falken ST115.... then next best thing is to do is security!!!!... you know now adays got a lot of idiots running around breaking in ppl car... so thighten up your security is also important!!! try Llumar security tint!!! and install a two way alarm system that the control unit has a monitor so you know your car status... a GSM alarm guard added will enhance even more if you got the budget..

Happy shopping!!

PS: would love to see your car bro!!! you can join us in tt sessions also!!! some good teh tarik and a good chat!!! heehhe

les...
the cars comes with strut bars, h bars, sway bars oledi... as for rims i am going for an 17' oz michelangelo 10 and with tien springs, would either going for brigdestone or michelins. A gsm alarm is a must!!! and a nice ICE to go with it... didn't tot about the Llumar thit though.

Were you hang around? Will sure like to meet up...

pj area would be nice!!.. just pm me your number lor...

my neighbour also using dat colt turbo..black one..heheh

The car actually rocks... You all should give a try, a mini turbo for fuel infested world, genius!!!

Set backs are lousy sound system and there's no alarm...

ShallowRiver said:
The car actually rocks... You all should give a try, a mini turbo for fuel infested world, genius!!!

Set backs are lousy sound system and there's no alarm...

How is the performance?. Syiok ka?. I guess with 220nm of torque with 1.2T of car weight, sure melompat punya!!

The performance is great... Haven't really pushed it yet, yet to install a speed cut meter. Overall, since it's running on a 6 speed cvt gearbox, not too bad since everything is pretty much stock. I don't really dare to push it yet cos it's still new and it's running on 15/55/195 tyres. Need to get used to it.

Sayang lar... New car wor.

Anyways, I am not a hard driver since I on travel 15 kms a day. Still can't get over the fact that I got this over a family SUV! LOL

in japan got also da 5 speed manual tranny..more torque than da cvt(21.4kgm/3500rpm)..

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.co.jp/colt/lineup/lin_01.html

sorry coz the website in japanese..

nksc,

What you saw online was the replacement model for the Colt Ralliart, It's the Type-R. The kit is a brand new kit with better ventilation system is much better hence the air scoop on the hood. Exhaust system is improved hence getting a lil' more power, like 5-bhp more. The interior is slightly different as well, the type-r comes with recaros, white racing dials and as for the dashboard the lil' red trimmings at the side of the air conditioned area. Standard 16" wheels instead of 15" that I am on.

hehehehe. Really genious for a such product...just imagine with the torque quantity it has for a such small car...with turbo somemore.

shallowriver,

Mind posting you car pic here, front & back. Wanna see whether it's realy a good buy or not.

If possible do pm me the phone no for the co. u bought the car as well.

TQ