Transfer of NCB

bryan90s

Hi folks,

i have a situation here.

I have a car with NCB of 55%. Now i am in the process of getting another car. So basically i will have 2 car under my name. Since the new ride's insurance premium is Higher, i decided to transfer my NCB from my existing/old car. By doing this, the existing/old car will have to re-insured with nil NCB right?

The question is, can i choose not to re-insured it? i will not be driving it at all but for some reason i must keep it (cant sell). And in the future if i want to make it road legal again, can i just buy insurance for it and drive?

your input is highly appreciated

hi,

u can transfer the NCB to ur new ride....so ur existed car with NIL NCB for sure...

any car which its roadtax expired more than a year, required an inspection to be carry out by puspakom. then only u can re-new ur roadtax for sure.

my advise is,

if u r no longer drive ur existed car...and yet u stil wanna keep it or drive it sometimes...u can re-new the roadtax + insurance before the expired date reachs one year...so u dun need sent ur car for inspection.

btw, 3rd party insurance coverage will not be expensive..most probablyt below rm100 (depends)....this is for ur existed car :biggrin:

all answered by huakenny olredi.

anyway, juz bring along your original exisiting insurance policy that shows your NCB is 55% when transferring NCB/buying a ne wpolicy. it wud be much more easier if the insurance company is same coz they know whether u had raised an claims or not....

Yes,

As Zan said, just pass a copy of your policy to the car salesmen will do, he will know what to do from there.

As for the other car that you are not driving, just buy a t/party insurance, it is cheap and you can have another set of NCD to standby in the future.

thanks for the replies.

What happen to my existing car's roadtax? will JPJ cancel it in the event of i choose not to insure the car?

I can still drive with roadtax sticker atteached. keke

thanks for the replies.

What happen to my existing car's roadtax? will JPJ cancel it in the event of i choose not to insure the car?

as i mentioned.....ur roadtax will be suspended in the event ur roadtax expired more than a year...gotta sent car for inspection to re-activate it...inspection at puspakom.

no insurance = no roadtax:biggrin:

thanks for the replies.

nope, JPJ wont cancel any existing road tax. u can juz keep using, but in case of any unwanted incident happened, they can take u to court.