Toyota 1.6seg (96-99) Vs Nissan Sentra 1.6 (96-99)

meteoric_beam

i'm looking for used car which is < 45k. currently there are 2 choices within my mind. which is toyota corolla 1.6 seg year 96 - 99 or nissan sentra 1.6 year 96-99.
can expert give this newbies a valuable comments or advises.
thanks in advance.

the corolla SEG u mentioned is the model AE111 with 1.6 twin cam (single drive gear) EFI, available with either 5 sp manual or 4 speed auto. auto version also has standard ABS but due to its light rear end (i think) they only have front disc rear drums setup. this car is smaller than the previous SEG (AE101) and not any better. reliability is there though. in 1998 AE111 was facelifted and this includes multi relector diamond effect headlamps but present market value is between 65-68K.
i suggest do not buy this model because looks so boring.

on the other hand the sentra u mentioned is the B14 sentra. personally i like this car. its spacious inside and known to be economical. try to close its door and sounds so solid. the same feeling can be had when u try closing the new toyota hilux door or 1993 honda prelude.
B14 first introduced around 1995 i think and facelifted in 1998 where it gained ABS and airbag. like facelifted AE111, B14 facelifted's market value is also around 60++.

if u have 45K budget, try consider this..SO4 Civic (also got japanese spec Ferio and Domani), Satria GTI (1st batch end 1998) or ford laser lynx (no value but a good car in TX3 spec).

thank you for your valuable post. ford laser lynx is good too, it got abs, airbags and just 37k.
but i heard that the spare parts is hard to find, and they are expensive too. is it true ?

yup they r true. my friend bought it 2 years ago n then sell it back n lose about 10k coz the car mantainance is very exp.
Once something broke another this will follow as well.

Hi u all.. I just taken my car last 2days. It was a toyota seg 1.6 (M) Year 2K. At price rm57.5K with just done 57k++.
I was happy that i bought the car coz it was wonderfull with no problem at all.
Very quite n very wonderfull to drive.

I am wondering that can u guys help me to fine the cover coz it broken be4 i even i bought it. Plz pm me if u fine any1 selling it. Tks guys.

[attachmentid=46868]

To point to all SEG from 99 to 2k all have Airbags n also ABS as i look in the manual. So SEG wins in terms of safety. It pointed to me that seg can be better compare to sentra coz in terms of realibility for the engine, paint, comfort, looks n aslo consume very less power coz the battery is same sime as kancil where u can save money. The reason i said it consume very less battery power is that although my friend install a remote engine starter, car timer, two 12V LED lights n also three power amp. with two 12' inch sub install in his SEG 99' it can still run without a hitch. I was surprise also when i see it.
Thats y toyota cars r more expensive n also have market value.

Actually i am very young at age 21. haha now i own a toyota. Wow...
Even my brother's proton where is now 3 years have a lot of problem where the power window is starting to fail, cabin sound is getting lowder,
engine starting to make strange sound and also the engine consume a lot of battery power as it start. Althoght the battery is bigger than the SEG.