To TiTAN users from one TiTAN user

Acoustic

Hi guys

Allot of you knows I am a hardcore TiTAN fan - so please let me state clear that the following post is of my own will and not instructed by TiTAN.

This post is meant to help TiTAN users - based on the experience of a TiTAN user (me)

Now - the main issue I want to share / talk about is the 2 times complete free tuning. It is still valid, but this is how one should do to make the most out of it.

Why? because some people does not seem to be 1000% satisfied after numerous tuning and after "MUCH" observation I noticed all these users made a "significant mistake".

The "mistake" is that they nearly always never change the spring rate. Most only service the absorber to make it either harder or softer or whatever combination of compression / rebound etc.

Please realise that a car can be driven if there are springs installed without absorber - but no car can be driven without springs but only absorber.

So, again theories rule the universe. Get the spring rate correct 1st before attempting to change the absorber settings.

This is like HI-FI. Springs = Loudspeaker, Absorbers = Amplifiers.

Loudspeakers dam good, amplifiers so so = dam good sound

Loudspeakers so so, amplifiers dam good = so so only

So same theory applies

Spring rate correct, absorber wrong = still considered good handling

Spring rate wrong, absorber best = complete not helpful, bad handling.

So

1st when you install TiTAN have them to measure the existing spring rate and write down in some place and keep properly. eg. front 180 psi / 3 inches and rear is 190 psi / 3 inches.

The car previously behave oversteer. Write this down, oversteer at what road, which corner at what speed use what gear and how many passenger or weight. All write down.

This is the previous set, be it stock or other brands. Write down the existing set before forget.

2nd - TiTAN is installed. Before installing make "MAKE" them show you how many psi / 3 inches are the new spring they recommend.

Generally for people who wants sports much more than comfort than go for 2 times more.

I.e. if original was 180 psi / 3 inches, then use spring like 360 psi / 3 inches or the closest one.

Drive for at least 2 weeks before going back to TiTAN unless you are clear and sure of what you are doing. In my case some things I know immediate and request for a change on the spot.

The reason to drive for at least 2 weeks is not to run-in the suspension. I completely do not believe in run-in.

The reason to drive for at least 2 weeks if to have sufficient time to test the car properly and get to know the new settings properly.

This 2 weeks recommendation conditions only applies to settings which are optimum around 60% +/- 10%.

Because if the suspension is 80% good, then you will need 1 whole month to test it properly.

If the suspension is 90% good, then you will need around 3 months to test it to find out how to improve the last 10%.

If the suspension is 95% good, then need over 6 months to test.

So, after you install TiTAN for the 1st time, record the spring rate in psi / 3 inches and compare against the old.

Remember to write out the ratio of front divide by rear.

i.e. 180 / 190 = 0.947
then write down, under or over and bla bla bla

Compare against the new
i.e. 360/330 = 1.09
write down, under or over, bla bla bla like above in high details and lots of info.

Now that 1st install was the original install and does not count as 1st tuning. So after testing 2 weeks or whatever.....

Try other figures / ratios. Don't go back say I want softer or harder. Bouncy or what lot. It's completely no use.

Tell Richard the car last time how, now how, corner how, entry how, exit how, bla bla bla.

Then change spring rate until neutral based on the front divide rear ratio figures.

I am a dam satisfied TiTAN use because I use the correct methodolgy to improve my suspension. Until today I have not requested a single absorber re-valvce / setting / change. All my changes are purely spring rates only. This is the fundamentals.

If you need anymore advice, most welcome to ask me.

Good one sifu... I'm so impressed with Titan's service until I got rid of all rubber absorber mountings from my car. Now fully pillowball mounts for fronts and full aluminium plate for rears.

Hi Aaron = acbc

Please don't call me sifu lah, I malu one, I only sharing personal experience with everyone.

Glad you also got what you want. Tonight TTT you coming?

acoustic .. i still want to call u sifu lah .. i read ur article before .. very good. and this one is good too.

i also one of them that dunt really know what to tell them what that i want front my TITAN.

im looking for the lowered look ONLY but dont want to sacrifice stock comfort .. if we do the math correct, can this be achive ? or there is no such thing stock comfort ride but lowered ?

im driving a kenari with 3kg/mm springs for front and cut the stock springs about an inch for the rears.

Actually, performance coil-overs are not comfortable in the 1st place... depending on how you want it, they can tune maybe 60% comfort and 40% performance or in my case, it is 70% performance, 30% comfort.

I rather lose the comfort (not all, I can tolerate up to 20%) than performance. After all, you are paying a huge sum for it. If you want comfort, save the money and get stock OEMs.

bro acoustic..really nice article there..now i kno a bit..just got my set of Titan for my kelisa
can u advice me on something..im kinda new in this world..but eager to learn..
currently im using 14inch rims..can i upgrade it to 15inch??
if yes..can u pls advice me..do i have to a new setting for the abs?
currently im happy wit the setup although i really dont kno wat the guys at Titan did to it..
i want to see the car abit low..but not sacrificing the comfort..like bro acbc bro said maybe nice for me 70% comfort and 30% performance..help me pls.
and bro..wat series for the tires should i used if i can upgrade to 15inch??
and can u explain about the pillow ball stuff too
thanks a lot in advance sifu

How are you doing Acoustic, ...still remember me ? :D

Are you still working in KLCC ? Hehehe...

It's been long time never heard such a good review about TITAN and now you are back with it....what a great piece of informtion (thumbs up)

So you still with your KE-70 ? Any change for a free ride at SIC again :D

Btw, your still using the same handphone number right ?