Things To Look For When Collecting A New Car

sterling^moss

hi, fren of mine going to collect his Waja this weekend, so is there anything that has to be checked? any tell-tale sign that can indicate whether there are defects with the new car?(power-windows, air-con vents, the dashboard etc.) takut after getting the car then got prob. so hope someone with experience would enlighten me. thank you :)

if its a brand new car , everything is under immediate warranty.

but what i would test is : (experience due to fukked up previous proton)

1) door handles , interior and exterior
2) boot compartment
3) rubber sealant around the windows / doors
4) speakers (make sure all sides got sound)
5) etc
....... well , basically everything you can check easily :)
....... with malaysian cars , you dont have much of a choice.

Wayward

even if there is a problem...u have to accept the car as well...

and make yourself to the nearest service centre.....

the showroom ppl nvr bother abt this....is proton problem....

Originally posted by bryan90s@Feb 18 2004, 01:29 PM
even if there is a problem...u have to accept the car as well...

and make yourself to the nearest service centre.....

the showroom ppl nvr bother abt this....is proton problem....
ermmm..i dunno much abt buying cars. mebbe the pple @ the showroom there is the fella's fren or my fren is buying the car by cash..not sure. but i'm sure tat the showroom guy told my fren tat he can go there & pick a nice one among the stock tat's available. so me & him are going over to take a look this weekend.

wayward, check wat for interior? the seam btween the compartments? or tr to drive to around to see whether the dashboard got rattling sound or not? as for boot compartment?? anything to look for? leaks? hope u can elaborate more on that. thanx mate ;)

If its a manual play around with the gear/clutch and make sure you can always engage easily. Check no loose wires in the engine bay. And then no paint on the windscreen or other screens. Then the other basic stuff power windoze etc...

Just from experience when my gf bought her car. Cannot engaged gears 1 and 2 soon after. Intermittently cannot engage at all. Went on for almost a year in and out of the service centre. Aircon fail due to loose cable in engine bay.

All fluids are at their recommended level.
No leaks underneath the car.
No loose panels in the car.
No strong vibration on the accelerator pedal when you press the pedal.

check for VISORS...
last time my cousin's Wira has only left side Visor....
the right side missing... he did not notice it untill a week later...

Check ur gauges/speedometer... my car last time is lidat....
i check everything but da meter..
end up changing a new wan at service centre....!!!
Few of my fren got dis prob oso...

CALM DOWN!!!! your no.1 priority. when you're excited about collecting your new car, u tend to miss stuff...even if u look over and over and over again... :)

i'd also flip thru the manual, over to the warranty section. perodua manuals (dont know about proton) have a pre-delivery checklist in there for u to fill out and be verified by the sales person. they normally dont tell u about this (leceh mar..) so make sure u look for it. if not...make a form!! dont take your chances...got warranty...use it...maxxximum...ahahahA! :lol: