Temperature Problem.

halimunan

My 11 yr old Wira 1.5(M) have a problem.
When running my car more than 100km/h
temperature will rise up to 3rd quarter..
at 120km/h and more the temp meter reach redline.
What's the root of the problem?

any sifu's care to help?

tq in advance

check these few things:-

1. Water coolant for the radiator. Open the plastic container and check whether the water level is okay. If okay, then when the engine is cold, open the radiator pressure cap. WARNING : DO THIS ONLY WHEN THE ENGINE IS TOTALLY COOLED DOWN. By looking in, u can tell if the water level inside the radiator is full or not.

2. Check front of radiator to see whether any accumulation of dirt and dust is obstructing the air flow of air to cool the radiator down.

3. Check whether radiator fan is working or not. When the engine is running while the car is stationary, just leave it to run for about 5 minutes and observe whether the fan kicks in automatically or not. Leave ur air con off so u would not confuse the air con fan with the radiator fan.

4. Check water pump to see if it is running. WARNING : DO THIS ONLY WHEN THE ENGINE IS TOTALLY COOLED DOWN. Open the radiator cap again and leave it open. Start the engine and rev the engine. Look at the water level in the radiator and see whether the level drops down when the engine is revved. Water level should come up again when u let go of the accelerator.

5. Lastly, if all the above checks out okay, check the colour of the water in the radiator to see if it is rusty in colour. If so, flush the radiator with radiator flush and possibly the radiator has rusted within and so deteriorates in heat dissipation performance.

Hope this helps. Please be very careful in opening the radiator cap and make sure that the engine has totally cooled down before opening. I can't stress this enough. Good luck! ;)

1)thermostat aim function properly
2)radiator stuck
3)head gasket burn
4)water pump spoile

considering the facts you have highlighted summarry would lead to higher speed=high temperature. There could be a couple of things i'd be looking at with the above scenario.

Fan operation-check connectors especially after heat soak, also check relays for fan.

if you're running about town and temperature is normal then you can rule out thermostat, water pump. I've seen some cases where there is a small leak (not visible) upon inspection but if we pressurise the rad you'd see a hair line crack.

Check radiator and make sure nothing is stuck to it.

Do you loose coolant/water?

Have you recently replaced tyres/rims?

thanx guys for the diagnostic lists, but since my car now with my bro..
so trex, i will only be able to check this weekend.

yes phat7 you're right.. higher speed = higher temp.
traffic jam = normal temp (at half)

i use coolant but not that frequent - half yearly i think.

anyway.. i'll let you guys know about this after i'm done with the diagnostic.

i would also flush the entire system and replace with distilled water and coolant. Sometimes the water gets contaminated and overwhelmed when running at higher speeds. Good luck and keep the gang posted.

yes phat7 you're right.. higher speed = higher temp.
traffic jam = normal temp (at half)
i meet this kind of condition b4,tat time my radiotor stuck,after let specialist clean it then the problem solve

hmm..
in kl i still cannot find a GOOD radiator specialist.

this temperature problem surfaced early this yr.
subsequently the car sent to 2 diff mechanics..
the 1st mech replaced the radiator cap - he said the cap already damaged.

the 2nd mech replaced thermostat - that's what my bro told me.

still the problem persist.

so.... hehehe.. any reliable radiator specialist you guys recommend? i'd be happy to pay them a visit.

try FRC in sunway behind speed d. i just sent an aluminium radiator for repairs and the work seems very good.

hi guys..
during the weekend.. just b4 i intend to do those diagnostics.. my father already sent the car to radiator w/shop

guess what.. the mech took out the radiator n soak it in a solution to clean the bottom part of the radiator.. too dirty

hopefully this will solve the problem..

i think it's the stuck/clogged radiator. my fren's car has exact same problem b4.
when cruising at 100 km/h+, temp rise.
when up shift downshift, in traffic jam, temperature ok.
very weird, but our mech, one look said it's the clogged/stuck radiator.
need to service, flush entire system and replace thermostat.
it's all ok now. he got charged less than 150 la somthing like that. radiator oso like new after that, fully serviced. maybe less la if no need the service the radiator.

need to, find any radiator specialist lor.. common problem they all shud know.

halimunan said:
My 11 yr old Wira 1.5(M) have a problem.
When running my car more than 100km/h
temperature will rise up to 3rd quarter..
at 120km/h and more the temp meter reach redline.
What's the root of the problem?

any sifu's care to help?

tq in advance

A lot of dirty things inside your radiator stuck the pipes and cause water unable to flow, bring your car to radiator specialist to wash it.

no one mentioned lwakages....and what's the price to mend a leaking radiator?

radiator might clogged oledi for ur car..get it clean and pour in radiator coolant + distilled water or battery water....temp sure wil go lower n beter effect...

bro...
it also happen to my kancil la.d temperature will up to 3rd quarter after i fully switch the aircond.but once i put to ECO d meter will go down back to 1/2.
i've already ask my bro to check (bcoz he was mechanic for Volvo) so he advise me to service d radiator n see ow...

:tee:

same as my 11 years old wira carbie

my case is the rusted dirt block the water from the sensor

try to take out all the black colour plastic hose connected near to your carburetor
should be 3 or 4 hose

clean all of them,
one of it is very special
which you can only used wire to clean it
because in the middle of this pipe got a thing (donno wat it call)
it will reduce the flow of the water before reaching the sensor

my case is this pipe block up by rusted dust

hope this will help

Anfield said:
bro...
it also happen to my kancil la.d temperature will up to 3rd quarter after i fully switch the aircond.but once i put to ECO d meter will go down back to 1/2.
i've already ask my bro to check (bcoz he was mechanic for Volvo) so he advise me to service d radiator n see ow...

:tee:

my tempature going back to normal after service...

tq
:biggrin:

my problem lagi weird..

last time my fan will spin if the temp goes half of the bar
car not moving..

now the fan will only move when them temp at the higher bar
car not moving as well.

when jam temp sure go up one.. else no jam temp very nice

myself also donno what's wrong already. As long the fan spin at the higher bar
then okie lol.. hehe

if not, i on the air cond..