Strobes.. those who have it

ken yeang said:
Aprt from being seen as unique using strobe lights, the lights can be confusing and distracting in someway.

Imagine if one is tailgating with Strobe s from ur back while u r on the road at night - you can be confused (even shocked) with it either thinking it was a cop car, ambulance or some wannabes who just dying for attention....

Here's a senario:
Have you guys ever seen car with a strobe mounted on the roof of a car? from far it looked like a cop car. Then, when it comes closer to you- it turned out to be a scout car/safety car for heavily laden truck en route.
Then would you say "What the &*^* is that car doing with the strobes.?!" after seeing that car?
that will be illegal. Even police need license to put the silent everything on the roof.

Hmmmm, I wonder, If I were to buy a strobe light from a car accesories store, i wonder what was written on the strobelight box/packaging (to explain to user the purpose of the sttrobe lights)

Example:

Our highest quality strobe light is made to provide you the most impressive (but useless) visual effect to your car. The light bulb is manufactured in highest quality quartz material that gurantees 1000 hours of operation (at the same time sapping your battery away for 1000 hours).

Our premium product (yeah....with the same price, you can buy another more useful car assesories compared to our useless strobe lights) shall give you enless satisfaction throughout the usage.........

We congratulate you for purchasing our pruduct (thanks for purchasing our good-for-nothin' product, we made big bucks out of the useless lighting).
Enjoy driving with our Strobe lights (and wish you good luck avoiding cops checking for illegal strobe lights installation).

BlackSamurai said:
Jackie, are you the Black Accent with Stobe light at TTDI that night... hmm, i wonder.

nope bro, that's definitely not me.. i don't turn them on that often.. what more frequent TTDI =p
it just happen yesterday that i felt like playing a bit.. then kena kejar.. *slaps head

either way, i'll be removing them soon or just keep it but remove the controller :_: no point having something that'll attract people to come chase after me =.="

edit: but lately, i really did come across a lot of cars with strobes that turn them on instead of their headlamps (at night)..

and nope, don't think we have the permission to mount those strobes on our car's roof. or to say, we aren't permitted to using those strobes at all.

so is it the unwritten rule-in-the-street about, Stobe light = playing a bit, kejar-megejar..

* *:shocked: * *

aiya don la kutuk strobe lights.. me got one but hardly put them on..only at house oni..
now must take my strobe lights n throw away la..

those strobes have their goods and bads.. you just can't condemn them..

eg:
cons as you all have said and i agree with them..

pros as in, connected to your alarm.. when it sounds, it helps in getting people to notice which car's alarm is blaring.. you don't only get to use it in car shows as exterior styling, but you can also use it as part of your ICE (in your boot, not those undercar glows).. just to name a few..

koolspyda said:
so is it the unwritten rule-in-the-street about, Stobe light = playing a bit, kejar-megejar..
* *:shocked: * *

me no stobe light but dunno can use those china mari HID torchlight to flash when the EVOs comes in my rear. :cyclops:

on-offf-on-off = ok! kejar

on-on-on-offf-on-off-off = put petrol first then kejar!!!

boy, am i' bored

i read somewhere in ZTH b4 Tom said in a review of strobe lights... he said that strobe lights is the new thing , neon lights are outdated..

if i really have to choose or die, i would not choose strobe lights.
i juz cant find anything attractive about it .. unless if your car is some sport car la ...
but u have sport car also dun spoil it with the strobes la.... useless la.
but then, juz my opinion ...

jackie leong.. so i guess u manage to loose that fella that went chasing after u?

but seriously... apart from attracting attention, i dont see any good of the strobe lights. As a matter of fact u also encountered it attracting for the wrong reasons.

Actually strobe lights is a very cool and "IN" thing if its put to good use like on drifting competition or autoshow.

but more and more ACC shops are selling them eg. Brother's. more people will have them fitted with those cheap strobes...sooner strobe lights will become an Ah Beng stuff like unproperly fitted GT wings.

Not saying that those who have strobe lights installed are bengs but those wanabes on them 24/7 no matter where..is totally beng....

vwmania said:
i dont use strobe....i use my digicam flash...hahaha...make suprise...hahaha
Dude,
Get those big third party external flash. Since the price of a good strobe is at least RM500, you could get the Sigma high end flash for about that price. It has strobe function (power and frequency is controllable), it has manual power control single shot flash (can set the power of the flash), it can be fired without a camera, etc. Pretty fun stuff. Bring the flash into Genting First World Hotel's haunted house and flash those "ghosts" hahaha sure blur their eye sight out for a few seconds. hahaha Some more, with this flash, you can face it to the back and fire, face it to the side and fire, etc etc etc. Full freedom. hehehe

If I had strobes, I put 4 strobes on my dash board facing the front, and 4 strobes at the back speaker board. When someone drives with high beam on, I'll slow down till the car is right behind me and I'll strobe the stupid fatherfuckingmotherassfucker to hell. Then I'll throw some old spark plugs back and hope it shatters his wind screen.
For the front, it's for people who drive in the opposite direvtion with their high beams on.