Stain/marks On Windows

wildboar

i bought 4 lancer doors wif the cromax colored windows a few months back...thing is, there are stain marks on the OUTSIDE surface of the windows...its like dried water marks but it cannot be removed by washing..n i dare not scrape it wif a knife..u can actually feel the marks if u run ur fingernail across them...they are all over the windows, not just at a particular area...my fren who runs an accessory shop said that this oni happens on old old glass...the stains bcome permanent cos it was not washed for years..

so, does anyone know how to remove these stain marks?? i wanna tint my window gold but he said that the marks will be vr visible especially wif gold tint...appreciate any advise....

go for windows polishing. last time my rear windscreen got some chemicals marks. like rainbow color. after polish, shine already!

if u wan to DIY

1. use newspaper
2. use dish washing liquid, make sure is doesn't get to the cars body, if not u have to wax back again
3. use Permaglass Polymer Sealent wax...this can give u the same effect as rainx and last longer too
4. use autosol ...rub gently and rinse off
5. go get ya windscreen polish

i'd prefer to let the pros do it...later i DIY bcome worse...i wanted to get it polished but till now i havent managed to find a shop with this service in Pg...anyone knows where??

im not sure pg got or not, last time when i tint my car at professional tinted shop(pg). they also no idea how to remove it...

Go over to PISA and you'll find CGC. Ask them for a glass polish and they'll show you. They did it for me and it's awesome now. They polish car too. very friendly people. Always make sure everything is perfect before they give you your car.

Originally posted by pillage2001@Apr 19 2005, 16:14
Go over to PISA and you'll find CGC. Ask them for a glass polish and they'll show you. They did it for me and it's awesome now. They polish car too. very friendly people. Always make sure everything is perfect before they give you your car.
[snapback]910590[/snapback]​

thanks for the info dude...is CGC the one beside brothers?? u know how much they charge for polishing the windows?? & windscreen oso...

yes yes. i also wanna know where is this CGC cos i need to polish my Cromax as well. a few scratches and water marks, haih.

i'm not in Penang tho, is there a similar place in the Klang Valley?

actually i was reading on the internet and there are products in US which can be bought to DIY but then, in US la.
eh, wildboar, ask ya something. are your Cromax windows reflective? cos mine aren't really, just brownish. :huh:

Originally posted by wildboar+Apr 19 2005, 19:47 -->
QUOTE(wildboar @ Apr 19 2005, 19:47 )
--QuoteBegin-pillage2001
@Apr 19 2005, 16:14
[snapback]910590[/snapback]​

thanks for the info dude...is CGC the one beside brothers?? u know how much they charge for polishing the windows?? & windscreen oso...
[snapback]911091[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Don't know how much it costs but I think it's about 50 bucks for 4 sides. You can ask them. I would be doing it soon but not now ler. In KL for the moment.

Yes, it's beside that Brothers at PISA. You can't miss it.

Originally posted by differ@Apr 22 2005, 04:00
eh, wildboar, ask ya something. are your Cromax windows reflective? cos mine aren't really, just brownish. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/huh.gif alt='huh.gif' />
[snapback]917177[/snapback]​

erm...i wouldnt say they are as reflective as tints lo...dats y im getting them tinted..my mech says it would look real nice wif a layer of tint...

those water stain marks can be scrub off wif ICI rubbing compound... in chinese it's called 'poh lei sah' (glass sand)...

most USED car tat u bought are sure been put there under the rain and sun and can say most of it have those kind of marks... u can scrub it off wit a clean cloth and use the rubbing compound... but it will be damn tired to scrub it off as u need to scrub it hard... don worry, it won't scratch ur windows... u can try at a small part first if u don wanna take de chance...

me and my bro did it on his car even on the windscreen too... it works wonder...

de rubbing compound can be found in any hardware shop... choose the most 'fine' wan...

hope it helps...

;)

i got a pic of the rubbing compound for all forummers who wish to try...

http://www.keiconcept.net//components/com_simpleboard/uploaded/images/rubbingcompound.jpg

it's priced less than RM10... donno the price now tho... won't be THAT expensive wan... don worry... hehe...

;)

wildboar said:
i bought 4 lancer doors wif the cromax colored windows a few months back...thing is, there are stain marks on the OUTSIDE surface of the windows...its like dried water marks but it cannot be removed by washing..n i dare not scrape it wif a knife..u can actually feel the marks if u run ur fingernail across them...they are all over the windows, not just at a particular area...my fren who runs an accessory shop said that this oni happens on old old glass...the stains bcome permanent cos it was not washed for years..

so, does anyone know how to remove these stain marks?? i wanna tint my window gold but he said that the marks will be vr visible especially wif gold tint...appreciate any advise....

u can use AUTOSOL....i think u know that this is a metal polish which comes in a tube.....i have tried for my car & it worked....but please dont kena rubber parts...don't use one piece of cloth to wipe & polish.....use separate clothes to wipe first & then polish off using another cloth..........best cloth to use would be an old napkin....i mean the cloth type not the disposal ones !!!!!!

went to have my cromax windows polished at CGC PISA last weekend...the result...MARVELLOUS!!!! vr good workmanship there..the guys there reli pay attention to details...now dem shining n slightly more reflective...but still gonna get them tinted...hehe...

wildboar said:
went to have my cromax windows polished at CGC PISA last weekend...the result...MARVELLOUS!!!! vr good workmanship there..the guys there reli pay attention to details...now dem shining n slightly more reflective...but still gonna get them tinted...hehe...

any idea wat chemical they use?

no idea...i asked but he just said a type of chemical...dun think they will tell us too much cos they hafto protect their business oso...but im sure u can use all the other methods which were suggested above..

wildboar said:

all the way in Penang.... damnit! don't they have one in KL!

how much for front and back windows polish? i may want to try :D
wildboar wanna tint ur glasses? come to my frens place la... 35% dark tint.. cheap and dark :X hahahaha....

differ, im sure u can find some shops in kl which can do the same..just a regular polish on the windows..but chemicals might be different..some shops use acid..vr fast removal..but dun let it kena other parts of the car..

ftzone..the polishing cost me RM40..front, back & sides...if just front & rear dunno how much lo..u can try ask them..vr frenly ppl...Foong 012-4770751 or Melvin 016-4191900..better if u call Foong..cos i seldom see Melvin at the shop..i like the old man aka QC fella..after ur windows are polished, he will come armed wif a spotlight n check the windows for any residual stains...i just tinted my windows gold yesterday..dun like dark dark wan..have alwiz liked gold color...dem cun, like dark copper...looks totally different cos of the cromax...

wildboar: which shop u go for the window tinted? How much they charged u? I went to a shop they cut my throat vr expensive, n they said they given me 7yrs of warranty, dunno its true or not....