ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

Falken 912 ain't too bad for its price. (15" around RM170) been more than satisfied with its wet and dry performance so far.

Hehe.. Bro Shan.. Any tires that I get next will definitely be a huge improvement on my current expired, hardened and bare tires!:rofl: thanks for giving me the extra headache anyway! I'm more inclined towards all round tires, "all round" meaning reasonable comfort, not too noisy, good performance in handling, reasonably long lifespan and most importantly safe! (all the attributes that my tires are lacking right now)

Mr. Yau, I guess the Falken shop owner is your friend that recommended you take 195/50 over 195/55 due to the difference in price, right? I think I'll be going for 195/50 too, now, to think about it. Know why? Since my right rear tire is already fouling the fender, and the left is slightly less than one inch from the fender (although there's no scraping issue), it would be worse if I use 195/55, wouldn't it?
Sigh, of all those problems that I was worried about, this scraping problem is certainly one that I didn't foresee! I was worried the rear side of my car would be too high using the AE1XX absorber and springs, and I even got lowering sport springs in anticipation of this problem! See the irony?:rofl:

Bro teikwing, thanks for the suggestion. =) just wondering, 170 is for 195/50?

Hehe, sorry 'bout turning this Corona thread into a temporary tire thread..:embarassed:

RR,

I think it's ok to talk about tires here coz after all, it's still gonna be fitted to yr Corona, rite ? So it's relevant to the Corona..:laugh:

2o2r: u're rite if it's still bout our corona...it doesn't matter!:deal: oh ya, will the mechanic open during raya hoildays??? plannin to just drop by for a surprised visit.... i just need to know what the hold up is all about?:hmmmm: it's been so long that even my road tax has expired i think... worried if he goes for test drives the police may stop him as well....

rr: i think it will be hard to incorporate all of the quality ur asking for... that maybe the perfect tire!...

2o2r: u're rite if it's still bout our corona...it doesn't matter!:deal: oh ya, will the mechanic open during raya hoildays??? plannin to just drop by for a surprised visit.... i just need to know what the hold up is all about?:hmmmm: it's been so long that even my road tax has expired i think... worried if he goes for test drives the police may stop him as well....

rr: i think it will be hard to incorporate all of the quality ur asking for... that maybe the perfect tire!...

I don't think he'll be opened during the Raya. I also don't think he's taking yr car for test drives. I last heard (last week) that he's doing the side mirror wiring already. I understand yr frustration, I'm so sorry about the delay. He can really make you feel like strangling him :mad:at times, been thru that.

Hehehe, it won't be long then before I will be seeing a white Corona speeding around Sunway area and eating its dust!:rofl:

Mr. Yau, just for asking sake, will the ST185/ST202 Celica shocks, especially the adjustables, fit our Corona? Overall length, bottom knuckle holes, top mount etc?

thank you mr.yau... Well i called him just now, he said that the car should be ready by this week or next! Jolly good! If my car is returned to me in a very good workin condition i won't to anything to him, i may just kiss him instead!!!

Hehehe, it won't be long then before I will be seeing a white Corona speeding around Sunway area and eating its dust!:rofl:

Mr. Yau, just for asking sake, will the ST185/ST202 Celica shocks, especially the adjustables, fit our Corona? Overall length, bottom knuckle holes, top mount etc?

Basically, you use the Celica ST18# or the ST20#'s front suspension, only the bolts for the knuckles are bigger than the AE series. So, you'll either have to enlarge the knuckles's holes or use the Celica's knuckles. I've used the ST183's front suspension before; incld. its knuckles (I'm still using the Celica knuckles now) but I find it too soft, although in theory the Celica's heavier therefore, when fitted to the Corona, it should be harder but unfortunately, it's not.

The Celica ST18# rear shox is too short although the holes fit. After fitting them, I tried to install the wheel & only then I found out that the spring's cup is fouling the tyres. However, the springs can be used & it's just nice & I've been using them on my BT ever since.

thank you mr.yau... Well i called him just now, he said that the car should be ready by this week or next! Jolly good! If my car is returned to me in a very good workin condition i won't to anything to him, i may just kiss him instead!!!/QUOTE]

Yuo're welcome, bro but I thinking kissing him is not such a good idea...:laugh:

hummm..to much love:embarassed:i'll stick to a hand shake than... but really... after hearing that it's finishing soon i feel damn happy.... i just hope that after 7 months of engine conversions, there won't be any small problem... hoping to just have an enjoyable drive back to kl with having to trouble shoot anything on the way! time to start prayin!

hiiii every one...slamat hari raya...

selamat hari raya to you also fren...where hv u been for so long???

---------- Post added at 05:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:14 PM ----------

hiiii if some one can help me...what brake disc and suspension can fit to my corona(AT 151)...Please help..

read up the previous 2 pages...all the info u need is there man!

Hehe.. Congrats to you bro Shan! :D I sure hope your car will be trouble free after a long, long 7 months, really! :biggrin::biggrin:

Bro mohdhaireenezhaam, Selamat Hari Raya to you too.. Rear disc brake: Get the AE92 rear disc brake, along with AE9X/AE1X1 rear shock absorbers. Corona original shocks will no longer fit..

hummm..to much lovei'll stick to a hand shake than... but really... after hearing that it's finishing soon i feel damn happy.... i just hope that after 7 months of engine conversions, there won't be any small problem... hoping to just have an enjoyable drive back to kl with having to trouble shoot anything on the way! time to start prayin!/QUOTE]

I hope so too.:biggrin: Don't worry so much, I think it'll be ok coz when I got my BT back from the conversion, I test drove to Thailand with my family ! Or you want ME to test it out for you first ?:driver:

hiiii every one...slamat hari raya.../QUOTE]

Selamat Hari Raya, bro. Pls read up the older threads on the brakes & suspension. I don't we'd like to repeat it again & again; well at least not me. Maybe RR will be eager to help you out since he's in the middle of doing those stuff right now.

Lol. Correction Mr. Yau, it's just finished doing those stuff :biggrin:
Test drive bro Shan's car eh? Hehe, miss the feeling of your old engine? :laugh:
Thank you for explaining 'bout the ST185/ST202 shocks.. How lucky of you to have the Celica rear springs, or should I say, rare springs.. Have not come across any so far.. :rofl:

Lol. Correction Mr. Yau, it's just finished doing those stuff :biggrin:
Test drive bro Shan's car eh? Hehe, miss the feeling of your old engine? :laugh:
Thank you for explaining 'bout the ST185/ST202 shocks.. How lucky of you to have the Celica rear springs, or should I say, rare springs.. Have not come across any so far.. :rofl:

"Just finished", huh ? So which did you used; the sports springs or the adjustable ?

I got the ST185 springs with a pair of original GAB soft/hard absorbers. I sold the absorbers to my friend. Guess on what car did that fitted ? You'd never guessed ! An old Proton Saga; at the front ! He's still using the shox till today & still very, very happy with them.

As for testing Shan's car, I was just teasing him but honestly I don't mind testing it out for him coz I don't want him to have any problems after his return to KL. It'll be very troublesome for him to send the car back here to rectify :nurse: the problem. I just hope he'll be happy again after a record breaking wait for his car.

Oh, you're talking about that problem, Mr. Yau.. That's not been solved yet, will settle it on Monday. I thought you were talking about the rear disc brake conversion :biggrin:

WTH, Celica rear shocks used on Proton Saga at the front? Wow.. Malaysia really really BOLEH wo..:congrats:

Yeah, there's definitely logic in you testing bro Shan's car before it makes its way back to KL..

RR,

you'd be surprised what we M'sians are capable of ! Just imagine a world recognised giant car manufacturer e.g. Toyota & its team of engineers, super computers & data collected over the years by their race team etc... & it only takes a bunch of Ah Bengs like us to modify what they're took years to research & design !

Isn't that just amazing what we M'sians can do ? But the irony part is, we can't produce a world class national car all by ourselves after all these years.... come to think of it, damn funny la wei...:laugh::laugh::laugh:

As for testing Shan's car, I was just teasing him but honestly I don't mind testing it out for him coz I don't want him to have any problems after his return to KL. It'll be very troublesome for him to send the car back here to rectify :nurse: the problem. I just hope he'll be happy again after a record breaking wait for his car.
Bro do u really think u'd be able to test drive my car for me? Coz who better to know if everything about the conversion is done rite better than u??? I would really appreciate it!

Bout the moddin part, don't forget the single macha here also attemptin the same feat!

Yeah, we're the Corona 'Macha's and 'Ah Beng's..:laugh: (no Ah Lians eh?)
The Proton Saga case, that's really amazing :adore: but what we're doing to our Corona's, it's not really out of this world I guess.. We're just putting in the "performance" element missing from our beloved Corona's:love:, which was already a very high end car in its era with it's superior comfort and reliability! The Japanese will be shaking their heads in disbelieve when they see our modded Corona's, but that's because they don't need to mod their Corona's there; they have the real Levin's and Trueno's, right? Besides, not everybody can afford a Supra or a Skyline ma..

About the "world class national car" issue, I guess using and "rojak"ing the Japanese technology (even for things it's not meant for, like the Saga case) is one thing, learning from people's technology to create something completely new of your own is another..

So, Bro Shan, you feeling excited already? :biggrin: Sorry I haven't called you out yet, I've still gotta settle the "sagat" issue, change my tires at least, and change my exhaust if possible.. Or else you'd be so disappointed with everything from my car that I myself would be embarrassed to call you out again!:bawling: