ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

Sifu Mr Yau! What a pleasant surprise to see you here again! Just started missing the time/pages when there was sight of your orange avatar on almost every page of this thread, helping us out on our Corona journey!:biggrin:

Anyway, if all goes well, I SHOULD be paying for and getting my BT 6 speed halfcut tomorrow. I think it's an ae111 levin BZG cuz it has(had) airbags but no LSD. For an engine that has gone 128xxx km it costs RM5500 including a petrol tank (which I assume is from the ae111), rear disc brakes and absorbers from ae92 to replace the ae111 discs, and twin pot front disc brakes together with superstrut absorbers, but bodyparts are not included. Hoping I will still be able to reduce the price slightly cuz of the flawed dashboard (no airbag cover), high mileage and the unsuitable front absorbers. Wonder how much it will cost for me to fix the dashboard at the cushioning shop? :s:

Went to a chopshop near my house in the evening, they had a BT 5 speed MT with 95xxx mileage for RM3800. They also had an auto BT 5 speed with 5xxxx mileage on the clock; no 6speed tho. I wonder whether I would be better off getting either of these 2 halfcuts? Lower mileage, lower price, but lower "specs" too. Sigh, so much to think about!:vollkommenauf:

aiyah.... 2o2r being very modest... i really don't think i could see a better car out there...
thai single...how bout uploading ur car for us to see... maybe we can guide u along the way what to do!
rage... many times i would shop till i drop b4 buying anythin... and sumtimes i might not even buy anything.. it's surveying.... or doing ur homework like many car ppl say... but once u have made a decision never look back ...it would be painful... get the latest model possible and just hope there are not many cobwebs(so to say):bawling:

aiyah.... 2o2r being very modest... i really don't think i could see a better car out there...
thai single...how bout uploading ur car for us to see... maybe we can guide u along the way what to do!
rage... many times i would shop till i drop b4 buying anythin... and sumtimes i might not even buy anything.. it's surveying.... or doing ur homework like many car ppl say... but once u have made a decision never look back ...it would be painful... get the latest model possible and just hope there are not many cobwebs(so to say):bawling:

Thanks for the kind compliments, bro.:embarassed:

Yeah, bro Shan's right, Thai single should show us some pix of your ride. Maybe we could learn a thing or two from you.

Does this look familiar ? :hmmmm:

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/enginebay.jpg

Sifu Mr Yau! What a pleasant surprise to see you here again! Just started missing the time/pages when there was sight of your orange avatar on almost every page of this thread, helping us out on our Corona journey!:biggrin:

Anyway, if all goes well, I SHOULD be paying for and getting my BT 6 speed halfcut tomorrow. I think it's an ae111 levin BZG cuz it has(had) airbags but no LSD. For an engine that has gone 128xxx km it costs RM5500 including a petrol tank (which I assume is from the ae111), rear disc brakes and absorbers from ae92 to replace the ae111 discs, and twin pot front disc brakes together with superstrut absorbers, but bodyparts are not included. Hoping I will still be able to reduce the price slightly cuz of the flawed dashboard (no airbag cover), high mileage and the unsuitable front absorbers. Wonder how much it will cost for me to fix the dashboard at the cushioning shop? :s:

Went to a chopshop near my house in the evening, they had a BT 5 speed MT with 95xxx mileage for RM3800. They also had an auto BT 5 speed with 5xxxx mileage on the clock; no 6speed tho. I wonder whether I would be better off getting either of these 2 halfcuts? Lower mileage, lower price, but lower "specs" too. Sigh, so much to think about!:vollkommenauf:

I'm no sifu, RR. Just an old guy who did those mods earlier than you guys, that's all. I want to share will everybody so that you guys don't have to make the same mistakes I made, hence saving some trouble, time & money. I mean no point having all the experience/knowledge but not passing it down, right ? My advise is free but to listen or not, it's up to you. :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 02:21 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:17 AM ----------

RR, poison for you....Those are ori K&Ns, paid RM 140 each. but took them off after a couple of days of use because my wife complaint of the "noise".... women

I still have them with me, lost 1 of the boxes. The rest is still kept in its original boxes. Condition is 9.9/10. I'm putting them up for sale if the price is reasonable. Anyone interested can PM me.

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/DSC09729.jpg

---------- Post added at 04:08 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:21 AM ----------

Found some old pix & feeling nostalgic. So sharing them with you guys. This was taken when my car was featured in the Putera mag back 2002, I think.

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Untitled-Stitched-02.jpg

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Untitled-Stitched-03.jpg

And this was featured in the NST Cars, Bikes & Trucks, around the same time:

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/rNST.jpg

"Sawasdee krub" everyone

Dear 2o2r and corona_ice,

2 big suprpises, first for "สวัสดีครับ" "Sa-was-dee-krub" means H (Can u see Thai font?)

and 2 for engine shown in attached files

Now, i'm looking for proper engine and interesting "3s" which i ever talked with corona_ice

currently, my car modified... not much

majority, to repair, repair.....repair 5555:bawling: to be poor guy

and when i go back to home (now i'm in office and my boss leave today 555) will take a photograph. For my engine which i don't know how to call? i see latter twincam 16 valve and see caburator near it

Wow! Sifu 2o2r's Corona is so impressive that it had feature articles in car mags and even NST's CBT!:adore: I used to read CBT way back in primary school when it was published every Sunday (don't know whether it's still the same), and cut diff cars out to paste in my scrapbook. Then CBT was no longer published on Sundays anymore, if I'm not mistaken, and sadly I subsequently dropped my "hobby". Anyway, really good work, Sifu Yau! :congrats:

Didn't manage to get the halfcut yet today. Hmm.. I need you guys' frank and honest opinion. Do you all think it's advisable/worth it, and is it a good deal? I really want a 6 speed, and think is one of the best deals so far. Other chopshops either don't give a petrol tank; only an external fuel pump, or are too pricey. Besides, in my ideal world, my engine conversion would be done by the time my exams end on the 10th of June (which looks increasingly unlikely with every day I delay). My foreman has seen the engine and tested it, and seems to think it's "buyable" (now that the questions on mounting which he had earlier are resolved). Besides, I will be getting everything I need, bar the airbag panel cover and new front absorbers (probably from ae92) to support the extra weight of the 4age. However, I would really love to know what you guys think..

Sifu Yau, are those K&Ns what people call "trumpets"? How does it improve performance? I might be interested, but of course only after my conversion is done, if you wouldn't mind..:hmmmm:

Also, I'm wondering how much cushion shops will charge for a simple job of patching up a hole in a dashboard?

Gotta study for bio tmr.. :burnout:

wow bro! that engine looks very familiar!!! love the way it looks in the car!
bout the pictures, u never told anything bout it b4! just wondering where the hell they got the name from...toyota celina! celica = corona???

RR,

Thanks for the kind compliments.

Nope, those are not "trumpets"; more like "clarinet or saxophone". Hahaha. Just kidding. Trumpets are those flared openings which look exactly like a trumpets mouth. The K&Ns are just individual air filters. Trumpets are without a proper air filter, as some will just put in a piece of netting (mesh) to reduce bigger particles from entering the engine. Others are just a "funnel" to improve air flowing into the throttles, which in my opinion is not suitable for everyday use as prolonged use in such manner will destroy yr engine when the dust gets into it.

Sorry about the pix on the engine mountings, couldn't find them & have been bz these few days. Hang on, if I can't find them, I'll snap new ones for you.

wow bro! that engine looks very familiar!!! love the way it looks in the car!
bout the pictures, u never told anything bout it b4! just wondering where the hell they got the name from...toyota celina! celica = corona???/QUOTE]

I was searching for my BT engine mounting pix for RR when I stumble on the old pix, that's why I posted them up.

Yup, you got it right, I combined "Celi"ca with Coro"Na", hence Celina. Sounds quite nice for a girl, right ?:laugh:

Are you interested in the strut bar you saw in the pix ? If you do, I'll sell it to you cheap2 la; but gotta find it first. Afterall, you'll most probably be investing in 1 anyway, right ?

---------- Post added at 10:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:38 PM ----------

"Sawasdee krub" everyone

Dear 2o2r and corona_ice,

2 big suprpises, first for "สวัสดีครับ" "Sa-was-dee-krub" means H (Can u see Thai font?)

and 2 for engine shown in attached files

Now, i'm looking for proper engine and interesting "3s" which i ever talked with corona_ice

currently, my car modified... not much

majority, to repair, repair.....repair 5555:bawling: to be poor guy

and when i go back to home (now i'm in office and my boss leave today 555) will take a photograph. For my engine which i don't know how to call? i see latter twincam 16 valve and see caburator near it

"Kun Kap". "Pai Tin Nai ?"

Sorry I can't read Thai, bro. :biggrin:

Looking forward to yr seeing pix of yr Corona.

Hi brooveryone

dear 2o2r and corona_ice

I only posted for extorrior and wll post engine later

recently, I feel that the enginer room, especcially, front hood is very heat. The water valve (termostrut) was ejected and left a long time. In the first time ejecting it, very cools engine but now, it became very heat...Or this signs is to be engine fails :bawling:

I change a few for sound system. old front very low performane... only one channel receive for FM 555 and not button for playing a cassette tape 5555

please see followling link "Krub"

http://www.thevoice9d.com/car/toyota/corona-xl-01.html

i'm sorry my english is too bad :adore:

"Kob kun krub" <-- Thank you

• IMG-9176-resize.JPG
    IMG-9176-resize.JPG
    40.3 KB · Views: 124
  • IMG-9179-resize.JPG
    IMG-9179-resize.JPG
    24.6 KB · Views: 128
  • IMG-9187-resize.JPG
    IMG-9187-resize.JPG
    11.5 KB · Views: 115
Nice ride, Thai Single :top:

You're into sound system too, like Corona_Ice. He likes to go Boom, Boom, Boom too. Right, bro Shan ?

Thanks for teaching me how to speak Siamese, bro Thai Single. Which part of Thailand are you from ? If somewhere near, maybe we can pay you a visit some day, Corona Convoy to Thailand !:ridinghorse:

Nice ride, Thai Single :top:

You're into sound system too, like Corona_Ice. He likes to go Boom, Boom, Boom too. Right, bro Shan ?

Thanks for teaching me how to speak Siamese, bro Thai Single. Which part of Thailand are you from ? If somewhere near, maybe we can pay you a visit some day, Corona Convoy to Thailand !:ridinghorse:

Why i'dont loggin via facebook but i can log in my office in morning :stupid:

i create new account and change few for user name 555 :stupid:

Now, i live bangkok but my parent have other homes in south of Thailand , "Nakhornsritummarat" provice

now my mom and dad live in that

the sound good for travelling in my home, my dad is very good guideman and very good for english

i think we may have the trip in the future. Jumping the waterfall which is front of my home and another home for eat mangosteen
It's good trip....:biggrin:

Don't worry Mr. 2o2r, take your time with the pics.. =) The "clarinets/saxophones" are very very tempting! Hehe.. Didn't know those strut bars were still available either, but I guess Bro Shan will definitely be baggin those.. Engine not changed yet, but hands are already starting to get itchy! :rofl:

hi every body !:wavey:wow....very happening here until me also itchy oledi thinking of 3sge..but still not the time coz still having fun with my ZE.

hi 202r,remember me that i call u regarding d'dashboard,so how's thing going ....are d'dashboard complete hopefully hear from u soon,btw can u mod d'dashboard in a day if can i would like to travel take a holiday trip there hehehe,if it can be done....

hi sean,so how's ur celina :adore: status is it complete....?when u going to mr yau the?I WILL FOLLOWWWWW YOUUUUUUu hehehehe .

Btw does anybody heard about the ZE with 4 throttle?:hmmmm:

I was searching for my BT engine mounting pix for RR when I stumble on the old pix, that's why I posted them up.

Yup, you got it right, I combined "Celi"ca with Coro"Na", hence Celina. Sounds quite nice for a girl, right ?:laugh:

Are you interested in the strut bar you saw in the pix ? If you do, I'll sell it to you cheap2 la; but gotta find it first. Afterall, you'll most probably be investing in 1 anyway, right ?

:top:for the unique name! bout the strut bars... i can't commit yet...don't know how much for the conversion coming up to... saving for any unexpected surprise! :bawling: so if anybody else need it can go ahead first:bawling::bawling:

i love the idea of the convoy trip! most probably in 3-4months time when my conversion completes!:bawling::bawling:

thaisingle! fantastic looking car! love the customs mods'! the back bumper the best! and you're right 2o2r! i love sound system too! will complete mine also after finishing all the painting work and engine conversion!

vince: i didn't know u will follow me! i thought u would be tied down n unable to follow me! nvr mind my next trip i'll call u up! wah i think mr.yau will be having another double corona gang soon! vince u can have the best of both worlds! a ze and a ge! just get another corona! now standard car only around 3 to 4 k only!:nurse: or a better option, get mr.yau's car! all done ! transfer and drive! for my car...the mechanic just lost a helper so that's a way for him to tell me that the project will be delayed:bawling: for ur case, i think it would be better if u bring the dashboard to ah ming and settle it... nearer to ur house...:burnout:

oh ya...an exciting item for u!http://www.mudah.my/Meter+toyota+corona+tt141-6055878.htm

hi every one,
my corona got some problem,i'm having difficulty in my 5th gear,what i mean here that after engage the 5th gear it seem like it becoming lose..after i leave the throtle..if any of you can help me..im still using the old engine..if any of u want to sell any engine that can fit to my corona...

hi buddy, i'm assuming u're driving a 1.8 carb engine... it sound like the syncromesh is having problems... better check it out...

im using 1.6 carb right now... im thinking of changing into blacktop..is there any problem while changing to that one...and what is the total cost...where can i get them..:love:

ok...so if ur original engine is the 1.6 carb, ur model is at151... putting in a blacktop is eazy! plug and play.... cost of item and fixing is hard to say... many things to calculate in... the engine cost, workmanship, place(kl very expensive) seremban cheaper, like that... so u have to survey a bit to get the best deals... plus u may have to change a few bit from the engine like timing belt like that...

thank you corona_ice

ืnow, i'm saving up for changing the engine. i'm not sure between 3s and 4a engine type
i don't know that changing the engine must compose what components are.

1. radiator
2. turbo
3. air condition
4. Gear
5. .....

Wow Bro Shan, your car gonna take another 3-4 months? For me, I really cannot make it through more than 2 months without my car (especially if I have to make do with an inferior car), so I really salute your patience..:adore:

I was planning to ask you to come along with me to pay Mr. Yau a visit after my conversion is done.. I've gotten a BT 6 speed halfcut, it's at my mechanic's now and he'll start the project on Monday. Hope everything will go smoothly..:biggrin:

Mohdhaireenezhaam, my ae111 BZR/BZG (not sure which one it is) Blacktop 6 speed halfcut cost 5.5k together with bodyparts. Just got it on Friday. Most chopshops will sell the halfcut without bodyparts, which are irrelevant for our Corona's anyway. Most Blacktop 5 speed MT halfcuts are priced in the range of 3.8k to 4.5k without bodyparts in KL, and most do not provide a fuel tank; only an external fuel pump. I'm not very sure of the price of AT halfcuts, wouldn't be able to tell you the price of floor engine+gearbox either, really sorry. The total estimated cost of my BT upgrade is around 10k and probably more.

I'll be putting up my stock 4A-L/4A-C engine and gearbox from my Corona AT151 for sale soon.:listen: The engine drives well and gears change smoothly, certainly no loosening of 5th gear like you are experiencing. If you're interested, let me know so I can drop you a PM with my number. You can even come over to see and test drive the engine before it is removed from my car to make way for the Blacktop.