ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

after raya is g8 for me too atleast mite get my payy yippeeeyayeee....
bro how ah anyone got the hub caps?

oh ya 2O2R ur old engine u just dump away ha... at least can sell to me cheap cheap or instalment plan....

after raya is g8 for me too atleast mite get my payy yippeeeyayeee....
bro how ah anyone got the hub caps?

oh ya 2O2R ur old engine u just dump away ha... at least can sell to me cheap cheap or instalment plan....

No lar, bro. I don't have those hub caps lar.

Hahaha...I'm keeping my old engine as a spare. The engine's still in good condition. It has now clocked 230+k kms but the Mobil 1 should keep it a good shape. Many people have asked for my old engine, ever since they heard I got myself a new engine but no, I'm not selling it. Sorry...

Actually I've made a mistake. I shouldn't have bought a BT engine for my wife's car. I could've just transfer my present engine over... & saved myself some money.:banghead::banghead:

2o2r,

any recomendation on oil type for 20v's? The japan manual says use 10w-30 (for our temp range here) but to me seems like it's too thin.. im using currently on penzoil 20w-50 (mineral base/blend)

btw, u mentioned earlier about new engine? what u put in? 3s-gte?:biggrin:

2o2r,

any recomendation on oil type for 20v's? The japan manual says use 10w-30 (for our temp range here) but to me seems like it's too thin.. im using currently on penzoil 20w-50 (mineral base/blend)

btw, u mentioned earlier about new engine? what u put in? 3s-gte?:biggrin:

I think 20w-50 is a bit too thick. Maybe you should try 10/15w-40/50 semi synthetic or go for fully synthetic lor. I been using Mobil 1 from day one on my engines & change every 5k km. So hopefully that'll keep them healthy.

My new engine's also 3S-GE, NA only but just slightly newer model; like 4A-GE 16v upgrade to BT lor.

Im currently using Sharlu 10W/30 semi-syn on my BT. Ran it over 1000km so far and yet the oil level remains the same. Gonna flush it out soon for 5W/30. IMO, BT needs a very thin/light engine oil to perform well. BT is a ligthened engine designed for high revving. So its best to use the thinnest engine oil that you can afford. Not necessary to use full-syn coz you are going to change engine oil over 3000km or 5000km afterall.

mobil 1?!
how much?!
i tot mobil 1 can tahan up 2 10k-km... :hmmmm:

Mobil 1 is selling for RM 175 / 4 litres in my place. I think most synthetic oil nowadays can withstand 10k km but you know lar, we being petrol heads... sayang our engines very much, so better change at a shorter interval lor. If normal driving, seldom rev till redline, I think 10k km should ok kua but for us...better change earlier lar...:laugh:

Even the Mobil 1 I use, after 5k km you can feel the difference already if you don't change it. It'll begin to feel a little sluggish after 5k km. Last time I tried the Mobil 1 Gold, more expensive but worse ! The viscosity is 0w-40, after 3k km, you can straight away feel the difference. It'll start to feel sluggish already. I think the silver one's better.

202R...
i believed we r juz an ordinary petrol head...
lucky we r not turbo head!!!
LOLx...
hope 2 c ur monsteR NA asAP...

Wow... Mobil 1 quite expensive oh... not afford to use it le...
I'm using Elf 15w/50, change every 4k km... Damn good...

202R...
i believed we r juz an ordinary petrol head...
lucky we r not turbo head!!!
LOLx...
hope 2 c ur monsteR NA asAP...

:laugh: I agree with you, bro.

Wow... Mobil 1 quite expensive oh... not afford to use it le...
I'm using Elf 15w/50, change every 4k km... Damn good...

I think any branded oil is good enough; provided the interval of change is not prolonged. Honestly, I wouldn't really know if Mobil 1 is as good they claim but I've just been using it for most of cars for many, many years already. So I'm just lazy to switch brands, that's all.

Just like me having the same wife for so many years but still didn't change yet ! :rofl::rofl:

:laugh:
I think any branded oil is good enough; provided the interval of change is not prolonged. Honestly, I wouldn't really know if Mobil 1 is as good they claim but I've just been using it for most of cars for many, many years already. So I'm just lazy to switch brands, that's all.

Just like me having the same wife for so many years but still didn't change yet ! :rofl::rofl:

I agree with this...:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

2o2r,

earlier about the ae92 rear disc conversion, rear springs also must change to ae92's eh? Or can still use the old one. Planning to change soon, bored of those old drums :biggrin:

2o2r,

earlier about the ae92 rear disc conversion, rear springs also must change to ae92's eh? Or can still use the old one. Planning to change soon, bored of those old drums :biggrin:

Wow, it's been a long time since I last used the standard ST150 springs. If I remember correctly, the springs will definately fit into the AE92 absorbers but there're a little bit smaller in diameter than the AE92's & the AE92's a little smaller than the AE101's. So the conclusion is; they'll fit.

It's the other way round if you want to use the AE 101 springs on the standard Corona absorber; they won't fit the bottom spring cup holder coz the AE 101 spring's a little bigger, like I said.

Good luck in yr conversion :top:

bro ive been thinking those big camrys rite the one from the 90s got 2.2engines could i use those instead og 3sge engine i saw one very cheap in old klang road?

Those 2.2 engines found in the Camrys are called 5S-FE. If I remember correctly, those engines produces only about 140-150 ps & 18-19 kgm of torque. Their engine mountings are different from the original 1S in the ST150. So I don't think they'll fit into the ST150 chasis w/o some mod done to the engine mountings. Overall, I don't think it's such a good idea, bro.

Wow, it's been a long time since I last used the standard ST150 springs. If I remember correctly, the springs will definately fit into the AE92 absorbers but there're a little bit smaller in diameter than the AE92's & the AE92's a little smaller than the AE101's. So the conclusion is; they'll fit.

It's the other way round if you want to use the AE 101 springs on the standard Corona absorber; they won't fit the bottom spring cup holder coz the AE 101 spring's a little bigger, like I said.

I see, thx again bro. That being the case, i'll be looking for ae92's then. Btw, does bigger springs means its not as stiff as smaller ones? or just the same?Dont really emphasis much about handling just the comfort level :biggrin:

Actually i was planning to replace my stock rear springs to stock also before i convert rear discs. It broke (one loop) already :argh:

I see, thx again bro. That being the case, i'll be looking for ae92's then. Btw, does bigger springs means its not as stiff as smaller ones? or just the same?Dont really emphasis much about handling just the comfort level :biggrin:

Actually i was planning to replace my stock rear springs to stock also before i convert rear discs. It broke (one loop) already :argh:

No lar, stock springs tak keras mana nye la. Should be about the same. So don't worry.

What you carry la wei, until spring patah ? Leaf spring I biasa dengar patah le, but coil spring pun boleh patah.....:adore::adore:...cayalah.:rofl::rofl:

camry 2.2 5SFE... another ecomonical project... yeah~ :beer:
my fren did it for his wife 2 send the kids 2 skul...
he used back the ori 150 drive shafts, mountings n brackets...
others... not clear... :smile:

bro where did ur fren do this conversion i might need to have a chat wif the mec. or i should call the the mechanic an engineer coz he is daring to this type of conversion. i just cant afford to buy a 3sge all still above my limit plus the half cut shops all tell me the same thing all the engine mesti kena use kaw kaw in japan b4 coming down but those camrys should be better coz of the nature from where these engine comes from a family car....