ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

brothers... last week went to penang n my clutch bearing broke.... i don't know for sure but was charged RM691 for all...
1)clutch plate
2)clutch cover
3)clutch bearing
4)oil seal
5)gear oil
6)spark plug
7)labour charge RM160
what do u guys think correct or got ripped off? coz this guy wants to do up my standard engine... he will change my carburettor to mitsu's change the piston rings and grand valve and also to a elecrtonic distributor ....all in all will charge in the ball park figure of RM1600.....
guys plz advise.....

It's difficult to compare prices of different places. What's done, done. so just be grateful that he didn't charge you more than that. Heard of the saying,"It could've been worse." Hehehe.

That's the past, let's talk about the future: If you ask for my opinion, I'd tell you not to waste your money on the original engine. Even if you spend another RM 3200 on it, it's still an old engine; meaning in terms of technology & it's not a performance built in mind engine.

If you're short on budget, why don't you be patient & wait a little longer & get a halfcut instead ? Or even a on a lower budget, you may find a floor unit. The halfcut for 16v & Silver top's only about RM 2+k. It may sound like a little more than the RM 1.6k you intend to spend but it's going to worth it as it'll take you a long time before it condemns. Probably the engine will outlast the car body lar; in our case.

Been down that road before, bro. It ain't worth it, I'm telling you.

haha...will try but so far in KL also hard to get lo....

Yeah, I understand. Those days before people knew that the ST150 arb fits the LE, they were just thrown around coz not many ST150 Coronas will look for them coz it comes standard; except the 1.6 version (AT151) that came without and knowing Corona owners, usually Ah Peks like me, how many will go buy the arb & fit them on their cars, right ?

Now thanks to the LE craze, evrything that has connection to LEs, prices shoot up like nobody's bzness. :laugh:

2O2R, thats why will need to change to Corona la...
heheheh....

Yeah, I understand. Those days before people knew that the ST150 arb fits the LE, they were just thrown around coz not many ST150 Coronas will look for them coz it comes standard; except the 1.6 version (AT151) that came without and knowing Corona owners, usually Ah Peks like me, how many will go buy the arb & fit them on their cars, right ?

Now thanks to the LE craze, evrything that has connection to LEs, prices shoot up like nobody's bzness. :laugh:

oh....if you tersepak or saw at chopshop do tell me...can pm me...been finding from cheras to sungai besi area...still cannot find...getting rare

2O2R, thats why will need to change to Corona la...
heheheh....

Corona parts are cheaper & is slightly easier to get as compared to LEs but it's also getting rare nowadays. That's why when I see any nice parts, I'll sapu & keep lor.

oh....if you tersepak or saw at chopshop do tell me...can pm me...been finding from cheras to sungai besi area...still cannot find...getting rare

Will keep an eye out for you. Finding parts are mostly by chance lar. I just bought 1 arb for my wife's BT a few mths ago. The best part was, I wasn't even searching for it. Saw 1 hanging there, so just take it lor. when you're not looking for it, there's always plenty around but once you want it, you'll never find 1 ! Dunno why :hmmmm:.

True, when we don't need them, they seems to appear everywhere...when we need them...seach like hell also cannot get them...

yalor....a few months back tctho selling...dun wancos no budget...now just got budget, poof gone oredi....cilakat punye....:stupid:

bro the anti roll bar is standard equipment or is it upgrade for coronaz

Standard la wei, I don't think there were ever any performance parts built for the ST150 Corona la. Well, at least I don't see it in the TRD catalogue, nor have I ever came across any other performance part manufacturer that produced any go-faster parts for the ST150 Corona.:sleep:

It's not built with performance in mind, period. :listen: It's meant for Uncles like me.

uncles like u who convert to better and faster heart...
and only use v-power racing petrol...hehehe

uncles like u who convert to better and faster heart...
and only use v-power racing petrol...hehehe

No choice mar, can't afford to buy new car. So just make do with what I have lor & along the way, I got carried away when doing improvements. At first, I only wanted to make it trouble free & won't breakdown in the middle of nowhere, then I want to make it faster, then I want it handle better, then I want it to :driver: outrun a EVo..........:stupid: :laugh::laugh::laugh:

bro to 2old 2rusty..
me got problem here...my at151 got problem in handling..when driving fast, my car feels like going little bit left and right..drive shaft change oredi(BT), tie rod change oredi, rims oredi repair, alignment oredi, skim disk rotor oredi,bearing left n right change new, change chop shop lower arm..what else??? izzit bushing???headache oredi la bro..

from the edit link than can add all of what u want.....
peace...to ...the ....coronas......
remember vin diesel's line u can be whoever u r but when ur with us it's always a corona....
now i talking nuts.....

bro to 2old 2rusty..
me got problem here...my at151 got problem in handling..when driving fast, my car feels like going little bit left and right..drive shaft change oredi(BT), tie rod change oredi, rims oredi repair, alignment oredi, skim disk rotor oredi,bearing left n right change new, change chop shop lower arm..what else??? izzit bushing???headache oredi la bro..

This zig zag thing happened just recently or has been there all the while ? Is yr tyre wear even ? You also didn't mention about yr shock absorbers.

I think most of the parts you changed have very little to do with the zig zagging la, bro. The alignment, yes. Even the bushes shouldn't cause it to zig zag, I think. Has yr been involved in any accidents before ?

I'm no expert but maybe you should be looking into the shock absorbers or tyres. Send it to mech to get it checked la, dangerous la like that.

Or are you drunk driving zig zag ?:rofl: Just kidding, ya.... cabut.