ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

2o2r ur engine done alredy or not....u must be itchy to test the engine rite..... by the way i am shy to ask but what is beams stand for?

Helping bro 2O2R to post... bro corona_ice, you can visit this website http://lander.tuning.cz/beams.htm for more info on the engine that's being transplanted into his Corona :adore:

What you carry la wei, until spring patah ? Leaf spring I biasa dengar patah le, but coil spring pun boleh patah.....:adore::adore:...cayalah.:rofl::rofl:

hahaha... i dun carry anything heavy, it was rusted so bad till break off when i took out to change the adsorber, both rear ones at that :rofl:

btw seen the link given by pcmoddingmy, nice engine 2o2r :top:

bro where did ur fren do this conversion i might need to have a chat wif the mec. or i should call the the mechanic an engineer coz he is daring to this type of conversion. i just cant afford to buy a 3sge all still above my limit plus the half cut shops all tell me the same thing all the engine mesti kena use kaw kaw in japan b4 coming down but those [COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot][COLOR=blue ! important][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot]camrys[/FONT][/FONT][/COLOR][/COLOR] should be better coz of the nature from where these engine comes from a family car....

The conversion is not that complicated but like I said, PUSPAKOM's very strict nowadays, unlike those days when everything under the sun goes. The original engine mountings of the Camry's much bigger than those of the Corona. So I was wondering if the Corona mountings are used, will they last ? Road tax is RM 544/yr.

3S-GE's used kaw-kaw before sent here ? Don't know which halfcut shop you spoke to lar but if every shop say like that, then I don't know what to say for those Vtecs & turbo engines lor.... I think the main reason they say that is because they they don't have a 3S-GE halfcut with them, simple as that. What about Levin halfcuts, did you ask them if the halfcuts they have has been used kaw-kaw before sent here ? :idea: If that's the case, it should be worth less than RM 500 only lor, ask them to sell to you lar, see if they've anything to say ! :biggrin: Don't believe everything you hear, bro.

Helping bro 2O2R to post... bro corona_ice, you can visit this website http://lander.tuning.cz/beams.htm for more info on the engine that's being transplanted into his Corona :adore:

Hahaha. Thanks for the help, bro PCmod.:shakehands:.

Not that anxious this time lar, don't know why. Maybe because it's not the first time (this is my 3rd engine transplant already). Just curious about its performance, that's all. It's like your first time ****** lar, very nervous but after married & 3 kids, no more surprises anymore.:flute::rofl:

hahaha... i dun carry anything heavy, it was rusted so bad till break off when i took out to change the adsorber, both rear ones at that :rofl:

btw seen the link given by pcmoddingmy, nice engine 2o2r :top:

Orr....thought what you carry until spring patah.:rofl: Thanks for the kind compliment, bro.:biggrin:

Corona_ice, I've taken some pix of the Camry engine. Will post it up later to give you a better idea of what I'm talking about ;)

Corona_ice,

Here's the Camry engine you've been talking about, right ?

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Image251.jpg

And here's the front engine mounting of the cross member:

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Image248.jpg

Please take a look at your original ST150 Corona mounting & compare its size. I think the engineers at Toyota didn't just fit a bigger engine mounting for fun if it wasn't needed, don't you think ?

The following is the pic of the engine mounting on the timing belt side. This is not so crucial coz you can use back the ST150 mounting, like sifu Kanazai2001 said.

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Image250.jpg

The weight will be more felt at the bottom, so I feel that the smaller engine mountings will not last, even if they fit.

Then again, like I said before; I'm no expert. So please don't shoot me. I'm only trying to help. In other words; "keh por" (busybody).:biggrin:

don't worry i don't shoot coz i ask the most stupidest questions so i should be the last to actually shoot anybody.... bro what u said is true, i didn't even ask if the engine used kaw kaw mean should be cheaper damn!.... and also thanks for actually searching the pics for the camry engine... and yes the mountings are quite big ... but if not mistaken i remember when i changed my clutch the mec took of the bottom engine cross member to get acsess to the gear box maybe there could be a way to change that to the camrys cross member... never mind i think i'll ask the half cut shop if they can recommend a guy to get it done... the last time when i went to change my moms engine they got me a guy and gave me a warrenty for the workmanship. never thought changing an engine has so much problems... only if i was in the usa anything and everything can do......with money of coz..

No lar, I didn't take the trouble to search for the Camry's pix. I just went outside of my office & opened my colleagues car & took those pix with my handphone; that's why you see the lousy pic quality. Hehehe.

Actually, those first batch Camrys are quite cheap nowadays; you can get one for only about RM 20k. It's not really worth to spend so much on the ST150 Corona anymore. On the market, our Coronas are almost worthless these days.

If you're not much of a speed freak, might as well get yourself a better & much newer car like the Camry we mentioned. I know, if I have the money, I will.:biggrin:

sorry... was bZ wif field works... :mad:

bout the camry 5SFE into st150... what u need is complete floor unit... coz others r juz rubbish except the disc brakes (sell 2 mi if u dun want =P) n cv joint... if u decided to upgrade ur a/c control system, then u need de halfcut wiring... :idea:

all engine/gB brackets n mountings muz use back the ori st150... coz of camry super wide chassis... camry engines (5SFE, 1MZFE or 2MZFE or 3MZFE, 3VZFE; not the AZ/GR series onward) r mounted almost identical 2 FR car... thus the timing belt side engine mount is juz a small thin "holder" (should b damper but this way is cheaper)... :slug:

final... im not sifu... :stupido2:

anyone hav 5SFE 2 donate?! :biggrin:

202R...
yea... SXV10 camry is cheap... but is depend what u wan... shot gun or big fat gozilla?!
camry is bulky n heavy... it is a natural born FATTY!!! it cannt b slim down... although i like the comfort of the camry... =P

202R...
yea... SXV10 camry is cheap... but is depend what u wan... shot gun or big fat gozilla?!
camry is bulky n heavy... it is a natural born FATTY!!! it cannt b slim down... although i like the comfort of the camry... =P

Hahaha. I do agree with you on the Camry's size. It's one Big Momma.:rofl: I've a soft spot for big cars nowadays, must the age catching up with me. Know what, I've been dreaming of the old Merc S class W140 model:

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/w140_wald.jpg

It's about RM 60k in the market these days. :idea:Get a 2JZ-GTE with auto trans & dump it inside. Swooosh..... VIP/Mafia/Yakuza style.:biggrin:

YEA!!! giv mi 5...
i DAMN like VIP cars...
instead of merc...
my eyes on cefiro...
18" VIP extreme offset wheels - no problem!!!
really LOW DOWN adjustable susp - no problem!!!
really FxCKING cOOL VIP skirts - FxCK!!! i Lovin it...
3 liters V6 - suX... no $$$ 2 pay roadtax... LOLx...

Ya lor, want to be VIP, must pay for it lor. If not, how to become VIP ? Hahaha. I also no $$ to pay for the 3 litre road tax..... so cannot become VIP lor.

1. Buying the car is a one time affair, to maintain it, is a long term thing wor.

2. If a salary man like me drive a S Class Merc; even if the value of the car's not expensive, my Boss & my colleagues' eyes sure sakit one.:thefinger: Then you knowlah, office politics, this guy cucuk abit, that guy cucuk abit....koyak:reddy:.

Then I become "Very Intensive Pokai".

i like that "TRANSLATION"!!! :biggrin:

how was ur "type R" progression?!
hopefully still hav chance 2 smell ur smoke... :adore:

Hahaha.....ayam brand type R. Wei sifu, don't be so humble lar. I also keep asking & learning from you :adore:, where dare to smoke you :biggrin:.

Here's a couple of shots taken a few days back; not much of progress. Moving at :slug:'s pace....sigh...

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/3.jpg

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/1.jpg

Still in a mess...

I'm doing my conversion in S'wan. Nope, my engine's not from a MR2. The MR2's my friend's car, he's also changing his engine.

It depends, if you're converting from the same model, then it's just plug & play but if's from a totally different model, i.e. in my case, then of course more work is involved.

In my case, most of the modding is on the dashboard part only. Engine wise, is p&p.

Yeah, started since last week but not much progress:slug:. I also fed up to go & see already. After 1 week+, still pretty much the same:sleep:. Don't bother lar, just as long as he does a good job; which is most important to me.