ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

Hi all.. im also using St150... svt inside

just want to ask a 2old2rusty few things:

-wat brand of stock adsorbers that i good for this model
-you said way way earlier, that st150 can use rear ae92 suspension parts. Do u mean the whole susp. or just some?
- can use rear disc be used also?

sry if my questions seem silly, im totaly blur about this model in terms of suspensions.

Hi all.. im also using St150... svt inside

just want to ask a 2old2rusty few things:

-wat brand of stock adsorbers that i good for this model
-you said way way earlier, that st150 can use rear ae92 suspension parts. Do u mean the whole susp. or just some?
- can use rear disc be used also?

sry if my questions seem silly, im totaly blur about this model in terms of suspensions.

Hi Metaru, nice to have you here.

AE92 suspension parts.

Yes, I said that AE92 rear absorbers can be used on the ST150; provided you are already using the AE92 rear disc brakes or knuckles. If you're still using drum brakes, then you can't use the AE92 absorbers.

Original ST150 knuckles are the same with the EE80/AE82, so they share the same absorbers.

However, in your case, I guess you've already fitted your rear with the AE101 disc brakes coz you're having a SVT engine. So you can use either AE101/111 absorbers coz no point going backwards & use the older AE92's. AE92 rear springs are a little smaller in diameter, if I'm no mistaken but it can still be fitted, if you insist.

So to clear things up, the ST150 can only use the AE92 absorbers only if you've fitted disc brakes. Other than that, the lower arms & other parts of the AE92 will NOT fit the ST150.

Rear disc brakes.

As for the rear disc brakes, the AE92 will fit the ST150; provided you have changed the knuckles to AE92 as well but after that, you'll have to change the absorbers to AE92's as well la.

Is your car not fitted with a set of rear disc brakes yet, bro ?

Which brand of absorbers is good for this model ?

This is a tough question to answer, bro. It's very subjective; meaning what do you mean by "good". Good in the sense of comfort or good in the sense of handling or you mean lasting ?

Don't worry about asking silly questions, bro. :listen: I'm no pro either. We just share what we know, that's all.

oh i see...

btw im still using rear drums, no budget yet to change.. currently braking is so bad when i speed then brake hard, my front disc come out smoke :laugh: , the fronts are ae101 btw.

any ideas how much typically a ae92 rear disc convertion costs in whole?

oh, as for the absorbers, i meant by reliableness/lasting.

oh i see...

btw im still using rear drums, no budget yet to change.. currently braking is so bad when i speed then brake hard, my front disc come out smoke :laugh: , the fronts are ae101 btw.

any ideas how much typically a ae92 rear disc convertion costs in whole?

oh, as for the absorbers, i meant by reliableness/lasting.

Orr...no wonder you're asking. So the PUSPAKOM inspection no problem ?

Honestly, I think by changing the rear disc brakes will not help much in improving your braking but how on earth you can managed to brake till they smoke, beats me.

The AE92 rear disc brakes including the knuckles is around RM 300+/- these days. If you want bigger discs, you can use the AE101/111's rear disc brakes but you'll have to buy / use the AE92 knuckles coz the AE101/111 ones won't fit our car. So meaning more money is to be spent lor.

I did the same on my wife's car but I couldn't get them to sell me the AE92 knuckles alone, so I had to buy one AE92 brake set & just to use the knuckles to mate with the AE111 calipers & discs.

If you talk about lasting, I think there's 2 brands in the market that are still Japan made; namely Tokico (some are local made, so pls check) & Paraut. I think they should outlast those local made.

hehe... not endorsed yet... long story...

the smokin brakes when i try to stop from 170-180... i guess the drums arent helping much when it comes to my driving style:biggrin:.

I think i'll go for the ae92 + ae101 brake stuff... may cost more but surely worthit, and thx for the info. I'll have to scout around for those though:hmmmm:

Currently im using kayaba rears and monroe fronts... pretty "wavy" when driving around 120

btw, any chance there'll be a corona meet? really like to meed other corona users :rolleyes:

oh really? but i didnt post anything on youtube:hmmmm:

you still got the link, i like to see it heheh

corona_ice, i agree.. if can organize meet-up better weekends :biggrin:

oh about the youtube, it was 2 old's car... i did watch it sometime ago, nice one 2 old :proud:

btw, corona_ice where u stayin at?

hehe... not endorsed yet... long story...

the smokin brakes when i try to stop from 170-180... i guess the drums arent helping much when it comes to my driving style:biggrin:.

I think i'll go for the ae92 + ae101 brake stuff... may cost more but surely worthit, and thx for the info. I'll have to scout around for those though:hmmmm:

Currently im using kayaba rears and monroe fronts... pretty "wavy" when driving around 120

btw, any chance there'll be a corona meet? really like to meed other corona users :rolleyes:

A piece of friendly advise, bro. You had better get it endorsed coz if it meets with any accidents, I'm sure it's gonna be much longer story.

I'm using Tokico (Japan) on my wife's BT & it's quite ok lar, not "wavy", even speeds up to 180 km/h; of course straights only lar but if wanna zig zag then bye-bye.

Is your AT151 fitted with a front anti-roll bar ? It helps a lot. If not, get yourself one fitted. I'm sure you can feel the difference.

bro the other day u put on ur sign the youtube video look like metaru's car only.....

oh about the youtube, it was 2 old's car... i did watch it sometime ago, nice one 2 old :proud:

Yup, Corona_ice, that vidoe clip from youtube's my car some donkey yrs ago before I changed color. Thanks for kind compliment, metaru.

A Corona meet would be a great thing to happen :biggrin:, so pls make it happen, guys !

dont worry so much...
what u need to do is look for a good wire-man to connect those sockets to match the body wiring n the engine loom...

others... straight forward... no mounting need 2 b mod... all r used back ur ori ST150 ori engine mountings, drive shaft...

r u getting the MT or AT?! hope u got the MT... ^^

Hi coroners...

Sorry to enter-frame a bit, actually I'm looking 4 a corona AT190/150 stock rear spring for my ae101. I need the spring coz I heard that it will fit ae101 directly & my stock spring cannot stand the extra weight of my NGV tank, one more thing is it's higher than ae101 spring. Anybody hv it pls let me know by pm or 019-286 5497

Thanks guys

dont worry so much...
what u need to do is look for a good wire-man to connect those sockets to match the body wiring n the engine loom...

others... straight forward... no mounting need 2 b mod... all r used back ur ori ST150 ori engine mountings, drive shaft...

r u getting the MT or AT?! hope u got the MT... ^^

Thanks for the advise, sifu.

Hi coroners...

Sorry to enter-frame a bit, actually I'm looking 4 a corona AT190/150 stock rear spring for my ae101. I need the spring coz I heard that it will fit ae101 directly & my stock spring cannot stand the extra weight of my NGV tank, one more thing is it's higher than ae101 spring. Anybody hv it pls let me know by pm or 019-286 5497

Thanks guys

:hmmmm: Err... don't really get what you mean la, bro. You are looking for the ST190 or ST150 spring ? If you want a stiffer spring to sustain the extra weight, then forget about the ST150 springs. There're soft as tofu.

The ST190 Corona was not introduced here in M'sia but there're available in S'pore. I've not seen those springs around or maybe I wasn't paying attention but I don't think they're much stiffer. I tried a pair, not sure if it's from the ST171 or 190 but they're not any better than the stock ones.

I think it's best you shop around at chop shops & see if there're any "fatter" springs that fit yr car. I think almost all Toyota kakis complaint about the stock suspension being too soft as they're more tuned for comfort in mind.

metaru i'm staying in sunway oppo pyramid... u bro? btw u can call me shan...
for me as long as in klang valley and nites fine coz currently working mornings and studying at nites....

bro i'm looking for the stock rim cover for my car one of it droped off looks like this....if anyone got plz inform me...will buy from u...

metaru i'm staying in sunway oppo pyramid... u bro? btw u can call me shan...
for me as long as in klang valley and nites fine coz currently working mornings and studying at nites....

shan, im currently in cyberjaya (working+staying). yeah have to be nites too cos im working from morn. to 6... i think a meet after raya would be great eh?

2o2r, you gt body plastic linings (at doors) for sale? also the front suspension arm? my arm longar already :biggrin:

i think a meet after raya would be great eh?

Meeting up after Raya would be great coz I've got a new engine to show off :laugh:.

Sorry Metaru, my old door linings are in bad condition, so I dumped them together with the doors.

You don't have to change the whole front lower arms, bro. Basically, there're only 2 bushes that wear out all the time; 1 big (rear) & 1 small (front). Just buy the bushes from the spare parts shop & replace them. They need to pressed in using a jack & becareful when you jack them or they'll get spoiled if not done properly. If possible, get original bushes, if not, at least made in Japan ones coz if you take cap ayam ones, they won't last.

Shan, you live in Sunway ? I was there only yesterday. I go there quite often coz there're many performance shops around that area. Next time I'm there, I'll give you a call. PM me yr hp no, k.

Meeting up after Raya would be great coz I've got a new engine to show off :laugh:.

haha, nice ... looking forward to see it 2o2r :biggrin:

Sorry Metaru, my old door linings are in bad condition, so I dumped them together with the doors.

oh ok, just thought i would ask if u had any :)

You don't have to change the whole front lower arms, bro. Basically, there're only 2 bushes that wear out all the time; 1 big (rear) & 1 small (front). Just buy the bushes from the spare parts shop & replace them. They need to pressed in using a jack & becareful when you jack them or they'll get spoiled if not done properly. If possible, get original bushes, if not, at least made in Japan ones coz if you take cap ayam ones, they won't last.

ooo alright, thx for that info, saved me a ton of money cos bushes are way cheaper.