ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

"You don't have to take the whole cow home if you just wanted milk." ... this is a very good sentence came from master of master: 2O2R... :adore:

anyway... who is going 2 get a ST185 3SGTE halfcut for his ST150?! share share?! :slug:

wah, sifu Kanazai, long time no see. How are you ?

That "Don't have to take the whole cow home if you only needed milk" advise was given to me by my bachelor friends to me when I wanted to get married ! Hahaha. You get what I mean ? :rofl::rofl::rofl:

I regret not listening to that advise....:rofl:

Nobody's getting a ST185 lar. Talam_buruk already has a monster 3S-GTE under his Corona hood. Now he's just looking for piston rings.

Ey sifu, your friend how ? The M/T gear box swap story ? Any news ?:wavey:

wah so damn rich this eddy la...

wei...bila mau join TT la....always say wanted to come but did not even reply my sms..apa cerita ni....

wow! i haven't been on line for a long time n the pages has just been addin up!
my cars heart has finally decided to give up on me slowly... :banghead: goin to do an overhoul coz i don't think i can maintain a turbo engine with my heavy rite foot... 2o2r any last minute advise what to look out for? i won't be changin my engine thou...

2o2r: Heheh, im not kaya loh, im just after the torque but dont want SC's :biggrin: ... also like to maintain the svt setup (4throttles, 20v, vvt). Im still researching abt these BOT's, seems complicated (not familiar to forced induction stuf).

Talam: If do decice to go to 3S, i'll give u a mail, thx for the offer bro. U mentioned St150 parts? Do you have these? :

-Front left and/or right side lamps, the one beside the main lights.
-Door & fender plastic linings
-Rear bonnet reverse lamp

Also u guys know what model (car) the FR version of the 3s-ge comes from? apart from altezza.

wow! i haven't been on line for a long time n the pages has just been addin up!
my cars heart has finally decided to give up on me slowly... :banghead: goin to do an overhoul coz i don't think i can maintain a turbo engine with my heavy rite foot... 2o2r any last minute advise what to look out for? i won't be changin my engine thou...

Hi Corona_ice,

Long time no hear, how are you, man ?

If you want to convert your engine, it may not be a turbo mar. NA also can mar, like mine.

Maybe you'd want to compare the price/cost of overhaulin' & engine conversion lor. Overhauling would probably cost you about RM 2k; depending on how extensive is the job & parts change lar. If it's a complete build up with genuine parts, it'll probably exceed RM 2k. Then you'll get a tip top engine....full stop.

Although an engine conversion with a halfcut will definately cost more than that but you'll have to also consider the fact that you'll be getting "half a car" worth of parts much newer than your present one wor...not to mention a much more powerful & fuel efficient than your old engine.

However, end of the day, the final decision is yours, bro. Good luck on which ever option you choose.

2o2r: Heheh, im not kaya loh, im just after the torque but dont want SC's :biggrin: ... also like to maintain the svt setup (4throttles, 20v, vvt). Im still researching abt these BOT's, seems complicated (not familiar to forced induction stuf).
It's not that complicated, just bring your money & leave the complications & headache to your mechanic...:rofl:

Other than Altezza.....:dontknow:

yeah true 2o2r, but the parts i like to choose myself hehe ... havent asked my mech yet abt this maybe 2nite i go ask... im worried about the compression (10.5:1), seems a bit high :hmmmm:

You should be using GZE (SC) pistons for turbo conversions, so you need not worry about the compression issue. If you want to go further, you can still use a thicker metal gasket to lower to compression.

If you torque is what you're after, I think you need not get a big turbo. Just go for a smaller turbine but if possible, get a ball bearing turbine. Then you'll get your kick earlier.

Intercooler wise, go for the top mount; less lag. From a SC / 3S-GTE should be sufficient.

I don't know if other turbo sifus will agree with me on this set up but this is what I'll do if I'm going turbo coz I'm going for drivability rather than all out power.

you should have nice corona JDM parts for sale right toyotaburuk...

Wah, what parts....? :listen: I'm trying to make time to paying you guys up north a visit soon.:driver:

Looking forward to meeting you guys soon & pass the strut bar to Wan.

yup....i have side lamp for ST150..1 set JDM spec(small lamp).....grill JDM like mr sifu.....hehehe,if u want something..just p me.

You should be using GZE (SC) pistons for turbo conversions, so you need not worry about the compression issue. If you want to go further, you can still use a thicker metal gasket to lower to compression.

If you torque is what you're after, I think you need not get a big turbo. Just go for a smaller turbine but if possible, get a ball bearing turbine. Then you'll get your kick earlier.

Intercooler wise, go for the top mount; less lag. From a SC / 3S-GTE should be sufficient.

I don't know if other turbo sifus will agree with me on this set up but this is what I'll do if I'm going turbo coz I'm going for drivability rather than all out power.

Yeah, most ppl dump either those GZE pistons with/or 1.5mm metal gaskets (dunno whether single 1.5 or combination) ... i wonder if the 16v head gaskest would fit?

2o2r, tend to agree with u. Top mount intercooler seems to be the way 2 go considering the space issues, and yeah its less lag cos shorter piping distance.

The turbine im looking for is Garret TDO5H, good specs and reliability though havent seen it in real life bfore lol. Not many turbo mitsi where i am, mostly NA's.

yup....i have side lamp for ST150..1 set JDM spec(small lamp).....grill JDM like mr sifu.....hehehe,if u want something..just p me.

Thanks for the offer, bro. If I need anything, I'll contact you.

Yeah, most ppl dump either those GZE pistons with/or 1.5mm metal gaskets (dunno whether single 1.5 or combination) ... i wonder if the 16v head gaskest would fit?

2o2r, tend to agree with u. Top mount intercooler seems to be the way 2 go considering the space issues, and yeah its less lag cos shorter piping distance.

The turbine im looking for is Garret TDO5H, good specs and reliability though havent seen it in real life bfore lol. Not many turbo mitsi where i am, mostly NA's.

I think 20v & 16v head gaskets are different.

I don't think the TD05 is a ball bearing turbine, Naz. As far as reliability issues are concerned, I think if you're not greedy & over boost it, it should have no problems. It also depends very much on how you address the fuel issue.

What management are you going to use, Naz ?

I'm no expert on turbo. I think you should contact Talam_buruk. He has a 3S-GTE inside his Corona with all the goodies...

I think 20v & 16v head gaskets are different.

I don't think the TD05 is a ball bearing turbine, Naz. As far as reliability issues are concerned, I think if you're not greedy & over boost it, it should have no problems. It also depends very much on how you address the fuel issue.

What management are you going to use, Naz ?

I'm no expert on turbo. I think you should contact Talam_buruk. He has a 3S-GTE inside his Corona with all the goodies...

yeah i also think tdo5h aint ball bearing type. Im not going for horses so no overboosting here :biggrin:

as for management, a bit blurr cos still on stock svt a/t spec... though im already m/t :shot:
so i am planning to get safc-1 to manage the extra injection cycle need with the BOT.

just not realy sure if the current injectors would do (gze=365cc, svt=295cc) but i've read that the stock one would do only if coupled with some sort of management and a feul reg.

talam_buruk: ur 3s-gte standard got oil cooler?

hehehehe....i no.can put 3s-ge inside my car??my car 1.6 ma......

If ex-PMs can sodomise & DPM can blow people up, what else is there that M'sia can't do these days ? :laugh::laugh::laugh: Malaysia Boleh, semua pun boleh.

yeah i also think tdo5h aint ball bearing type. Im not going for horses so no overboosting here :biggrin:

as for management, a bit blurr cos still on stock svt a/t spec... though im already m/t :shot:
so i am planning to get safc-1 to manage the extra injection cycle need with the BOT.

just not realy sure if the current injectors would do (gze=365cc, svt=295cc) but i've read that the stock one would do only if coupled with some sort of management and a feul reg.

They all say that, "I won't over boost one..". Yeah right, at first maybe lar. Later when you get used to the power already, then you'll start to get itchy one for sure....:laugh:

Yeah, definately you'll have a fuel issue & I don't think the SAFC is sufficient to take on the job. Probably an e-manage, Dastek or the new Haltech piggyback will do a much better job.

I just asked my mech last weekend... he inspected my current setup and the cost is over the edge... can rebuild my engine to new "baru-keluar-kilang" already. :biggrin: Almost everything have to change to make it reliable and the tight space means even more custom piping here and there (oil lines and air). 2o2r, ur right also need to change management and feul systems as well.

But its expected, except for the cost.:rolleyes:

Well, i guess i'll go back to "simpler" NA tuning. So thx for the input guys :top:

Btw, u guys know any toyota FR engine that can go into a KIA sportage? If 4agze can use ka? i mean can move the car? No offence to gze users. :biggrin:

some figures to help:
estimated curb weight: 1410 kg
current engine: 130 HP @ 5,500 rpm, 127 ft-lb/172 Nm @ 4,000 rpm, 2.0 twincam 16 EFI

I just asked my mech last weekend... he inspected my current setup and the cost is over the edge... can rebuild my engine to new "baru-keluar-kilang" already. :biggrin: Almost everything have to change to make it reliable and the tight space means even more custom piping here and there (oil lines and air). 2o2r, ur right also need to change management and feul systems as well.

But its expected, except for the cost.:rolleyes:

Well, i guess i'll go back to "simpler" NA tuning. So thx for the input guys :top:

Btw, u guys know any toyota FR engine that can go into a KIA sportage? If 4agze can use ka? i mean can move the car? No offence to gze users. :biggrin:

some figures to help:
estimated curb weight: 1410 kg
current engine: 130 HP @ 5,500 rpm, 127 ft-lb/172 Nm @ 4,000 rpm, 2.0 twincam 16 EFI

So how much is "over the edge", Naz ? Mind sharing with us, you'll never know who else will be interested, right ?

I don't think the Sportage's engine bay has enough room for a 6 shooter, so we'll list it down to 4 then.

Why not a SR20DET ? It's a very popular choice with Opel Frontera owners these days. I think it should be more than enough to get the car moving....:biggrin: