ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

sent my 26 years old AT151 for timing belt service 2 days ago.
Timing belt kit + Power Steering belt + Valve cover gasket + labor = RM450 damaged.
But the A4-C engine is become more quiet now and smooth ... :proud:

Next could be send for painting job...to all Sifu, other than VR4 bumper. What else front/rear bumper is compatible for our AT151 without need modify?
AE92? AE80?

Many thanks in advance to all sifu :adore:

Guys, if i may, just wana ask a broad input for a hypothetical situation hehe...

if i remember correctly, the 1S Carb uses an auto-choke right? and it senses temp using water sample from 2 pipes which flows water from the main water pipes/assembly into the carb it self... :hmmmm:

Would it be ok to remove those small pipes (and plug them of course) and tune the carb to lean out the mixture (since it thinks its always cold and always enriches the feul-air) ?

Assume that the auto-choke is misbehaving and replacing it is not an option :biggrin:

Many of them are no longer using the auto choke; so no problem. It's just that it'll be a little difficult for cold starts, that's all.

Next could be send for painting job...to all Sifu, other than VR4 bumper. What else front/rear bumper is compatible for our AT151 without need modify?
AE92? AE80?

I may be wrong but I'd say that none can fit w/o modification if plug & play is what you meant. The only question is; mod more or mod less only & the result nice or not. Bear in mind this, if the shape of the car is squarish & you fit in a rounded type of bumper, the corner will look as if it was rounded off or missing. So it'll look damn ugly.

If you must, my advise is, find back a bumper that is also similiar in shape to prevent it from looking awkward later. I've seen many LE fitted with the 92 bumpers, looks kinda weird to me to be frank. If you know about art, it's called the "theme". If it's round, then the rest shouldn't be triangle of square coz it'll look out of place.

em...thousand of thank for sifu 2 Old 2 Rusty advice...true, theme is important.
Infact i also hope to keep original look by sourcing original bumper to be replaced, but as we know, i hard to find a good condition bumper for AT151 nowadays... :bawling: .. In that case i think need to try toyota LE (AE80) bumper because the shape is most match to AT151.
Thanks again sifu :adore:

em...thousand of thank for sifu 2 Old 2 Rusty advice...true, theme is important.
Infact i also hope to keep original look by sourcing original bumper to be replaced, but as we know, i hard to find a good condition bumper for AT151 nowadays... :bawling: .. In that case i think need to try toyota LE (AE80) bumper because the shape is most match to AT151.
Thanks again sifu :adore:

You're most welcome, I opened this thread to share & that's what most of us are doing, so no worries & most important thing, I AM NO SIFU; also learning from you guys.:embarassed:

Meaning if dont use no harm to engine? How abt FC still same?

Cold start problem no biggie i think hehe

As far as I know, it has nothing to do with the fuel consumption; unless the auto choke is engaged all the time causing it to run rich. The basic function of the auto-choke to have a rich mixture during a cold start (by giving less air; hence the word "choke") so that it'll start easier & less jerky until the engine reaches its running temp.

Hi guys, greetings from manipal, India :biggrin:
First of all, please forgive me for failing to upload the sitiawan photos before taking off. There was simply too many things to do, ESP packing, and I really dIdnt have the time. I have brought the photos with me to India and will upload them when I get my broadband.
FYI, I'm surfing from my phone using an agonizingly slow GPRS service. As such, I won't be able to say much here until I get my broadband, after which I shall update you guys on fb.
I have not seen any Corona here just for your knowledge. Bikes are the predominant form of transport here, where many possess the "pulsar" bike which is one of the fastest around. Maybe sifu 2o2r can do a google search on this pulsar (not the Nissan) since you're a bike guru as well and let me know more about it as I might be interested in getting one :tongue: my friend got a 220cc version, which cost 42k rupees (approx rm3k) but I think I'll get a cheaper bike if I do actually get one. Any of your guys heard of some bike called the R-15? Apparently having one here is like possessing a hayabusa in msia. I'll take pictures of the bikes here later so you guys get the picture.
As for car scene, there's nothing much going here. The Maruti Suzuki Swift in this small town is like our Myvi, but at Bangalore all I saw were tata cars. Nobody mods cars here anyway, and your shocks would be gone in a month driving on these roads, I'm serious. No loud exhausts, no bodykits, no smoked headlamps, there's nothin going for the cars here. Familiar cars seen here include innova (2.5 model), Honda city (not many), altis and civic (not more than 5), basic spec lancer (seen 2), accord (only seen one) and BMW 5 series (like spotting a bugatti at home). I've only seen one car with rear disc brakes: the accord. Others either have drums or are covered by steel rims hence not identifiable.
As I said, I'll update more on Facebook once I get my broadband (hopefully by next week, the efficiency here is horribly low), by then which I can post some photos as well. How are things going back there? I miss my car and hanging out with you guys. Can't wait to get back behind the wheel of my corona. By the way, I'll be back from 27 august till 16 September, so hope to see you guys then. Till I get my broadband, ciao! :smile:

liven loo: sorry for me saying but i think u are not really looking, i've seen many in usj alone front and back...than in damansara got more... i bought mine from subang ....
metaru: u seem to have another project goin on huh!
rage: bike in india not advisable... my brother had it... lots of trouble from the police! rasuah....
toyota buruk: bro we also opened a page on facebook where most of us are there...

As far as I know, it has nothing to do with the fuel consumption; unless the auto choke is engaged all the time causing it to run rich. The basic function of the auto-choke to have a rich mixture during a cold start (by giving less air; hence the word "choke") so that it'll start easier & less jerky until the engine reaches its running temp.

Oh ok, since the engine already starts at a low rpm (abit shaky, but not shaky-about-to-stall kind) so im guessing the auto-choke is already not working. So im also guessing, by completely isolating the small water inlets from the carb would have no effect. Would it be feasable to replace the auto-choke? The engine can still start normally/easily, just at very low rpm until it warms up a bit.

Sry abt too many questions, im new at this carb thing hehe :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 05:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:31 PM ----------

metaru: u seem to have another project goin on

Eh, no la ... just brushing up on new (actualy old to most) tech. Got a fren with carb issues, so though might as well help and learn at the same time.

I'l no doubt be in the EFI loop again soon :biggrin:

RR,

so glad to hear from you. I'd seriously advise you NOT to ride a bike in India. It's just too dangerous due to the traffic situation there. I'm quite sure your dad would advise you the same.

Metaru,

Just pump the accelerator pedal a couple of times before every cold start if the auto choke is not working. That will slightly flood the card with fuel thus making it as if it's auto choke, running rich. Got it ?

Weber carbs have no auto choke too. There's nothing wrong with running without an auto choke. Tell yr friend not to make a big fuss about it. It's one of those additional features to make life easier, that's all. It's not end of the world not having an auto choke. Tell him I said that. :laugh:

hi all....long2 time to join u all...

if u all want to share something about ST150 and AT151 corona,pls join me at FB

Kelketu | Facebook

How many Corona owners have you got in Kelketu, Wan ? If many, organise a Corona gathering la, you in charge of the north, Corona_Ice in charge of the south, then meet up in the Corona Capital la. Can ar ?:love:

If local spec tail lights, I have 2 sets in my store. :biggrin:

corona Ice..
How much brand japan for headlam n tail lamp??? can post to sabah??:adore:
if can i wan... real2 need.. damm.. sabah so hard to find.. if have only taiwan.. not gud.. i oready use taiwan spec head lamp.. air masuk kat lampu.. Damt....:mad:

Lol, corona capital as in sitiawan? Wish I was there to join too..
Here many students (malaysians included) possess bikes, be it scooters or the clutch type "superbikes" which they "speed" in (they're actually going at just 40-50kph at most).
Damn, I have a real need for speed which I can't satisfy here! :(

rage i guess so... but don't be too excited in getting a bike there... my recommendation, take the auto! damn cool bro!

ohh i c.... good lluck man! all i know is to download the instructions on the net and tune my daihatsu carb!

Hi corona_ice !!! How r u ? can you remember me? I'm "thaisingle" AT151 from Thailand We have dicussed about dad's car.

Nice to meet you again

yes thaisingle, i remember u... Y so long disappeared?? Well we now have a fellow thai member also coro3a, maybe u could help him out to source out a few parts he needs in thailand...

Metaru,

Just pump the accelerator pedal a couple of times before every cold start if the auto choke is not working. That will slightly flood the card with fuel thus making it as if it's auto choke, running rich. Got it ?

Weber carbs have no auto choke too. There's nothing wrong with running without an auto choke. Tell yr friend not to make a big fuss about it. It's one of those additional features to make life easier, that's all. It's not end of the world not having an auto choke. Tell him I said that. :laugh:

Hehe, thanks for the info 2o2r :proud:

4age otai...
i wanna ask u all..
if computer box broken enjine can start or not???
my car canot start then Kereta SUMPAH towing my car to workshop...
den the foreman say my computer box mayby broken.. is it correct??