Sound Proofing *repost* superlon+bitumen

Originally posted by boeytan+Apr 8 2005, 22:37 -->
QUOTE(boeytan @ Apr 8 2005, 22:37 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' /> doesn't help with the fact that I have 8 speakers in the car. Heh.
[snapback]880519[/snapback]​
[/b]

i used the bitumen strip, already got a layer of aluminium... when got free time i take pics n show u guys lar... those met me before i have show them the ugly part de....i didnt stop u guys using lar.. just sharing.
[snapback]880535[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

It does melt a bit...i'm thinking to spray something onto it to make it harden.. :D

Have to accept it lar...better thing comes with cost also mar...bitume does give obvioius sound proofing effect too :)

Originally posted by jaywat+Apr 8 2005, 22:50 -->
QUOTE(jaywat @ Apr 8 2005, 22:50 )
Originally posted by boeytan@Apr 8 2005, 22:37
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' /> doesn't help with the fact that I have 8 speakers in the car. Heh.
[snapback]880519[/snapback]​

i used the bitumen strip, already got a layer of aluminium... when got free time i take pics n show u guys lar... those met me before i have show them the ugly part de....i didnt stop u guys using lar.. just sharing.
[snapback]880535[/snapback]​
[/b]

It does melt a bit...i'm thinking to spray something onto it to make it harden.. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' />
[snapback]880560[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

i wasnt know it melt as i also 1 time listener heard ppl use bitumen strip, so because of budget, just go for it lar... got slightly improvement.... not ask for more with the price... that day open up my boot check spare tyre well... damn. it melt like shit.... especialy near the ekzos part.... im thinking of use superlon to cover it up as well...

never complain it cant b used... it is good for budgeted ppl.... just let them know dun do at very heat part.

to soundproof the whole wira car using dynamat, how much will it cost?
around RM2k?

Originally posted by kevyeoh@Apr 8 2005, 23:57
to soundproof the whole wira car using dynamat, how much will it cost?
around RM2k?
[snapback]880696[/snapback]​

2k for sound proofing ? wtf :blink: :blink:

I think 2k is needed also <_<

yes.. soundproofing a car with good stuff will cost around dat.. or mayb higher....

boeytan.. where do u stick de bitumen strips? n how do u stick them? i think must be something wrong wit ur techniques kua... (no offence.. ok? :P)

mine even at de engine bay so damn hot also wun melt at all... few months already stick sticking tight.. without any movement... onli got water marks onli...

yes.. soundproofing a car with good stuff will cost around dat.. or mayb higher....

boeytan.. where do u stick de bitumen strips? n how do u stick them? i think must be something wrong wit ur techniques kua... (no offence.. ok? :P)

mine even at de engine bay so damn hot also wun melt at all... few months already stick sticking tight.. without any movement... onli got water marks onli...

do u think any special technique to soundproof? i dun think so. just clean up the surface before u stick the bitumen. use a roller for a better result. i was supervised by an installer when i did mine. i dun think anything wrong. between, i only recently found out it melt after 1 year plus.

Originally posted by boeytan@Apr 9 2005, 07:57
do u think any special technique to soundproof? i dun think so. just clean up the surface before u stick the bitumen. use a roller for a better result. i was supervised by an installer when i did mine. i dun think anything wrong. between, i only recently found out it melt after 1 year plus.
[snapback]881191[/snapback]​

yep.. de surface need to be clean b4 u stick de bitumen strip.. no need to use a roller after u stick it.. just use a cloth to wipe it with some pressure... n i think dat will be more appropriate cos our car body is not even... so using our hand n fingers will give better pressure evenly spread to de bituen strips..

i think wat u mean is not melt... it is de bitumen strip start to slip... this is mayb bcos of u sticking a strip too long horizontally... n gravity pulls it down... or mayb something pushing it to de side from de original location..

just my 2 cents B)

Originally posted by khguan+Apr 10 2005, 10:05 -->
QUOTE(khguan @ Apr 10 2005, 10:05 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/cool.gif alt='cool.gif' />
[snapback]883521[/snapback]​
[/b]

a roller will b better pressure compare to using hand.. .... just the uneven part use the hand where roller cant touch it.
if the bitumen strip start to slip meaning the biutmen part is melting..... if not what only consider melt? wanna the aluminium layer melt? hehe https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' /> n im sure it is not slip. the bitumen melt n "alir" keluar to other part like water. its only happen at near ekzos part. other part still nicel stick. so i advise bitumen cant stand with heat.

Originally posted by khguan@Apr 10 2005, 10:47
oic.... haha... then i i think u can use some aluminium foil to cover de melted bitumen.. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />
[snapback]883579[/snapback]​

thinking use the superlon cover it up.... since u guys recommend 1 layer bitumen strip 1 layer superlon... :D anyway still a budget DIY lah for biutmen.... will try the superlon.... i dunno wan to use 6mm or 10mm better.

yep... bitumen is for high frequency.. superlon is for low frequency... so u need to have both to have a better soundproofing.... B)

wel.. of cos de thicker de better... but i like to use 6mm wan.. cos easier to work with... more flexible... :P :lol:

willl try it soon. correct me if im wrong.. bitumen more for sound dampen whereelse superlon for sound proofing.

yep... u r rite... B)

bitumen for sound dampening... where is absorb vibration n eliminate resonance..

superlon is for sound insulation.. where it block de sound from one side to de other side using closed-cell foam...

is it possible to stick superlon to the plastic side of the door instead of the metal part?

Write your reply...