Sound from disk break

Agl

Y everytimes when i break it got sound or i need to change it? Any sifu can help??

itsa brake...not BREAK..if u BREAK sure lah got sound mehh.. :P hehehe~! yeah usually i change it..really annoying my ear wor the sound...grr~!

sumthin like eieeeieieieieieieii~~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! aiyo~! make my car sumthin like old crap...

check brake pad thickness, if too thin, replaced. if reasonably thick, try servicing it by using compressed air through the caliper then sand paper pad surface. do not use oil to clean... (ha ha ha)

if sound persists, maybe its the brake pad material not suitable. go for softer type, wear out faster but more quiet. braking performance adequate.

i hope this help...

p/s certain car like first batch corolla AE/EE111 1995-1997 do have this problem as common even after repeating service.

Could be worn out pads or uneven rotor surface. Both need to check.

First things first. What car are you driving and has the owner changed the pads before?

last time mine is becoz i need to skim my disc brake..got scratches or something like tht..it has friction wit the duno wat metal..after skimed..no sound..go check la..

Opps sorry guys,wrongly typing. Two years car only i bought new wira aero, everyone will look at me if i drove fast n brake the soung sure got aiyoh...

Agl said:
Opps sorry guys,wrongly typing. Two years car only i bought new wira aero, everyone will look at me if i drove fast n brake the soung sure got aiyoh...

Brand new car ? if brand new car go proton service centre ask them to change. F.O.C if the car is still underwarranty. ( i think lar..)

Aiyoh dun say bout warranty everytime i went to the service centre they just said 'we will fix it for u' but after few weeks the 'sound' comes again, now no more warranty...

Zan, thanks for the info. I do checked the brake pad n it's still thick, any idea??

check ur DISC break...c whether the disc got any deep scratch or not..

sometimes the break pad will eat up the disc...anyway i skimmed mine once,but pro repeated then straight away changed disc...wasted money on skimming...shit...

May I know how much they charged u for the skimming n where's the best place to go? The brake pad its still ok lor...

ok, disc uneven surface is visible to the sharp eye but if not visible u can try and feel it. WARNING : DO NOT FEEL THE DISC ROTORS AFTER U DROVE THE CAR!

make sure brake is cool then using ur finger nail try feeling the surface. if feel uneven, straight away go skim. normally they charge RM30 per piece. best place to ask is at tyre shops... certain workshop can do it without the need to remove disc rotor. quicker.

* Friendly reminder : New brake surface (either pad or rotor) needs time to be 100% efficient. This is called bedding-in process. Just like running in newly overhauled engine, but at shorter period. Practise 300km. During that, your brake may not work as good as expected. Just be extra careful.