Someone tried to steal my Altis today

>So, you mean that if the lock and unlock button is the same
>someone might be able to catch the signal and use it to open ur door lah...

Yeah if it's different button, they can catch the signal to lock your car when you lock it. But then it'll be useless coz it can't be used to unlock the car. Get it?

InitialD:
That's a waste of time la. Might as well just use 'slim jim' to open the door and then hot wire the ignition.

InitialD said:
Dude, how long were u gone? In that time u were gone, they could have taken out ur boot lock and make a key out of it and place it back into your boot.

That was how my cousin's GTi got stolen.

I went to have lunch in KFC, then bought some leather cleaner in Carrefour, maybe about 40 minutes. You are right it is possible.

Yes .. there is a locksmith at the entrance. They can duplicate the alarm remote control in a zip.

I still think they were interrupted by someone.

That stupid cobra uses the same button for open and lock.

I'm fixing the Viper 5000 tomorrow, not because it is not unbreakable but because its a reputable brand.

Wanted to fix the Radiostar but I'm just not so comfortable with the China technology. BTW Viper 5000 got 5 expandable channels but no remote start buid in.

i dunno if this will help but maybe u could remove the keyhole thing from ur trunk and get it covered with fiber la... my fren did it on his putra, he had the keyhole lock thing completely removed (in the west i think they call it err... 'bodykit shaving'??) and covered up with fiber... how he opens his trunk (besides from in the car) is his alarm got some extra aux functions which release the boot... he had the door handles on the passenger side 'shaved' too, fibred up and only released by his alarm's aux functions or open from inside la...

looks quite nice too hehe!

If alarm not working how ?? Kantoi loh....dont have key hole to open it...:D

TitanRev said:

yalor was jus thinkin bout tat actually hahaha sit there n find a rock/brick to..... *censored*

one my fren (accessories shop owner) told me that
for altis, the thief will try to break in the car (or by some sense
disarming the alarm via the trunk)..
one trick that they did often is try to 'korek' out the trunk key hole unit
maybe steal that, later duplicate the key from that unit.. then wait for
the second attempt to steal your car again.. the first attempt is usually
try to dup the key.. then second time (since they have the dup key already)
they can use the key to open your driver side door and steal your car..
so becareful man.. it might not end here.... try to change your door key(trunk key)
to a better or more secure type.. (which will take them longer time to break, so
at least they they will know the car is difficult to steal and leave your car and look
for other target..)

TitanRev said:
I thought he says only passenger side ma....
So, driver side should still have handle right?

Bro, what the difference between 2 way alrams and normal alarms ??

". There was also a bottle of a brand new STP Injector cleaner right beside my front tire. No other car beside mine"

maybe your friendly mechanic was trying to give you a surprise car service.....your mechanic sure knows how to service his customers well. hahaha!!

Yo Titan Rev,

The normal alarm that we usually have is a 1-way alarm. You lock your car using the remote, open the car with the remote and if someone breaks into your car, the siren will scream like nobody's business.

A 2-way alarm also has the function that a 1-way alarm has.

The difference is, if someone breaks into your car, the 1-way alarm siren will go off but you may not know that its your car because car alarms go off all the time and no one cares whether the siren if screaming or not.

For the 2-way alarm, if someone breaks into your car, the 2-way alarm systems will send a message to you remote to inform you that your car has been broken into.

That's the difference.

cheers,
spec.check

altisdude said:

I posted this in Autoworld forum and posting here also as FYI.

Today I went to Carrefour Wangsa Maju for lunch.
I fixed my Disklok on the steering and made sure I armed the car (2 loud beeps with signal flashing). Brand new car so I'm extra paranoid with this.

When I came back and pressed the alarm button.
1. There was continuos beeping sound.
2. The trunk door was open.
3. There was also a bottle of a brand new STP Injector cleaner right beside my front tire. No other car beside mine.

I just realised the alarm was disarmed by someone and they left the trunk open. When I pressed the alarm button it was trying to arm again and the beeping was warning for my trunk being open. I am sure I armed the car and did not open the trunk. My friend confirmed this.

Man ... did Disklok safe the day for my car or were they interrupted, I dont care just glad my car is still with me.

I think u haven't upgrade ur cobra alarm system,do u have the ETK installed? Cobra alarm cannot be duplicated...for the time being.. yes..we do have a problem with this version because the bastard has able to short-circuit it. So we have launced the upgrade program..All cobra's alarms have rolling codes a long ago... me? I'm cobra tech.only us knows how to by-pass the security.

usually what is the range for 2-way alarm? any good alarm around $1k to recommend??

thanks!

razhar said:
I think u haven't upgrade ur cobra alarm system,do u have the ETK installed? Cobra alarm cannot be duplicated...for the time being.. yes..we do have a problem with this version because the bastard has able to short-circuit it. So we have launced the upgrade program..All cobra's alarms have rolling codes a long ago... me? I'm cobra tech.only us knows how to by-pass the security.

U r cobra tech? so u very pro in cobra alarm? can i know 1994 corolla's cobra also using rolling code? can i parallely add in shock sensor, microwave sensor to the existing motion sensor?

wtf!!! not only modded car wanna kacau.. now decent driver car also wanna steal meh!!!