Sneo Gti?

i read in Autocar UK when they tested SGTI (sumtime in 99) that the characteristic of the SGTI engines (4G93 that is) would change after the 1st service (1,600km) and would be different again after 16,000km.

my wife's Gen2 is already 66,000km but to me the engine still feels the same. lazy at below 4,000rpm. but exciting at 5-6,000rpm. even for auto.

but i still prefer my wira 1.6 auto at any time compare to gen2, or a waja with campro engine.

alexklg said:
LAst weekend at the R3 event at Pasir Gudang, i manage to spoke to one of the R3 salesperson. This is what i heard from him, true or not, i duno... its jsut rumours.

1.8 Turbocharged VW Engine priced @ over 100k. That's all i manage to get out of him. He said, R3 had been supplying some parts to Proton for the GTI that is scheduled for release end of next year.

Not sure how true is that, but that is what i heard.

The VW 1.8t engine is one of the most tunable modern engines around. In the US they managed to extract 400bhp from it (after extensive internal mods of course) but with a chip, exhaust and air intake can easily achieve over 200bhp while retaining everyday driveability.

Then again, if the next high performance Satria will be made by Lotus, they also have an existing engine supply contract from Toyota. The Yamaha made VVTi in both NA and supercharged forms are also highly tuned and powerful.

If either the VW 1.8t or the VVTI gets into the next high performance Satria, be it a Proton or a Lotus, I will definitely consider buying one!

satria-95,

quoting your method,
"I tested the engine's performance by starting my sprint at L gear, then move to 2nd, and to 3rd gear, ending at D. I pulled the rpm to almost red line for each gear shift and I don't feel the pull in power. I didn't pay attention to the rpm meter other than just taking a glimpse to see if it's almost at the red line before changing gears. From there, I gathered to myself that the auto has no power, be it campro or not."

i think, u should see the dyno of max torque rpm for neo.. if u just go almost redline everytime, it is not necessary the peak torque (where u can feel greatest acceleration). for example, my car peak torque is around 3000rpm while redline 6800rpm. for auto, starting with D3 is enough to launch and feel the power,since auto gearbox is linked to throttle... but of course, any auto will lose power a little if not much due to torque converter..

its just my OPINION. correct me if im wrong le..

the campro engine is fun when couple with manual tranny. i approved that! whoa....

5 forward speeds with closer gear ratios compare to 4 forward speed with torque converter..the differences are there on paper and in practical.

what I want SNeo GTi to be/have -
to look/drive/feel like GTR34

what i don't want SNeo to be/have -
to look/drive/feel like SNeo

ok... that's just me... so chill guys...

err.. but satria, i think ur style of driving have matched to ur manual driving. but since campro is a hi rev engine, ur method of revving it high should give a highest torque for that car.... but u say is still no power i guess is due to its heavy body. its weight is almost same as waja.. 1100+kg if not mistaken.. thats the reason i can think of. but true, AT is generally lossy...

donCityZ said:
i think we all got better ideas than Proton designer la..

hehehe...

vitrous, after mod the pic, post here ya?

yeah ur right don...

i think proton should hire we people as we drive their cars rite?...

bout the pic..i will DON...

ya seriously man..

check the actual weight:

NEO 1.6MT: 1159 kg
WAJA 1.6MT: 1175kg
(both campro)

whoa.. close... no wonder la so heavy... i wonder what make it so heavy?

i think thats why ppl kept saying handling is good... the damn thing heavy laa...
same reason why continental cars are made heavy in general.

donCityZ said:
ya seriously man..

check the actual weight:

(both campro)

i think thats why ppl kept saying handling is good... the damn thing heavy laa...

To make the Car look/Felt solid ma....
try knocking the chassis! you can felt its not a thin can!!
maybe more safety....
just my oppinion!

if u had install sound proof material to your door, when you knock your doors, it doesn't feel like thin can as well. it works for every single piece of metal.

donCityZ said:
ya seriously man..

check the actual weight:

(both campro)

damn!! 3 door hatchback tips the scale at over 1100kg....:mouth_closed:

what spoon said maybe correct.

coz ppl have been complaining that proton cars feels like tin milo la etc etc.
so they trying to satisfy that part of ppl. but then, disappoint ppl who want
lighter car for better acceleration.........

difficult to please everyone..

donCityZ said:
oh ya.. forgot to answer the Q.

WHAT I WANT IN nGTI:
Sporty bumper + skirtings + spoiler
adj suspension
PU bushings
Campro 1.8 with valve lifting tech
V-kool tinted
sport steering.
FRP (fibre reinforced plastic) hood.
Carbon dashboard and trims
tuned length 4-2-1
Sport springs
DAMN GOOD SOUND PROOFING/ ANTI NVH.

WHAT I DOWAN:
HID
sunroof
turbo/supercharger (this should be add on kit)
beng meter (leds etc etc)

i think we all got better ideas than Proton designer la..

hehehe...

vitrous, after mod the pic, post here ya?

Frankly speaking the proton designers has designed the next GTi much more better than most ideas i read here.

some hints...

wide body, same spoiler as the neo desire that is shown at the neo launch and a snail...

How do i know? Hmmm...

the price?
anyone got sumtin bout the price?

the last gti was sold at 68k if im not mistaken..
for current times, i reckon the new sgti would cost 70-80k at least..
yea, it could be the cheapest 1.8 (if they use 1.8) around..
the best value-for-money hot hatch too..
but tat kinda money for a proton..
it just doesnt feel rite..

but tat's just me.. :biggrin:

being proton, they cant sell cars tat are too expensive.. at least not now..
ppl only buy one coz of their pricing.. not out of desire..
i hope proton could do better too..
i hope one day i could be proud of it..
and see reviews pitchin the SGTI w a golf or astra vxr..
but i dont think tat's now..

just my 2 cents..

alexz said:
Frankly speaking the proton designers has designed the next GTi much more better than most ideas i read here.

some hints...

wide body, same spoiler as the neo desire that is shown at the neo launch and a snail...

How do i know? Hmmm...

err.. sorry to say.. but what kind of "better idea" is a 2-door car?

wooohoo... wait a minute.. u mention a snail? means Turbo right (correct me if im wrong)

Like that surely using VW 1.8 engine (used on VW Golf GTI) la? So is confirm Proton will join with VW le..

is it? kekeke..

donCityZ said:
wooohoo... wait a minute.. u mention a snail? means Turbo right (correct me if im wrong)

Like that surely using VW 1.8 engine (used on VW Golf GTI) la? So is confirm Proton will join with VW le..

is it? kekeke..
hehe... dont know the Neo chassis can tahan the VW turbo or not!!
later kecai 2!! (joking)

Now... what's wrong with this Campro engine?

http://etechz.com/pix/campro/IMG_0318.jpg
http://etechz.com/pix/campro/IMG_0317.jpg

WTF?!?! A hole in the block? Engine is barely 6 months and taken out from Gen2 A/T.