Sneo Gti?

i read in a magazine, Lotus CEO revealed there will be a Lotus-tuned Proton, a properly tuned one.

remember Lotus Carlton (based on Opel/Vauxhall Carlton) ? same thing will happen soon.

the name maybe Lotus Waja/Impian or Lotus Gen2.

as the news is genuine, to SNEO GTI is not impossible. but Proton would have hard time to sell when we take into account other contenders like

1. VW Golf GTI FSI Turbo
2. Vauxhall Astra VXR Turbo
3. Renault Clio 182
4. Ford Focus ST / RS
5. Honda Civic Type R

SGTI got big thumbs up when launched in UK in 1999. why? the dynamic of its chassis which gives reaonsable handling. but SGTI stayed for too long in the market, where others boys had moved on and upped the ante.

if Proton really planned to produce SGTI, they must put all thier efforts in it.

eh, are they reading zth or not? or still do things as they like...

sighhh..

LAst weekend at the R3 event at Pasir Gudang, i manage to spoke to one of the R3 salesperson. This is what i heard from him, true or not, i duno... its jsut rumours.

1.8 Turbocharged VW Engine priced @ over 100k. That's all i manage to get out of him. He said, R3 had been supplying some parts to Proton for the GTI that is scheduled for release end of next year.

Not sure how true is that, but that is what i heard.

-1.6 DOHC 20V...hehehehe (smaller engine but with high power would be fun too)
- quad thortle la....
- no need force induction, just use N/A
- manual transmission or some like DSG on golf gti

Another GTI design by me.. kekeke..

http://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r142/doncityz/satriaNeoGTI.jpg

I just test drove a satria neo auto 1.6L. Personally, I felt the car has no power. The handling is a disappointment too. That's all.

i want

1.petronas E01
2.kleeeman kompressor
3.4WD..

and others everybody had mention

satria... campro engine is like that.. no power at low rpm.
u need to press kau kau to feel it. campro is high rev engine.

handling is disappointment??
im not sure, but i went to check on the suspension is quiet stiff.
hmm... dono to say coz i have not driven it.

i think we all got better ideas than Proton designer la..

hehehe...

vitrous, after mod the pic, post here ya?

yeah, anything below 4k rpm and you'll be eating dust... the fun only starts at 4k rpm and above..

as for the handling, maybe you have high hopes, but to me, good enough already. ;)

4k above?? i heard 3.5k starts...

4k is just too high la..

wah.. i cant imagine how campro neo 1.3 gonna perform...
damn heavyy.. not worth buying le...

1.3 neo have some sort of compensation from the gear box ratio. The ratio is different for 1.3 and 1.6... and they said 1.3's pick up is better than 1.6 due to the difference in gear box ratio. I don't know how true is that.. coz nvr driven the 1.3 b4...

3.5k still a bit sluggish... the car comes alive after 4k till 6.5k.... went to the R3-hpc event last saturday.. and anything below 4k is reallly useless..... need to do a lot of gear changes just to keep the rev in the powerband...

for me... i think a slight facelift to the original Neo wud b nice... cos if its jus changing front & rear bumpers... everyone also can do it... like u can see alot of 1.3 satria fitting some low quality fiber glass Gti kit running around...

like u can see nowadays... new civiv typeR is differ fr original civic, M3 a bigger & wider body than its original, & u cant jus change de exterior from lancer to bcome an Evo nowadays as de chasis is a different design... etc.

i think i wud like a Neo Gti to be: (those i think Proton is able to build/provide)
- 2.0 V6 (M) high rev engine (shud b fun enough)
- Wider body with more agressive fr & r bumper, skirt design.
- 17" x 8" (+35) light weight rim fr jpn
- 225/40 Advan Neova
- HID
- MOMO (for sure)
- Recaro (for sure, & yea, full leather interior)
- Twin pipe (shud b nice)
- lastly, i think this time shud b "red" (cos Gti = silver, R3 = black)

:)

so a must mod for neo would be lighten crank pulley.. (so that easy to go to 4k rpm to get that power), right?

yeah reedor, a wider body at rear and front to accomodate wider wheels. improve looks also.

IMO, what R3 wants to do with the SNEO leave it to them. coz they are the performance arm of Proton. they should take responsiblity of creating sumthing extra ordinary of SNEO.

let's talk about what proton should do to make SNEO GTI an interesting car with its owl appeal.

the stand should be like this..

base - SNEO 1.3 M & A
medium spec - SNEO 1.6 M & A
top spec - SNEO GTI supercharge.
super special - SNEO GTI R3

sort of... i installed the crank pulley already... but still, sometimes you can't afford to downshift that much, a couple of times i tried to exit out a corner @ pasir gudang track going upslope going at 3.3krpm... to reach 4k from there is incredibly slow...

alex,
u really full use of ur car a?! really go track a? not sayang meh?
yea, when r u sending me ur new pic?

i always forgot to send you new pics... the pics are in my home pc... hope tonight i can remember.. hehehe...

sayang my car lah...... going for service soon... still left 2.5k to go... but i think time for a change of oils..... hehehe... Go track, dun need to go all out.. i keep well below the red line... what's a car for? to me, to have fun in it. ;)