Should I stick to Blaupunkt or not?

frez

Hi. My Sentra is equipped with stock 40W x 4 Blaupunkt Santa Monica CD30 HU, Blaupunkt front loading 5x cd changer (below air-cond control) & Blaupunkt steering infra-red remote control.

Have recently upgraded to an entry level Cdt kama k-61 speakers. Sounds a lot better that the stock coax blaupunkt.

thinking of upgrading the HU. however to maintain the other Blaupunkt accesories: cd changer (found out that there are shops selling the cd changer i have for about RM1500) & remote - i'm obliged to upgrade to a better Blaupunkt HU - Casablanca MP54 with 50W x 4 ch (RM1400). it's also an MP3 player with some extra radio tuner technology.

I listen to SQ & very little boom-boom. Listen a lot to the radio for chart toppers & talk shows.

My questions now:

1. Why can't I find any discussion on Blaupunkt HUs? Are they bad HUs?

2. Not many shop sells Blaupunkt Hus? Again - are they bad HUs?

3. Is it worth upgrading to another High/Mid range Blaupunkt for RM1400 where the highly recommended Pioneer DEH-5750MP cost half the price?

4. What to do with the changer & remote if i get the Pioneer unit? trade-ins?

5. Should i stick with the stock HU and get amps for the same amount of money? not interested with subs - need the space.

Thank you.

those hu cater for oem cars. not bad hu but just stock. get what i mean?

for hi-end hu, try looking around ....alpine is few of them but look at the price as well. the expensive >RM2k are mostly hi-end which comes with DVD & MP3 player features.

are you planning to let go your stock player and cd changer? willing to take them if you are selling them and the price is right...

blau HU are ok. Its quality is questionable though.

RM1.4k should get you in the Alpine 9815 range. Why not go fro the 7650 or the 8650 pioneer?

frez said:
Hi. My Sentra is equipped with stock 40W x 4 Blaupunkt Santa Monica CD30 HU, Blaupunkt front loading 5x cd changer (below air-cond control) & Blaupunkt steering infra-red remote control.

Have recently upgraded to an entry level Cdt kama k-61 speakers. Sounds a lot better that the stock coax blaupunkt.

thinking of upgrading the HU. however to maintain the other Blaupunkt accesories: cd changer (found out that there are shops selling the cd changer i have for about RM1500) & remote - i'm obliged to upgrade to a better Blaupunkt HU - Casablanca MP54 with 50W x 4 ch (RM1400). it's also an MP3 player with some extra radio tuner technology.

I listen to SQ & very little boom-boom. Listen a lot to the radio for chart toppers & talk shows.

My questions now:

3. Is it worth upgrading to another High/Mid range Blaupunkt for RM1400 where the highly recommended Pioneer DEH-5750MP cost half the price?

5. Should i stick with the stock HU and get amps for the same amount of money? not interested with subs - need the space.

Thank you.

Fez,
If money a big problem to you, my suggestion is keep it all as is it & just add on line driver, eg Audio Control line driver (2ch or 6ch) cost around >RM500 last time...OEM HU only can produce <2.5v RMS if I'm not mistaken....with line driver you can increased it to 7.5v RMS woowww...& you can save money fro next stuff... Good Luck

mmm, doesnt seem like you ahve an amp else a Line driver would be a better idea...

If no amp, get a simple 2 or 4 channel amp for the car with the stock HU will amnek it sound better than upgrading the HU.

ok. the stock blaupunkt don't have rca. used that as an excuse to upgrade to an alpine 9843. cheaper than the casablanca. sounds excellent. powerful enough for me. so putting aside amps... for a while.

tq.

frez said:

My questions now:

Thank you.

Blaupunkt product are so call SoSo as i own a Blaupunkt Sanfrancisco CD75, Blaupunkt Velocity 504, Kicker Mono block 701, Have replace my Velocity fromy speakers to Rainbow as it bring out beter vocal. To tell you frankly this HU is the second unit as Blaupunkt replace 1 while unit before this and with this unit i been sending my back to Robet Bosch for reparie every 2 month. 1st send pickup lens over sensitive even ori CDs are unable to play . 2 send due to face panel jerying giving some rattering sound while driving. 3 send CD wont comeout stuck at the tray bay. 4 send face swing mec faulty. the unit seems like been going back and front from Blaupunkt SC every 2 month. They give me the excuse is that it might due to the model are not made for Malaysia weather since it make in Bulgaria or due to my Toyota Viso dash board CD tray was at a certain degree tilt and not like normal dash board. Now my HU just over waranty and im looking for a replacement. Well ant Sifu that can recoment any good reliable HU for me.