Should I get a Voltage Stabaliser?

I'm sorry - but I have to say something before someone kena sotong.

More Farad doesn't mean better performance. If you think like that why not just go get a few of 1F capacitors and connect them in series and hook it up to your battery? I don't know the science of VS but I've tried a few and each had their own unique attributes (or none at all). One homemade one made the engine quite rough but gave me a little more torque (dynoed b4 and after). Another made the lights brighter and less aircon compressor engagement. Another one did absolutely nothing for my humble 5 year old Proton.

What really made a difference on my 'old' car was a grounding kit. New cars have pretty good grounding, but the older the car gets the more worn out the grounding becomes. Kitting it up with one re-establishes this and makes things work like 'new' (not really.. but close enough).

If you have a big ass sound system with 2 2000w subwoofers running on gigantic energy sucking pure class-A amplifiers, then what you need is a bigger and better battery (like the yellow Optima) paired with a big current alternator. But the bigger the alternator the more it'll affect your engines performance. Also, if your battery is bigger than your alternator can charge, it'll die an earlier death too. The alternative is adding a capacitor before each amp to ensure it gets a consistant current flow. That's all really.

So do you need a VS? Probably not. But most VS help the battery last longer. If they claim the world to you, better be suspicious cuz most VS aren't cheap.

I'm so gonna get this! Only half price compared to Pivot (coz it's branded) I dun really care as long as it works. Thanks alot man. :adore: Booked one unit d. Can't wait to get it installed.

It's a good thing I created this thread! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

---------- Post added at 01:27 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:14 PM ----------

I'm sorry - but I have to say something before someone kena sotong.

More Farad doesn't mean better performance. If you think like that why not just go get a few of 1F capacitors and connect them in series and hook it up to your battery? I don't know the science of VS but I've tried a few and each had their own unique attributes (or none at all). One homemade one made the engine quite rough but gave me a little more torque (dynoed b4 and after). Another made the lights brighter and less aircon compressor engagement. Another one did absolutely nothing for my humble 5 year old Proton.

What really made a difference on my 'old' car was a grounding kit. New cars have pretty good grounding, but the older the car gets the more worn out the grounding becomes. Kitting it up with one re-establishes this and makes things work like 'new' (not really.. but close enough).

If you have a big ass sound system with 2 2000w subwoofers running on gigantic energy sucking pure class-A amplifiers, then what you need is a bigger and better battery (like the yellow Optima) paired with a big current alternator. But the bigger the alternator the more it'll affect your engines performance. Also, if your battery is bigger than your alternator can charge, it'll die an earlier death too. The alternative is adding a capacitor before each amp to ensure it gets a consistant current flow. That's all really.

So do you need a VS? Probably not. But most VS help the battery last longer. If they claim the world to you, better be suspicious cuz most VS aren't cheap.

I've checked out the thread in lowyat. The guy has been selling for 4 years now and so far no bad review. My main aim for the VS is for my ICE only dun really care how many Farad since i dunno what that is. Will google it up later. And I really do have a 2000W sub!!! LOL! How did you know!!?! :adore: Since it's only 85 bucks i'm willing to try. :biggrin:

curious which one u got ? Eric tioh or the zaptor fusion...both are quality products ..im not a seller just a satisfied user.

VS i think works best for older cars whose require a better grounding points because cars like optima have in built vs ...besides a bigger alternator... VS works much like an inverter of sorts to filter out the noises caused by the fluctuating voltages across the car....and buffer up enough voltage to keep all circuits receiving proper amount of power without being compriomised when the compressor kicks in ...

i think from my understanding should be easier to keep it simple.

Pivot i think is overrated...as circuits made by this DIY demonstrated that quality caps is more preferred than just the name.

curious which one u got ? Eric tioh or the zaptor fusion...both are quality products ..im not a seller just a satisfied user.

VS i think works best for older cars whose require a better grounding points because cars like optima have in built vs ...besides a bigger alternator... VS works much like an inverter of sorts to filter out the noises caused by the fluctuating voltages across the car....and buffer up enough voltage to keep all circuits receiving proper amount of power without being compriomised when the compressor kicks in ...

i think from my understanding should be easier to keep it simple.

Pivot i think is overrated...as circuits made by this DIY demonstrated that quality caps is more preferred than just the name.

I'm getting the Zaptor. Coz it's cheaper. :biggrin: The main reason i'm getting one is coz i got 2 amps, and a woofer. I'm afraid that my battery will ware out very fast coz of extensive usage. I asked my car auidio shop tauke b4. He said if i'm scared then get at VS. He did mention that a vs would sightly improve the sound quality and the car's lightings. But the VS he's using coz 500+ @@ and it's not even Pivot..... :stupid::hmmmm:

I
I've checked out the thread in lowyat. The guy has been selling for 4 years now and so far no bad review. My main aim for the VS is for my ICE only dun really care how many Farad since i dunno what that is. Will google it up later. And I really do have a 2000W sub!!! LOL! How did you know!!?! :adore: Since it's only 85 bucks i'm willing to try. :biggrin:

Uh... dude... for RM85 I doubt that's a pure 2000w sub. 2000w is super duper high and in most cases would be used for SPL competitions. Those subs generally can blow the panties off a hot chick if powered correctly and probably won't be too good to be used in a car for normal usage.

I had a friend who used to have a JLW7 which is one really bigass sub.. quite heavy consumption on the power side but is no way anything compared to SPL subs. Everytime the bass kicked in all the lights in his car would dim with the bass. LOL! The VS and all didn't help, only a bigger battery did.

Personally, I feel the ICE setup you have there is pretty basic and isn't going to kill your battery. Me thinks you want an excuse to install a VS only ;P Hehehe.. go get one and have it installed. Just be cautious about some VS that have a digital display or LED that's always on. The reason I say this is cuz I had one home made one that displayed the status of the battery and always had the display on. I left my car for 2 weeks (travelling) and the battery was flat by the time I came back.

Dude . before u are so quick to correct this and that, RM85 is referring to the VS not the sub.
bigger battery can burn the alternator because it is not generating a voltage high enough to charge the battery at its optimum...a VS can because the fast discharge and charging qualities which battery cannot.

Uh... dude... for RM85 I doubt that's a pure 2000w sub. 2000w is super duper high and in most cases would be used for SPL competitions. Those subs generally can blow the panties off a hot chick if powered correctly and probably won't be too good to be used in a car for normal usage.

I had a friend who used to have a JLW7 which is one really bigass sub.. quite heavy consumption on the power side but is no way anything compared to SPL subs. Everytime the bass kicked in all the lights in his car would dim with the bass. LOL! The VS and all didn't help, only a bigger battery did.

Personally, I feel the ICE setup you have there is pretty basic and isn't going to kill your battery. Me thinks you want an excuse to install a VS only ;P Hehehe.. go get one and have it installed. Just be cautious about some VS that have a digital display or LED that's always on. The reason I say this is cuz I had one home made one that displayed the status of the battery and always had the display on. I left my car for 2 weeks (travelling) and the battery was flat by the time I came back.

Bro.... 85 bucks for the VS not the Sub....

hi bro,

im dealing wit zaptor vs n pivot grounding...of coz im using those stuffs as well....

for vs n grounding, dun really look at the engine performance wise, as long as it does it jobs..its fine

im using both stuff in my myvi, some friends skyline, fairlady n subaru n evos...

its no problems at all.... some photos are at my fb actually.. can go n see see...but gotta spend some time to find those photos, its too many inside.

*i did hv hot inazma products installed, but compared it..not really has big differences i can said

hi bro,

im dealing wit zaptor vs n pivot grounding...of coz im using those stuffs as well....

for vs n grounding, dun really look at the engine performance wise, as long as it does it jobs..its fine

im using both stuff in my myvi, some friends skyline, fairlady n subaru n evos...

its no problems at all.... some photos are at my fb actually.. can go n see see...but gotta spend some time to find those photos, its too many inside.

*i did hv hot inazma products installed, but compared it..not really has big differences i can said

You mean you're selling this stuff? I dun mind getting from you if you're near sunway area. :biggrin:

Between Inazma n guangdao, Zaptor is not bad also somemore it is cheap.