SH!T - More VTEC probs...

ace79

Last nite, was driving home. Only going around 60 - 80kph. Suddenly the car started to somewhat, jerking. I was maintaining throttle, but the engine seemed like, doesn't jerk badly, but it's feels like the exhaust flow is not going well ( don't think it's the muffler, since mine's a straight flow and i didn't utilise my removable silencer ) After a few kms, the probs suddenly went away! Today, I thought the prob was gone. Driving to work for about 3 kms, and then it started again. This time, it was bad! I can still drive the car ( only drove about 20 - 40 kph ) albeit, the car was "burping". At the traffic light, I revved the car slightly to 1500 - 2000 RPMs, and when lift the throttle off, slight popping sounds came out from the exhaust.Note : recently changed to a new 2nd radiator. Prolly the guy who done it forgot to bleed the cooling circuit. Temp went to max, white smoke from exhaust... next day, mechanic re-filled water via the opening the coolant nipple, only then he started filling water and waited until water started to flow nonstop, then closed the nipple and filled the rad water up ( it's bleeding the cooling circuit, rite? ) The current idea is : head gasket needs to be changed, was going to do it this Sat ( since my mech just got married and is having his honeymoon until tomorrow ) Ideas guys? Something went wrong big time in the engine?

I don't think the prob is with the exhaust system. Could it be the head gasket, or valves?

the burping, jerking sign could be a sign of a distributor failure. it should sound like a subaru and the distributor should have the rough noise. if really problem persist, u cant start your car sooner or later.

about the gasket and the cooling system, if your water pump were to fail and heat starts to boil up, you should be able to detect from your water temp. but then again, that does not contribute engine off unless its damn hot.

J101 said:
the burping, jerking sign could be a sign of a distributor failure. it should sound like a subaru and the distributor should have the rough noise. if really problem persist, u cant start your car sooner or later.

about the gasket and the cooling system, if your water pump were to fail and heat starts to boil up, you should be able to detect from your water temp. but then again, that does not contribute engine off unless its damn hot.

oh no, not again! yeah, my car does sound like a subaru. alamak, May last year just bought Type R's distributor...any good if i keep on fitting Type R's or just go with standard B16A's? previously bfr changing to Type R's distributor, the car would switch off by itself when i was driving! then changed to new 2nd dist, no more...don't tell me i have to change distributors every 10 months?

currently the temp is normal, but prolly will change the head gasket anyway.

sh!t...so have to take LRT and bus again for the next few days...spoonsir sure gelak one again...cheh!

stay with the type-r since they are newer. i would suggest you get a reconditioned one with prolly few months warranty(if any).

J101 said:
stay with the type-r since they are newer. i would suggest you get a reconditioned one with prolly few months warranty(if any).
it took me awhile to find the one i have rite now...aiyak...can i get my current distributor repaired somehow ( at least can keep for standby mah! ) how muchie for new Type R distributors? 2nd prolly be around 400 - 450 eh?

between amoil(jc racing) and racing-fit in sunway got a repair shop. u can try asking them to check the IC in the distributor. if problem, yes u have to find another used type-r distributor.

ace79 said:
it took me awhile to find the one i have rite now...aiyak...can i get my current distributor repaired somehow ( at least can keep for standby mah! ) how muchie for new Type R distributors? 2nd prolly be around 400 - 450 eh?

Agreed !

Seem like your engine only running wif 3 cylinders. I had this problem before, then after did a check i noticed 1 of the injector is not working properly. hence problem resolved after i changed with new one... another thing is, it could be the ground wire which connected at your -ve battery terminal n casis having intermittent problem. May be you can do a check as well.

Just to share my xperience.. who knows may be it will help you to solve your problem:Not_Impressed:

ace79 said:
I don't think the prob is with the exhaust system. Could it be the head gasket, or valves?

kuNyit said:
Agreed !

Seem like your engine only running wif 3 cylinders. I had this problem before, then after did a check i noticed 1 of the injector is not working properly. hence problem resolved after i changed with new one... another thing is, it could be the ground wire which connected at your -ve battery terminal n casis having intermittent problem. May be you can do a check as well.

Just to share my xperience.. who knows may be it will help you to solve your problem:Not_Impressed:

not sure whether it's about the injectors, 'cause if it's the injectors, the prob will happen as soon as i start the engine. this prob only surface after the car is fully warmed up and is being driven for a few KMs after you've started your journey. not sure about the ground wire either, as this might also affect my sound system ( which works fine and still blasting while the engine prob starts.. ) prolly be the distributors, which is a common VTEC problem. so fuckin' fedup...other distributor brands i can use which will last much longer than standard Honda? anyone got lobang for Type R distributors ( prolly in good condition ) and wired for OBD1 ( bought mine at SS Racing and they re-did the wiring somehow, prolly it's from 98 or 99 spec Type R's which is OBD2, rite? )?

If not mistaken, Mr Hattech got one spare Type R distributors...
Better you check with him

ace, tomorrow will let u know...
btw, u can try call my fren.. pojie.. he know how to make u distributor last longer than normal distributor. n plz dun throw ur kong distributor into tong sampah. he can fix for u. instead u buying another set of distributor better repair current one. low cost sumore.
call me for details. tq
kunyit, that spare unit for me only.. or for rental only... kekekeke

ace, if u ever get new/recon distrinutor...would u mind selling me ur 'kong' one ?

plug cable may cause such problem too...i had tat experience....
but distributor is also a main cause....depends....

thanks for all the info guys. but, judging from prior experience ( distributor dies off while leading a black EK hatch at Jln Bangsar, with a full car's length! ) i think it's distributor. J101 also gave out the correct symptom bfr i explained it to him as well. but since the engine is going to be checked upon today or monday ( open head, change timing belt, check power steering reservoir / hose, new oil filer, prolly be HAMP ) i'm not sure whether it's the plugs or plug cable, because if it's the plugs, it should happen ( the jerking, burping symptom happens after about 15 mins on the road, about 3-4 kms of travel ) almost immediately ( due to poor sealing of piston rings ) anyway, the ingine's head going to go off today or Monday, so i'll just cross my fingers and hope for the best. hoping for no warped / cracked heads... :confused_smile:

sorry Oderf, prolly be sending my dist to hattech-v's friend. told me it's going to be external coil design... :X-:

eh, whjat's the diff op HAMP's oil filter to other brands? thought of buing K&N's..

Write your reply...