Help Required!

ace79

Posted this somewhere in the EG postings..no positive answer..

- sometimes, 2nd gear got something like a rev prob..around 3k / 4k rpm ++ ( like surging, sumthin like that ), but other gears is fine, why?

- now, I've come across this same prob even in high speeds, and sometimes, when idling as well..the prob is something like this : the RPM would either suddenly fluctuate up and down..and then the engine dies. If during idling, it won't surge like that, instead, it'll drop a bit to somewhere like 5-600 rpm and then it dies.

- my friend's bro suggested me to check the throttle body + throttle body vacuum, is he right?

Originally posted by ace79@Mar 30 2005, 21:29
Posted this somewhere in the EG postings..no positive answer..

- sometimes, 2nd gear got something like a rev prob..around 3k / 4k rpm ++ ( like surging, sumthin like that ), but other gears is fine, why?

- now, I've come across this same prob even in high speeds, and sometimes, when idling as well..the prob is something like this : the RPM would either suddenly fluctuate up and down..and then the engine dies. If during idling, it won't surge like that, instead, it'll drop a bit to somewhere like 5-600 rpm and then it dies.

- my friend's bro suggested me to check the throttle body + throttle body vacuum, is he right?
[snapback]854796[/snapback]​

probably he's right. Go and get it check by some qualified mechanic

Is it only when cold? or all temperatures? Mine fluctuates when the engine is cold and goes very low for idling. I changed the IACV or EACV or whatever idling thing they call it attached to your throttle body. That was my problem.. But its around RM100 or so...

Could be only..

i'm not too sure..anyway sometimes it happens during cold idling..sometimes when hot oso..once it happened when I was dragging with a black EK hatch ( JayBee plate..sorry ya friend, just wanted to scare my girl aje.. :D ) sometimes when it happens, I press the small button for car alarm i think...the prob goes way after a few failed starts..pening lor..

now my car is being stripped of it's engine and chassis parts..for cleaning and refurbishment..at least my engine is in very good condition..with the RPM going all the way to 8k++..but absorbers kong oledi ( no wonder la so stiff! ) and i seriously wnat to change to 15s or 16s wheels..

anyway my throttle body ( which I presume is not standard.. ) got the name RAD or HAD ( sumthin like that ) near the intake..what is that? The engine is slightly modded..and I belive the ECU is modded as well ( or else I dun think can reach over 8k++ RPM rite? ) Anyone know where can fix the ECU ( if the ECU is the root of this prob ) without losing the RPM cutoff or any good mods done to it?

ah? tested 8k + with stock ecu, no prob wor... rev cut 220kmh @ 6.5k 5th gear. stock ecu

your 1st Q, 3k-4k it surge, do you mean the car jerk? or it's like pulling back your speed?

2nd Q - if skipped during highspeed, do you think it's due to the clutch? well i'm just suggesting thou.
Die off - my car also like that when stopping down after revving ESPECIALLY when petrol is running low. update me when you find a solution k.

Originally posted by BlackHD@Apr 7 2005, 01:38
ah? tested 8k + with stock ecu, no prob wor... rev cut 220kmh @ 6.5k 5th gear. stock ecu

your 1st Q, 3k-4k it surge, do you mean the car jerk? or it's like pulling back your speed?

2nd Q - if skipped during highspeed, do you think it's due to the clutch? well i'm just suggesting thou.
Die off - my car also like that when stopping down after revving ESPECIALLY when petrol is running low. update me when you find a solution k.
[snapback]875395[/snapback]​

nope, the car surges like : RPM fluctuates up and down like mad, sometimes when I shift up or down, it'll go away, But nowadays, it simply dies off. My gas never drops below 1/4 quarter and is always filled up to the brim.

clutch may be a prob, since i always find that the clutch grab unless either i shift up under 2k or shift up over 4k ++.

check ..

1. distributor
2. plug cable
3. fuel relay - fuel supply ..

cheers ..

Current suspects : distributor, ECU, alarm fitted to the car by previous owner and throttle body. Plugs have been checked and changed, dry and nice brown tan colour on both occasions. Fuel delivery seems to be fine, but yet to be checked in detail.