Idling problems on B16a after porting

it controls the idle valve cycle, meaning how fast it opens or close, it'll then control the air flow when you idle. i cant really elaborate further as i myself isn't too sure, but i can tell u, once u use hondata, your idle will be smooth.

currently i am still running on hondata. but it doesnt belong to me. my mech is doing some major cosmetic job on his car, so his car will be out of service for a couple of months, meantime, i make sure his hondata is still warm.. hahha

1.8k is a very very good price. u cant get that here in KL. but then again i would like to warn u about car parts and when they are super cheap, something's fishy.

i'd rather pay the regular price and buy it from a reputable/respectable seller cum tuner. so if anything goes wrong, he can sort it out for u, rather than seller blame tuner, say his tuning wrong, make your ecu spoil etc etc... u know la... everyone doesn't want to take responsibility.

if u want a good tuner from KL, i can recommend mine, but price wise cant fight the one u linked to me la. rest assured, my tuner will sort u out until you are satisfied.

=)

arrowhead...yr fren name begin with J ar? open shop start with M issit? heheheh i'll go see XH first i think. get the prognosis...i really hope he wont say have to open yr head see the porting done. i quarantee get in car n bang wall.

yah...will work towards hondata but for now...need to get the idle down first. budget 2.5k for hondata with tuning should be enuff? thats a lot of $$$...and the responsibility thing...is called tai-chi mah :biggrin:

i was hoping to get jin n loo's advise on this too...damn lucky got so many sifu helping me out hehehe

SGAS...u in KL la..very far...i'm in johor area mah

foremen name does start with J, but workshop doesn't start with M. if u really want his contacts or anything u can PM me la. i dont wanna post publicly. i'd like to avoid unnecessary comments.

honestly bro, if u ask me, instead of getting hondata , why not get yourself a new head? original b16a unported. maybe just polish only. it'll definitely be cheaper. probable cost u 900? your idle should be fine again after that.

reason i said so was because, pnp head doesn't necessarily give power. instead it make reduce your engine's torque. i suffered it before by using type r intake manifold on my b16a (not entirely the same but what i'm trying to say is bigger doesn't mean better).

you'll need other performance parts to accommodate that extra intake of air such as higher compression pistons and more aggressive cams. only then maybe, pnp would be a feasible project after all those bolt ons.

that idea has been on my mind ever since yesterday arrowhead....but it's ok la...dun regret decisions already made but try to forge on wakakakaka

i'm thinking about crome...something i read about sometime back from sasuke...u remember that? did some reading n it seems quite a lot of tuners like it mainly cos it's free...

almost time to go collect the car...hope the repair bill doesnt exceed 2k...will let u guys know how it drives...will try to keep it subjective n not succumb to the placebo effet to justify the pain this last 3 weeks hahahahah.

thanks to all the sifus that came in here to help eh?

take anti-depressants. it helps. lol. yeah heard abt crome but dont really know much about it. prefer something easier to tune because my foremen will also be my tuner, takkan he recommend hondata, i go get crome, who wanna tune for me then? lol

arturo : So whats the result of your car?

Sifu honda finally in! Just want to ask though, why would PNP affect the idling in a b16a? Too much air? Non-adaptive ECU? Anything that can be manually adjusted? Or perhaps ECU reflashed?

its simple like ABC cause you don't even know what the ECU setup for last engine use
exp : last engine B16a with larger injector CC or with higher cam lift (type R cam)
and you engine was stock std so its cause you lean/rich AF Ratio

its its could have like our fren arturo having idle problem
as i mention on my 1st post his car was porting and the original ecu can't support for the setup on his engine setup now

Getting a management was the best idea or ARTURO you can come over my shop and i can doing chipping and crome tune for you, or if you have bigger budget i can do it hondata S300j include dyno tune for you

you can reach me at 012-2123802

:adore: i really learn lots of new things from all sifu's in here.....share experiences with all honda fans:driver:

its simple like ABC cause you don't even know what the ECU setup for last engine use
exp : last engine B16a with larger injector CC or with higher cam lift (type R cam)
and you engine was stock std so its cause you lean/rich AF Ratio

its its could have like our fren arturo having idle problem
as i mention on my 1st post his car was porting and the original ecu can't support for the setup on his engine setup now

Getting a management was the best idea or ARTURO you can come over my shop and i can doing chipping and crome tune for you, or if you have bigger budget i can do it hondata S300j include dyno tune for you

you can reach me at 012-2123802

yes. sifu dcloo also carries hondata at very good price!

agree with shah! learn from alot sifu's here!

Arturo, this is how Vtec kick in yo??

vtec.gif

i got the car last nite...test drove it. f*ck*ng pissed with the condition.

• dunno if got hp or torque gains.
  • no extra power feeling at all.
  • petrol smell from exhaust is horrible.
  • at cold start, idle will be at 2k rpm at first then drop to 1.8k
  • after a few minutes drive....and put back into N or P, will go hi cam - petrol smell even worse here.
  • since mine is auto...there are wierd clacking sounds whenever a/c kicks in(i think the xtra higher revs are putting a strain on the autobox when in D and standstill)
  • whenever i lift off throttle, rpm will dip before going up so i have nose dip whenever i liftoff
  • i left the car there with a full tank of petrol n odo showed +80kms but aredy halftank gone so the FC is totally f*ck*d up...
mech told me he asked his runner to send to the normal machine shop to get it pnp...but the runner recommended another machine shop at lower price...but same quality n that this shop already done many b16a pnp...so he agreed. after it was done only he was told the machine shop did the pnp by hand and no portflow testing done. my question is...pnp is normally done by machine rite? pnp done by hand cannot be trusted?i tot this was the old skool way of pnp?

now i dunno whether to go ahead n claim for a new head for the spoilt pnp(never done pnp before so no idea what a good pnp b4 tuning feels like) or to just go ahead n get it tuned via crome(arrowhead...kenot afford hondata la dun la poison me:biggrin:)

Sifu Dcloo...yr rite...mine was standard but suddenly pnp...i keep on telling my mech is cos of the pnp thats y like this but he keept testing all the other possibility hehehe finally he give up n agree is cos the pnp. where's yr shop? u have way of testing the head?

blardy no mood seh after this happen.

arrowhead...gimme some antidepressant can ar?

your problem seemed like mine last time when i used type r intake manifold (b18c) on my b16a. i lost torque. no gains whatsover. i used back my b16a intake and everything became normal. on normal circumstances, cold start idling should be at 1.5k only, shouldn't go more than that.

your hi-cam symptoms i can guarantee is due to the tps sensor. not set properly and its a bitch to get it back at the original position. you'll need hondata for that.

if i were u, i'd get a new head. even if u get a management, it'll probably only solve your funky idling problem (may not as well). On top of that, you aren't gonna gain anything from the ported head, your engine will feel "lazy" like how it is now, minus the eratic idling. this is my opinion though.

new head - restored the original air flow velocity and volume which is probably the best for a stock b16a. cheaper alternative. you dont have to buy other parts just to TRY to compliment the pnp job...

again i stand my ground. pnp should only be done should the engine have higher comp pistons and more aggressive cams. as for stock, we dont need that much air because it serves no purpose.

anti depressant? very easy only, go to your local clinic, tell them u got constant headache. it comes everyday at the same time, and goes away in the evening. that's how i got mine.. LOL