::Sepang Track Day:: -17th July 2005-

XXX, need to clarify my posting. I didn't mean the track cars didn't obey the red flags (no idea who didn't), but I saw a few track cars going off hence causing the red flags.

Is it normal to go off track during setup/testing sessions for track cars? Maybe they were tyring the setup and see how far they can take it.

I think SIC should limit their Sunday trackday entry to a certain figure... Someone told me there were 130++ entries last week. Idiots..

Kookaburra said:
XXX, need to clarify my posting. I didn't mean the track cars didn't obey the red flags (no idea who didn't), but I saw a few track cars going off hence causing the red flags.

Is it normal to go off track during setup/testing sessions for track cars? Maybe they were tyring the setup and see how far they can take it.

No, its not normal and u don't go above the limit to find the limit.. But no one is perfect and there r sure human errors.. Its nobody to blame when accident happens in track.. or more like u can't blame anyone.. A better thing to do is to have more educated track marshalls to spot reckless/clueless drivers and black flag them off to give warning or suspend them. Thats wat happens overseas.. I'm saying that cos I was being an idiot myself too after not being able to do any clean run hence resorted to having some cheap thrill drifting the last corner.. overcooked it and spun off but a simple wave to the marshall there and he let me off without any trouble.. Not right. Though my defence is I make sure no one is behind me.. Not an excuse.. haha..

Friend's evo was getting hit deliberately by track cars during some supposedly clean dog fight.. Chill out man.. its an open practice day.. not a freaking war zone.. doubt I'll ever go on Sundays..

if dun go on sunday when can go? :D haha... i went there first time... :D so scared frm those track car.... :D i'm still not sure the racing line... those fast car frm back really scared me off.... :D i slow down at outside line let them passed.... :D n my car overheated.... scared me also.... but after cool down, ok ledi.... went back into track, but drive slow slow.... :D

next time have to prepare more... :D

DSC00036.jpg

Sorry I couldn't go fellas. :( Last minute change of plan. And besides, tayar botak, macam slicks!

130++ cars? Geez.

kwai said:
if dun go on sunday when can go? :D haha... i went there first time... :D so scared frm those track car.... :D i'm still not sure the racing line... those fast car frm back really scared me off.... :D i slow down at outside line let them passed.... :D n my car overheated.... scared me also.... but after cool down, ok ledi.... went back into track, but drive slow slow.... :D

next time have to prepare more... :D

DSC00036.jpg

what fluid is that on the floor?

the track cars were more behaved compared to last time la... got one time i went... track cars macam on fire...

this time everyone was relatively well behaved except for few jokers who didn't understand yellow/red flag, or choose to ignore them. got 1 red wira le still cucuk cucuk me when flag was shown. i was behind a mini then who was also obeying the flags.

sometimes very susahlah we are trying to post a time and then some slow car suddenly gets in your way but sometimes I dont blame them bcos we suddenly come out from no where and they didnt notice but its always good to be lookin always at your rear side back and whatever mirrors you have if you think you are slow, but the best part is sometimes they now but they think they are faster and try to be like hero.
Example an evo7 who knows in a straight line he is faster but when come to the corner he is slow, let us pass we are not tryin to race with you we just want to get a time.
Im not sayin track car means its faster but just be considerate if you know you are not as fast as the car coming from behind get off the racing line. Last sunday session a lot of track cars bcos preparing for MME and most of them including me were trying to post some times to see what we have done to the set up of our cars made any difference but it can be very frustrating especially when you almost finish 3/4 of the lap and you get bogged down by a slower car in the last corner and you have to do it all over again.

XXX said:
sometimes very susahlah we are trying to post a time and then some slow car suddenly gets in your way but sometimes I dont blame them bcos we suddenly come out from no where and they didnt notice but its always good to be lookin always at your rear side back and whatever mirrors you have if you think you are slow, but the best part is sometimes they now but they think they are faster and try to be like hero.
Example an evo7 who knows in a straight line he is faster but when come to the corner he is slow, let us pass we are not tryin to race with you we just want to get a time.
Im not sayin track car means its faster but just be considerate if you know you are not as fast as the car coming from behind get off the racing line. Last sunday session a lot of track cars bcos preparing for MME and most of them including me were trying to post some times to see what we have done to the set up of our cars made any difference but it can be very frustrating especially when you almost finish 3/4 of the lap and you get bogged down by a slower car in the last corner and you have to do it all over again.

haha.got same experience like u also when drive my vtec last time.thats one f355 cruising around the track.whenever reach corner he will brake until very slow than i closed the gap then straight line he full throttle again.how can my vtec overtake your ferrari man?aiyo.then nvm i just play at my own pace.if can overtake,overtake lo if cant just follow.then after few laps following behind he finally give way and let me pass.maybe he will think'sohai,drive vtec want to overtake my ferrari.eat shit la!'

XXX said:

are u saying me? soli, first time went there... i also dunno, scared when see those fast car frm my rear mirrow, i onli try to keep at outside line(racing line are inside of corner right?).....

lan evo said:
haha.got same experience like u also when drive my vtec last time.thats one f355 cruising around the track.whenever reach corner he will brake until very slow than i closed the gap then straight line he full throttle again.how can my vtec overtake your ferrari man?aiyo.then nvm i just play at my own pace.if can overtake,overtake lo if cant just follow.then after few laps following behind he finally give way and let me pass.maybe he will think'sohai,drive vtec want to overtake my ferrari.eat shit la!'

hmmm well is the 355 sg plated? i was testing out my car during a MSS practise section and there is this very annoying sg plated 355 who jus wonders around the track like he doesnt know what to do.. destroy a few of my practise lap (almost evry few laps i will meet him once) and almost cause me to crash into him as he was very very slow evrywhere..

I was there too that day, driving my Corolla SE.G for the first time. (Black SE.G without GT Wing). Since I am a newbie, if I have gotten into the way of somebody or have been regarded as driving recklessly, I am sorry, it was a learning experience for me and a good one too.

But luck is not on my side as on the very last round just before I was thinking to retire to the Pit due to braking problem (brake Pads totally worn out) I got banged from behind at turn 4 (the L shaped 2nd Gear corner). I can briefly see that it was a Black Track Satria. From my own judgement, I know I did not commit any driving error at that time because I was following a stream of other cars in front of me, all downshifting to 2nd and slowing down to negotiate the turn, so I am quite confident that the car behind me has overshoot either his braking or downshifting, because the impact was very strong, My Corolla spun 180 degree into the inside and he passed me. Luckily I did not spun into somebody else path or things could get worse. I accepted this as one of the risk of Track driving so I will keep it to myself, didn't even bother to see the other driver and argue with him, no point. What I do regret is that, what was he trying to achieve? supposedly a Track car means he is no newbie and should have known better and behave better in taking such a slow corner. I dunno. Nevertheless I am looking forward to the next Track day..

See u all there!

kwai said:
Kookaburra Kookaburra, i saw ur car tat day~! :D

hahaha, why everybody laughing at the yellow car? I drove the car into the paddock carpark, people already laugh at the car. Then my friends returning to the pitlane people also laugh at the car :lol:

I suppose Kookaburra is the laughing bird :D

GT3 said:
hmmm well is the 355 sg plated? i was testing out my car during a MSS practise section and there is this very annoying sg plated 355 who jus wonders around the track like he doesnt know what to do.. destroy a few of my practise lap (almost evry few laps i will meet him once) and almost cause me to crash into him as he was very very slow evrywhere..

how come MSS practice session they allow non-competitors to go on the track? If the 355 came on an open track day,
unless he is slow while on the racing line then there is not much you can complain about coz it is an open track day......but you are right, it is dangerous to be clueless on track and everyone should be aware of their surroundings.

ah EFN i guess the SEG narx said to recognize is yours...
kena langgar? and the fellow don't even bother to say sorry? thats kinda shitty isn't it? i mean seriously.... ouch
my sympathy!

who laugh at ur car? :( no no i didn't... :(

i remember ur car coz when i lepak in friend's wira i saw ur car around ma... :D so well kept

I think last track day was better as more drivers are generally more discipline. Slower cars were giving way and most faster cars were driven less recklessly except the white fiat coupe. I was out on my 1st warm up lap when I met this white fiat coupe on turn 11 or so. Decided to follow this coupe but I didn't push hard as I was on my warm up lap. While following him till my 2nd lap, I was pretty shock to see the coupe driver making sudden lane change, being very aggressive by braking very late into corners and upsetting his coupe and just sliding all over. The worst thing was he was doing all this when there was other car either braking into the corner or in the corner.

After turn 9 I decided to push closer to the coupe but after turn 14 i decided to keep a slight distance as I saw the way he was driving was bound to crash one day. Luckly I kept a slight distance as when we approach turn 15 he skidded and crash into the blue nissan. I also skidded in the mist to avoid both of them and luckly i was a slight distance to have enough time to react.

I think one thing everyone must remember is that this is a Sunday Track Day open to the general public. Any car and any level of skill driver can also attend. So if you are out there to have fun and for the aderaline rush just pay more attention in your mirrors and drive within reasonable limits. If you want more speed, upgrade your driving skill and ethics and not upgrade your car only. As for those more serious driving enthuasist or race practicer, just bear in mind that this is NO RACE or Qualifying day. I know how frustrating it feels not to have a clean lap on Sunday practice but then again it is a public Sunday Track Day. If you want to do proper test and timing, I guess we all just have to call up SIC and ask them when the track is open for MME practice during weekdays. But of course it will cost us more again, higher entrance fee and taking leave. Hai.. Just wished the weekdays fee was cheaper...