sentra or vios

thanks bro...

at first, i'm planning to get myself a 2001/02 nissan sentra 1.6. After making some browsing regarding nissan car, i can conclude 2 things:
1. FC for nissan car is little bit high, and the pick up is not so good ( this car is good for high speed maybe). Thats why i've decided to get the 1.8.
2. the commom problem with sentra is the "nyet nyet nyet", "kluk kluk kluk" and "ktok ktok ktok" sound. but, no car is perfect.

btw, i hate the tail light of the latest sentra.... dunno why.

as for vios, everything is fine. except its size is compact. and also, the 2nd hand value is quite high, better get the new one.

devilsq said:
thanks bro...

at first, i'm planning to get myself a 2001/02 nissan sentra 1.6. After making some browsing regarding nissan car, i can conclude 2 things:
1. FC for nissan car is little bit high, and the pick up is not so good ( this car is good for high speed maybe). Thats why i've decided to get the 1.8.
2. the commom problem with sentra is the "nyet nyet nyet", "kluk kluk kluk" and "ktok ktok ktok" sound. but, no car is perfect.

btw, i hate the tail light of the latest sentra.... dunno why.

as for vios, everything is fine. except its size is compact. and also, the 2nd hand value is quite high, better get the new one.

I agreed with u, just that i dont have the $$ to buy it..he he...

My experience of sentra 2000Dec 1.6(a): very bad depreciation, only good buy on fairly 2nd hand, but fc on highway, much better than any 2nd hand protons, hahaha, mixed driving fc not much different among them lar, always jam what...if full load & canstant at 110kmh, Sentra still can sudden accelerate...i like it....of course Vios can do it better lar....

Sentra autobox smoothness is definately not a strong point compare with Vios, esp those exceptionally low mileage / low usage autobox, a bit sluggish & reluctant to shift up..Need to machined flush the ATF & put in some good staff like lubeguard (for ATF) to smooth its operation.

Chips Yap review on 2001 1.8(A) is quite good, they climb Genting also no problem, ori tyre Goodyear NCT 15", comfort & low noise too

But if 2nd hand value does bother u, then a used Vios or a used Honda City lor...although entry cost (ie purchase price) wise, 2001 (1.6A) Sentra is cheaper.

So, ur bet is on which one?

devilsq said:

thats what i really wanted to say!!
but worry nanti nissan fans shot me back... hahah...
but i do heard ppl say about this...

the pre-facelift 1.8 sentra will still lose to vios's pickup from dead stop . the power is feels sluggish before 3k rpm but after 3k its linear all da way throughout the revs , and feels smooth .

because of the sluggishness the fuel consumption would be higher compared to the vios as u have to constantly step it over 3k rpm to get the car moving .

another thing about the sentra , is the soft-suspension which make passengers feel rather uneasy at speeds . or maybe its just me . haha

FC and Power would be VIOS win since smaller size and lighter then Sentra

Sentra only win space and i heard Sentra pickup is bad....

since many ppl also say sentra pick up is slow...
then this not a rumour anymore... its true lo

Sentra big cabin so heavy lor but i think Sentra more comfort then Vios :D

The pick-up might not be as good as Vios, but bigger car is like that mah. The pick-up is not so bad lar, I drove my frens Sentra before. Sentra is a family saloon car mah, you can't expect sports performance. Even drive Mercedes also feel the pick-up bad. You want pick-up good, buy the Kelisa or Kenari. Kelisa pick-up feels like driving a 1.6 Vtec lor. Step on the gas a bit the car shoot out d.

I think Sentra 1.8 pickup alot better..FC also higher hehehe...

With that kind of a budget...u can do better...look for Alfa's..BMW's..or even some of the japs..

dont know bout you guys but i've sat & driven on a vios and a sentra before... somehow i feel sentra body more solid.

I'll go for sentra even though i'm on a toyota now, but i guess both car has its pro and cons, mind you sentra back seat leg room isnt that spacious either.

hello.
i used to own a sentra, and now im driving a vios..

the sentra.
solid car, performance-wise this is a heavy car, but its only heavy because its HELL SOLID. and i can say this with first hand experience, the car saved my life. i smashed into a lamp-post on the left side, after spinning out, the car was totalled, complete lost. the chassis absorbed the impact beautifully, i escaped the horrific accident with some cuts and minor fractures in my skull.

FC-wise - this car is not very fuel efficient, again possibly due to the weight.

the vios.
nippy car, with nice acceleration. handling wise this car is not as good as the sentra, but it is a VERY fuel efficient car. practical for daily use, perhaps for small families.
cabin space is tight, very small. even in front, it feels crampy.

the vios looks like a peice of metal compared to the sentra, which tops the vios anytime when it comes to style..

i guess its really what you want..

feel free to ask questions :)

but why the change from sentra to vios?

I guess it must be the FC, but yeah like what you said sentra is more solid, and yes heavier.

Didn't you read that his car is a total loss? Maybe after the accident and high FC he didn't have enough $$$ to buy a new sentra, so Vios pun ok lar....

Ahhh yes i left that part out, must be the effect of going out till 6am