Sandakan Drag Race

toyoae111 said:
do u think tat the drag road is a little bit short? i was there during their testing...
hhmmm.... dunno coz my car is not up to the qualification... :X-:

What did they use to test the length of the track? A 6-second 1/4mile drag car?:regular_smile: Tawau's airstrip was long enough for a second 1/4mile run after the first run. Miri's Lutong is between 700m to 800m long from starting line to edge of strip before the grass. How long is the length of the STC track you saw?

cck2228 said:
Yea...all the construction had completed but they said they have to wait due to all the drag strip equipment!!!

Is the equipment there already but only waiting to be installed and set up?

Planning my leave/holidays around Merdeka Day(31/8) to clear some leave. Sure hope STC make it to organise a debut drag race event around Merdeka Day. Maybe Borneogti can help me to complete the leave application form soon? keke:shades_smile:

sandakan race drag start to RUNNING

24th n 25th of june sandakan drag race was started running....
now just for member to training or play friendly match....every sunday there were many ppl start testing there..... 2nd of july will be a friendly match.....

tecklik said:
24th n 25th of june sandakan drag race was started running....
now just for member to training or play friendly match....every sunday there were many ppl start testing there..... 2nd of july will be a friendly match.....

Tell us more about the friendly match on July 2nd. What cars?

Tawau is going to holding their 3rd race. When will STC drag strip hold their first ever? May be they need to wait for the last piece of brick or the last screw to be fixed up before they could ever start one? hehe

Daihatsu Mira said:
stay cold bro...i think no longer they will organise one...
cheers...

I am sure many hearts already turned from hot to cold now for waiting too long to see STC "walk the talk".:regular_smile:

That is odd? Why did you say that STC will no longer organize one? If not, what is the point of building the drag strip? :regular_smile:

hehe....coz i heard someone said they wanna organize too in this august...but at the same times tawau also holding one so they dont want to meet the same race together...
that's what i heard lah...
then they postpone to october...
so stay tuned...

Daihatsu Mira said:
hehe....coz i heard someone said they wanna organize too in this august...but at the same times tawau also holding one so they dont want to meet the same race together...
that's what i heard lah...
then they postpone to october...
so stay tuned...

Wah,you meant Tawau event can be a threat to STC?:regular_smile:

October will be a month of Puasa and Hari Raya for the muslims and will be unwise for anyone to hold a debut Event in that month. The best month will be September with TYT's Birthday and people will be able to take leaves away from their work to participate in the event. After that, it wil be Xmas and New Year and which are overriding excuses/reasons for participants to shy away from the event. May be STC shoud also consider these factors not only for the sake of Sabahans but also Bruneians and Sarawakians who have to travel a long distance? If not, STC may just choose any weekend in the remaining part of this year and proceed with it, or else, we may only see an event during the first half of next year?:regular_smile:

nova said:
Wah,you meant Tawau event can be a threat to STC?:regular_smile:

October will be a month of Puasa and Hari Raya for the muslims and will be unwise for anyone to hold a debut Event in that month. The best month will be September with TYT's Birthday and people will be able to take leaves away from their work to participate in the event. After that, it wil be Xmas and New Year and which are overriding excuses/reasons for participants to shy away from the event. May be STC shoud also consider these factors not only for the sake of Sabahans but also Bruneians and Sarawakians who have to travel a long distance? If not, STC may just choose any weekend in the remaining part of this year and proceed with it, or else, we may only see an event during the first half of next year?:regular_smile:

hmmm,never think that's the problem too....
i think the consider the date oh....
thanks for your advise bro..
hehe..by the way...tawau will having the fourth race in december...
but the date havent set yet...

I saw recent photos taken of the STC drag strip on this website forum:

http://xceleration.dynu.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=11&st=40

Wonder why the timing system(Xmas Tree,etc) and display boards for the result of each run still not up yet?? Why is the wait??:sad_smile:

Daihatsu Mira said:
but do u think the drag strip is not wide enough?

It can be wider. I am sure the organizer/owner must have seen for themselves what the actual international standard drag strip look like. They are all on the internet if they are lazy to fly. Well, they could always widen it if they have more land and money later. Like one of the members above said, we do it "Kolombong style" for the time being and watch out for the straying car next lane.:regular_smile:

Why not someone get on to the STC drag strip and take a photo shoot of the width of the drag strip in addition to the lengthwise shots and post them on the forum?

Like I said, the organizer should put up some time recording system now like Tawau drag has but better with at least a display of the time recorded immediately after each run to be fair, and hold an event for the time being just for the fun. Hell they could even collect some money from the event and help them offset some of the initial cost they have already plonked in.:regular_smile:

nova said:
It can be wider. I am sure the organizer/owner must have seen for themselves what the actual international standard drag strip look like. They are all on the internet if they are lazy to fly. Well, they could always widen it if they have more land and money later. Like one of the members above said, we do it "Kolombong style" for the time being and watch out for the straying car next lane.:regular_smile:

Why not someone get on to the STC drag strip and take a photo shoot of the width of the drag strip in addition to the lengthwise shots and post them on the forum?

Like I said, the organizer should put up some time recording system now like Tawau drag has but better with at least a display of the time recorded immediately after each run to be fair, and hold an event for the time being just for the fun. Hell they could even collect some money from the event and help them offset some of the initial cost they have already plonked in.:regular_smile:

I'll get some shots on my next trip there.

After the Tawau incident today, I hope the owner puts up a concrete barrier to prevent the cars from crashing into race marshalls and spectators.

phoenixpower said:
I'll get some shots on my next trip there.

After the Tawau incident today, I hope the owner puts up a concrete barrier to prevent the cars from crashing into race marshalls and spectators.

I suggest to use old used rubber tyre walls instead of concrete which are hard on impact. I guess the organiser would have drawn their experience from go-kart track. Incidentally, noone should be near to the track, not even the marshalls.:_: