Sandakan Drag Race

so wat does tis mean?

This maybe means they start their business like building a drag-race car starting from street-spec(K&N,spark plugs, exhaust,etc) hehe. Then slowly and silently they add more hardwares to the car, until one day they are ready to annouce to the world they are going for competition. This process maybe takes a few months, or maybe many years in the future.

A friend told me recently that there was a race on the track last Sunday between a Nissan turbo powered SR20 from KK and 4AG turbo powered Toyota from Sandakan. The race won by Sandakan car by a wide margin. There also two other cars but 4x4 category which also a race between KK and Sandakan built cars. Again, Sandakan car won.

What happened to KK built/tuned cars which always seem to be the faster lot? :)

im just curious.. can any of you guys post some records in drag. like fastest turbo or fastest all motor etc. etc. thanks!

not to convinient to go public =)

Did you mean the story behind the track or behind the recent race?:regular_smile:

If the story is true, then there should not be any inconvenience, unless it has no basis or is kind of personal.:regular_smile:

im just curious.. can any of you guys post some records in drag. like fastest turbo or fastest all motor etc. etc. thanks!

Not that we dont want to. There is none as far as I know. The track is still not completely set up yet. Read my previous posts on this thread. Sorry.:Not_Impressed:

oh i see. its all good. but i think it would be really great to know who's holding the record in all motor and turbo in the country.

I dont think they have a proper timing gear yet.......so it's impossible to give the 1/4 mile time....but I'm sure they will hv it one day!! sigh...

I wonder what timing gear their(STC) pony racing uses?

Since the track is built inside a pony race course, I wonder the government also insists on STC to use professional timing gear before they are given a license because the government may also think that the drag race track can also become a gaming business and therefore must also be fair and professionally run. This is only my assumption, that is, if the government also allows them to operate the drag race track as gaming business.:regular_smile:

On the other hand and pretty much opposite to the above, the government may ban/disallow STC to use any timing gear on the drag race track because the government's license does not allow anymore type of activity that has a possibility of becoming a gaming activity on STC race course. Since there is already pony racing on the course, there should not be any more type of racing with time results at the same place which will cause people to misunderstand and start gambling.This is again just my assumption.:regular_smile:

Anyone with another view?

Anyone heard any news of a drag race event to be held at Sandakan STC around end of next month?

Is Tawau Drag also on the same day?

Road is brand new with good traction. Nothing in Miri nor Tawau can compare lah. Serious racers give this track a 1st preference.

Miri racers should go to Sandakan for the experience and the sea food too. :)

Tawau racers should also try this track out and it has a sheltered grandstand for spectators too.

I believe it also has a serious go-kart circuit too when I was there last time.

Is Tawau Drag also on the same day?

Road is brand new with good traction. Nothing in Miri nor Tawau can compare lah. Serious racers give this track a 1st preference.

Miri racers should go to Sandakan for the experience and the sea food too. :)

Tawau racers should also try this track out and it has a sheltered grandstand for spectators too.

I believe it also has a serious go-kart circuit too when I was there last time.

huhu miss the my home town seafood..very nice n cheap.
when i going bck to kk sure will bring my baby to test the sandakan track.
cant wait the time comes.hehe :banghead:

I heard KK people have not seen the entry form yet but Sandakan people already have.

Why?

dont worry .. normally sabah pl like to register on the race day itself.... i registered few hours b4 i race...no choice. im working and i can only do that after work.

tawau drag race is on 16/8........sandakan track is good. i seen it b4... its just that its not wide enough. but if i can make it i might go and give a try. normally doing race in another place im not quite confident as im afraid my car might fail during the race and i had to take the hassle to bring the car back. if everything smooth i will drive there .....i had take leave since 28 - 2nd sept anyway.

TAWAU drag 16-17/8
SANDAKAN drag 30-31/8

im from kk,sabah..
SPEEDTECH!
AM1 team sabah!

sabah champ. black crx retired..am1 wira not sure goin sandakan~