RX7 ~ How to diff from FC wit FD?

fuel consumption for fc n fd ? 10 liters can go how far ?

1 more question : Can we convert FC engine to FD's engine ?

Thanx :)

is u conver FC to FD you are wasting time and effort... the FD is way more better than the FC

No la.. I have no life, no job.. so I have alot of time to hang out on the internet and read up on stuff :P

Originally posted by slacker@Dec 17 2004, 19:04
There aren't any FA's but there are FB's. The first generation rx7's are split between being called sa22c's and FB3S's. Then you got the FC then the FD and the chassis code for the RX-8 is actually FE.

The FD and FC's are almost totally different cars yet similar due to the same engineering concepts used to design both.

Some differences

- FDs have somewhat of a front mount intercooler (less heat soak) while the FC have a top mount intercooler
- FDs have Torsen type LSD, Zenki FCs have clutch type LSD, Kouki FC has viscous type LSD
- FDs have Sequential twin turbo, FC has a single turbocharger
- FDs have solid corner seals
- Rotors get lighter as the models progressed and compression ratios are different
- FD engine 13B-REW has different engine mount locations than the FC's 13BT
- FDs have Beefed up housings (capable of handling higher hp)
- FDs have different intake manifold and throttlebody design
- FDs and FCs have different suspension geometry
- FDs have 550cc primary injectors and 850cc secondary injectors while FCs have 550cc injectors for both primary and secondary
- 13B-REW has a more efficient design and have only 2 oil injector holes while FCs have 4 oil injector holes
- FCs have a dynamic rear suspension while the FD does not
- FD stock offset is +50 FC stock offset is +40
:o wow , very detail explaination. Thanks, slacker.

LOL...wah target like tat sure hard to find a hubby jor :P

My bozz say...if wanna get a RX7, might as well get a RX8 :lol:

FC comes in a few variant of engines just like FD, stole this somewhere from the web..

86-88 NA = 146 HP @ 6500 RPM w/ 138 Ft/lb @ 3500 RPM
86-88 Turbo = 182 @ 6500 RPM w/ 183 Ft/lb @ 3500 RPM
89-91 NA = 160 HP @ 7000 RPM w/ 140 Ft/lb @ 4000 RPM
89-91 Turbo = 200-202 @ 6500 RPM w/ 196 Ft/lb @ 3500 RPM
Infini IV = 215 @ 6500 RPM w/ 206 Ft/lb @ 3500 RPM

Anyone knows how do I differentiate an Infini IV engine from a series 5? In turns of comparing FC or FD is better, it is something very subjective, this ques shouldn't be exploited any further to avoid some arguments here.. hehehehe there r pros and cons on both, ultimately, I'd love to have SA22, FC3S and also an FD!

Originally posted by QueenBee@Dec 20 2004, 15:48
LOL...wah target like tat sure hard to find a hubby jor :P

My bozz say...if wanna get a RX7, might as well get a RX8 :lol:
Completely different cars lerr!! :)

Its a matter of preference. I'd personally go for the FD instead of RX8. I find the FD has a real sports car look and was built for that very reason. It performs really good as well. The RX8 was built for the urban users with family in mind.

Originally posted by QueenBee@Dec 20 2004, 10:50
Aiiikkk y r U here? LOL. Me fever RX7 edi :wub:
welcome to the club!! loving it is a good start to owning it.

my vote's to FC. just because i drive one!! hehehe....slacker (my sifu) did explain it all so it's all good.
to me, FC is old school and i'm a sucker for old school looking stuff!! FD is of course the most gorgeous car on earth in my definition but i've heard about their many mechanical problems. FC is simpler in many sense; hence less problems.
on a side note, FD do handles better than FC in GT3. GT3 is based on real car capabilities. so u do the math.
Another amazing thing about rotary powered car is the weight distribution. FC is 51/49 which makes the car handles really well. FD is 50/50?? Theoritically, rotary powered car, handles like a beast especially the 7!

Originally posted by endless551@Dec 20 2004, 17:32
FC comes in a few variant of engines just like FD, stole this somewhere from the web..

86-88 NA = 146 HP @ 6500 RPM w/ 138 Ft/lb @ 3500 RPM
86-88 Turbo = 182 @ 6500 RPM w/ 183 Ft/lb @ 3500 RPM
89-91 NA = 160 HP @ 7000 RPM w/ 140 Ft/lb @ 4000 RPM
89-91 Turbo = 200-202 @ 6500 RPM w/ 196 Ft/lb @ 3500 RPM
Infini IV = 215 @ 6500 RPM w/ 206 Ft/lb @ 3500 RPM

Anyone knows how do I differentiate an Infini IV engine from a series 5? In turns of comparing FC or FD is better, it is something very subjective, this ques shouldn't be exploited any further to avoid some arguments here.. hehehehe there r pros and cons on both, ultimately, I'd love to have SA22, FC3S and also an FD!
Endless, you're right on the specs but that's american. The japanese FCs and FDs are a little different in horsepower. To begin with, there are no NAs in Japanese FCs. Only American specs has it. The S5 FC of jspec should be about 220 hp. Could have been the Infini III as well.
Infini IV's engine should be just like the regular S5's 13BT. Which advancement of technology has taken place? I'm not sure....maybe slacker can help in this.
YELL OUT: SLACKER!!!!! WOI.....ANSWER THE Q! :D

Bugger this fella.. he knows as much as me and he calls me sifu :o scary la weiii

I don't remember much about the infini... sigh I have to look that up again. As far as I know the Aspec and Jspec all pretty much the same hp if I'm not mistaken.
The Infinis are really race bred, no sunroof, no radio lightweight everthing, little or no sound insulation, stiffer suspension, lowered etc etc. No A/C and I think power is upped with better exhaust system...maybe about 215hp?

ahhh.....learn new things again. so to say the infinis are like the GTUs of aspec? I've came by a website once that standard FCs in Japan comes in 2 version. GTR and the GTX. These has got no relation with the infinis, rite? the infinis are then another line for the hardcore enthusiast.......?

Yeah, infinis are like err.. mazdaspeed for mazda cars.. but back then I don't think they had mazdaspeed. Instead they made a pure inhouse thing called infini... those things are Japan only models.

GTR ~ S4 FC Turbo
GTX ~ S5 FC Turbo