Remembering Sheena

Seraph

[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] REMEMBERING SHEENA CAMPAIGN!

Who was she?

Born seven years ago, Sheena was a beautiful German Shepherd who died in August this year. The hope and happiness of a puppy were dashed when Sheena ended up in the hands of a cruel owner.

The photos below are of Sheena in the last days of her life. These photos splashed across the national newspapers with her ribs sticking out and stomache bloated sitting by her rusty bowl of contaminated water broke hearts all across the country. Her owner, an engineer from Subang Jaya had kept her tied up and starving.

http://www.spca.org.my/news/images/sheena1.jpg http://www.spca.org.my/news/images/sheena4.jpg

Based on the post-mortem report, Sheena was infected with ticks. She also suffered brittle bones due to malnutrition from young and the malfunction of all her major organs causing water retention which resulted in a bloated abdomen, empty bladder and stomach.

According to newspaper reports, a neighbour had trice telephoned the Selangor Veterinary Department, but nobody went to save the dog. Finally, she called the SPCA and they rushed to the scene to find her still tied and sleeping in her own faeces.

The rescue came too late. Sheena had to be put down on August 18, 2005. The post-mortem revealed that she had suffered neglect for years.

Ironically, it is likely that Sheena, the very same dog starved by her owner, would still lick his hand today if she were alive.

Reports that came in just days after Sheena’s story broke

Soon after Sheena’s ordeal was highlighted in the Press, the Star carried on its front page, the story of a Malayan Tiger that was butchered into four pieces. The perpetrator was apprehended and brought before the court, but set free after he paid a RM7,000 fine. The parts could easily fetch much more on the market than the fine he had paid.

And only days later, another story appeared in the Star of a breeder who kept his cats in such deplorable conditions that even the published photographs of one cat did not look like a cat at all.

Why we should remember her?

Sheena stands for all the abused and neglected pets in Malaysia. The 21st century has seen an increase in reported abuse of domestic animals. Many of these pets are returned to their owners after the case is investigated, and prosecution takes place. The Animal Ordinance 1953 has a maximum of RM200 fine and/or 6 months imprisonment as penalty for abusing an animal. In Sheena’s case, her owner admitted guilt, and was fined RM100, not even a quarter of the price of a German Shepherd puppy, and definitely not even close to the price of her precious life. Sheena must be remembered, so that other animals won’t suffer.

For every animal SPCA rescues, there are many more out there who are still waiting to see the light of day. The only way forward now is to educate people on how to treat animals.

Please do not think that this cruelty will end with the animals. When we allow an environment which is conducive for abusive pet owners to breed, we can rest assured there will be other social problems that will arise along with animal cruelty.

So please help us give a voice to the voiceless.

Please support our Remembering Sheena Campaign. In addition to signing the petition forms to amend the laws in Malaysia for harsher penalties on irresponsible animal care at www.spca.org.my, PLEASE DOWNLOAD THE FORMS AND COLLECT THE SIGNATURES MANUALLY. THEN HAND IN YOUR FORMS PERSONALLY AT OUR SPECIAL RALLY AT SPCA SELANGOR AT JALAN KERJA AYER LAMA, 68000 AMPANG JAYA, SELANGOR (NEXT TO THE INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL KUALA LUMPUR) ON SATURDAY, JANUARY 21, 2006 AT 4:00 PM

You may follow the trail of this campaign by clicking this link below:

remembersheena.blogspot.com.

Contact friends of Sheena at: [email protected]
[/FONT]

Bird Flu A Result Of Our Disrespect For Natural Laws

Below is a letter that appeared in the Star today, Monday March 6th, 2006. Well done, Dr. Rajeswary! We need more people like you to speak up.

BE MORE HUMANE TO CHICKENS

WE need to realise that we are part of an ecosystem where each part depends on another for survival, if not success. There is thus a need for mutual respect between these components.

If we are facing pandemic dangers such as Japanese Encephalitis (JE), SARS or the avian flu, it is because we have not followed the relevant rules.

One just has to see what we are doing to chickens in order to realise this.

First, we breed them in farms, then we give them modified foods to accelerate their growth and mutate their body parts, before they are slaughtered to satisfy our palates. We also make them lay their eggs double fast for us. The list is endless.

Now that they have got a flu (naturally), we dispose of them by the thousands by burying them alive, throwing them in incinerators and suffocating them in plastic bags.

To top it all, these events are proudly broadcast on national TV.

The killing can be done in a kinder manner. Our children are watching. What are we telling them?

Remember, the development of a nation is largely measured by the way in which the people of that nation treat their animals.

DR RAJESWARY A. SARGUNAN,

Kuala Lumpur.

I can't express how sad I feel each time I see such photos or hear of such plights. I only wish that the penalty for such atrocious acts were much heavier. Life is sacred be it an animals or ours. Sure I swat flies and mosquitos but here we are talking about an intelligent being that is man's best friend and means us no harm. In fact, she'll probably protect her dumbass of an owner if he were in trouble. The bit about how it's ironic she'll probably still lick the hand of her owner says it all. If ever I see such a case, you can be darn sure I won't wait days for the authorities to take action. They never published a picture of her owner, did they? I'd keep it in my pocket and pray that I bump into the worthless maggot.

Can't stand to look at her picture. Brings a tear to my eye... She looks so sad and miserable. At least she's in a better place now :sad_smile:

Seraph said:
Bird Flu A Result Of Our Disrespect For Natural Laws

Below is a letter that appeared in the Star today, Monday March 6th, 2006. Well done, Dr. Rajeswary! We need more people like you to speak up.

BE MORE HUMANE TO CHICKENS

WE need to realise that we are part of an ecosystem where each part depends on another for survival, if not success. There is thus a need for mutual respect between these components.

If we are facing pandemic dangers such as Japanese Encephalitis (JE), SARS or the avian flu, it is because we have not followed the relevant rules.

One just has to see what we are doing to chickens in order to realise this.

First, we breed them in farms, then we give them modified foods to accelerate their growth and mutate their body parts, before they are slaughtered to satisfy our palates. We also make them lay their eggs double fast for us. The list is endless.

Now that they have got a flu (naturally), we dispose of them by the thousands by burying them alive, throwing them in incinerators and suffocating them in plastic bags.

To top it all, these events are proudly broadcast on national TV.

The killing can be done in a kinder manner. Our children are watching. What are we telling them?

Remember, the development of a nation is largely measured by the way in which the people of that nation treat their animals.

DR RAJESWARY A. SARGUNAN,

Kuala Lumpur.

I'm no vegetarian but the manner in which livestock is killed should be as humane as possible. It should be quick and swift to reduce suffering.

Just felt like adding two stories of my own just to show how cruel and irresponsible people can be.

The first tells of my first pet dog whom I literally treated as one of my best pals. She was with me for 13 yrs and was a friend who was always happy to see me and would always listen to whatever I had to say. Silly as it may sound, I often confided in her as all we sometimes want is someone to listen to us. Many friends came and went but she was always there for me. She has since departed this world due to old age and lies in my backyard where she will always be part of the family.

We first met about 15 yrs ago when my maid was walking to the market and saw that a couple of kids had doused her with oil and wanted to set fire to her. She was only a wee little puppy back then and I could hold her in the palm of my hand. We bathed her, took her to the vet and gave her a home. I hope that she cherished the life we gave her. 2 years ago on Deepavali day, I got a call from my maid informing me that she thought my friend was going to die. I had a meeting and could not leave work at the time but called my brother who was already on the way home. When I finally managed to leave and got home, I had found that she passed away peacefully in the arms of my brother. My maid has said that she waited for him to come home before saying a final goodbye. Sadly, I never got the chance and I regret it till this day. I was numb and devoid of emotion on that day but a couple of days later, I broke down in tears with regret and sorrow. Till today I question if I could have given her a better life. Till today... I miss her deeply.

Since then I met with my second pet dog. He was spotted by a friend of my neighbours who had stopped their 4WD and let him out of the car on Sprint highway. These kind souls put him in their car and dropped them off with my neighbour. Knowing that I loved dogs, my neighbour asked if I wanted to keep him or he would have to hand him over to the RSPCA. WIthout hesitation, I obliged. I have since discovered that he is 2 yrs old, innocent and befriends everybody. He hardly barks but is always wagging his tail and jumping on people. I ask myself how someone could have left him to be runover. My neighbour tried to trace his original owners and we found out they lived near us. My neighbour went over, rang the bell but no one answered. He left a message saying that we found their dog and gave them a number to call. Guess what? Surprise surprise, no call till this day. I'm not complaining for I've made another friend.

This may all sound silly and soppy to you folk but I cherish the friendship my 2 friends have given me more than I cherish certain human beings.

I can't really relate to your story Duke as I've never actually been an owner of a pet. One reason why, is that I know that I can't be a good owner and therefore I never did.

Because of that, if there is one thing I can't stand, is people who spends lots of money to buy these small little puppies without really thinking about it. And then the dog either ends up neglected and miserable or in the streets or the RSPCA. If there's anyone who I'd wish to get bitten by a rabid dog, it would be them.

si|verfish said:
I can't really relate to your story Duke as I've never actually been an owner of a pet. One reason why, is that I know that I can't be a good owner and therefore I never did.

Because of that, if there is one thing I can't stand, is people who spends lots of money to buy these small little puppies without really thinking about it. And then the dog either ends up neglected and miserable or in the streets or the RSPCA. If there's anyone who I'd wish to get bitten by a rabid dog, it would be them.

Like you I never really planned to be a pet owner either. You will notice that in both circumstances, the dogs were either abused or left to die. You don't always plan for these things. Sometimes life throws you a curveball.

In many instances, parents buy adorable puppies for their children to play with. As these puppies grow older as do the children, they are given less and less attention. The parents then do now know what to do with these puppies. More responsible ones will put them up for adoption while cruel heartless ones will discard of them by any means necessary.

My heart just broke when i saw the pics. I'm an animal lover myself. I love my dog, cats and rabbit sooo much..

damn...really brings tears...i had a 12yrs old dog before and it wasnt his time to go yet but there was one morning my neighbour reversed the car n rolled over him by accident cuz the cleaner came to the hse n my dog would moved out of the way to the dividing pillar at the front gate,sitting right in the middle...dunno how the car get so close to the pillar it doesnt make sense....he died on the way to the vet with internal bleeding...just not his time...and the saddest most frustrating part is,my neighbour just said 'sorry' n continued into the house...my dog din do anything to them to have them roll over him...just plain 'tidak apa' attitude.because my dog was old,he was really quiet n dont bark at outsiders when this neighbour moved in.

so bad...i've been keeping dogs as my pets since kid,how could an owner be such insane and keep sheena away from food...'wat kind of human is dat??!!

broken hearted!!!! wat kind of fart owner is that, next life the owner will be tied up like the same way now... totallyabuse man.. next time call spca better still...

cried few times when i read in newspaper last time... i feel my doggie very happiness, got nice food eat....outside still got a lot dogs very kesian

I sometimes get to thinking... When human's die it's mostly because of their own doing. Cars were manufactured by us. Cigarettes processed made by us. Guns were designed by us. The list goes on and on. When animals die, it's also because of us. We invade their land and claim everything to be our own.

Last time we had this cute puppy that my aunt bought back. At first all my family was aprehensive at keeping a dog. It concerns heavy responsibility. But my aunt persist on keeping it. And we didn't bother with the dog either. At first few month, the dog was well kept. But the months of care turned to months of neglect. The dog was infected with rashes and ticks and fleas. We complained to my aunt, but she just say "yes laaahhh". :Not_Impressed:

Last i knew the dog was taken by SPCA to be put down. I was sad at that time. Mainly because i knew no one would take care of it as time goes by.

The moral is, CUTE,..... yes its CUTE. If you can't accept things would grow up and not to your liking, then DON'T OWN PETS!:Not_Impressed:

Yeah, when I was younger a dog followed me home. Kinda scary coz you know as a kid you're small and a dog is big. But it didn't chase me.

Very happy and friendly dog. Playful too.

We're living in an apartment then so not alot of room for a dog. He was well fed and loved but we didn't have the space so his home was the space outside between the grille and wooden door. Not ideal but I guess it couldn't be considered animal cruelty.

Anyway my neighbour complained and said wanna report to police, coz we cannot keep dogs there and somemore said her kids allergic to dogs or any animal with fur - we also fed and took care of some stray cats on a part-time basis.

So my uncle took the dog (Lucky) to Seremban where his family had a workshop there. He told me the dog has a confortable life there but travelling there was abit taxing for him, puked on the way by car.

The new owner is my uncle's cousin. Takes care of the dog. The dog even eats together with him, sometimes sharing the same packet of tah pao mix rice. No dog food, can't afford it. Sometimes owner don't eat but feed the dog, sometimes both also nothing to eat.

Is it animal cruety?
Dog is loved.
Taken care of.
Have food.
Large space to roam.
But owner isn't rich so life abit tough lo.

hmm...dogs eating human food is alrite...but its best if the dog is fed with its own kind of food cuz there's a diff nutrition level..last time my dog for 12yrs eats rice n broiled beef...like king oni...
then my dad figured its not healthy,his coat is getting dull n he's getting lazier by the year...
so my dad switched to dry feed and some supplements and result is....my dog of mixed cocker spaniel and spitz,shiny golden coat and sized up looked like a golden retriever...damn...so sayang

more brother mah eat same food.
he see us eat meat he eat boring pellet everyday also sian..hehe!

what pellet pellet? thats for turtles la....
its dry feed~good stuff,makes dog fur silky smooth n make the dog confident to kau gao..haha