remap ecu

huakenny said:
malaysian of coz got...but cant compare to japan lo....our country stil considered as Developing country while Japan is Developed Country....
in term of technology we are not too far behind Japan. Maybe in some areas they are ahead of us. We have the capabilities to do what they can do. Be optimistic.

Back to topic, remapping ECU is a pretty tedious job. you don't have to be a rocket scientist to do it, but you need some skills and determination.
What is it that we don't have that we cannot do ECU remapping? electronics skills? we have electronics engineers. they can read and burn the EEPROMs. they can also do some soldering job.
tuning skills? we have automotive engineers and also tuners. they have to take subjects like internal combustion and this is mandatory. you get both of them together, they can do wonders.

Personally, i like to try things out. i've remapped ECU on my friend's car (B16A). he gets more mileage and better response.
Do you know MegaSquirt DIY ECU? Search Google. It's far cheaper than most aftermarket ECUs. THere are automotive engineers, electronics engineers and programmers who developed the ECU. It has many features like aftermarkets have. It costs less than RM1000. In fact there are few people in MoTec USA are following the development of the ECU. RM1000 is better than RM4000!! ;)

I've bought the ECU july last year (of course the complete unit :P, since I don't have much time to solder) and successfully installed it to my car (it's a 4G63T). I tuned the car myself. The car now is happy with the MegaSquirt ECU.
I'm not saying i'm good and i don't do tuning job to make a living (not 100% ;)). I'm not promoting because this is my passion and hobby. I like to try things out, maybe i'm just too curious to know.I've got my own daily 9 to 5. I have confidence that our local tuners can do the same as foreign tuners. you need just to find `the one'.

p/s: khoyos, i'm kinda lagging. we cannot promote meh?

malaysia had the technology not long ago. i cant compare apple to apple since japan had this technology 20 years ago and they had spent so much time and money making the perfect chip and EMS for each car. please dont forget that consider ourself lucky to be able to own such programs and be able to tune and burn chips at the time being.

what they are doing are also the same and probably they have extra maps that we still dont. theres not much to it in the rechipping of ecu unless u want to go for extra functions that haltech or motec might cater your likings that an ecu is just not capable of doing.

the main reason why it is so much expensive in japan as they have set a price range to accomodate the whole wide world demand. some say cheap, some say expensive. when we argue about chipping and piggyback, people say send to japan or invite the japanese. but when the japanese arrive, nobody seems to be interested to tune for bulk tuning.

after calculation with all the lodging, food, entertainment, airfare and etc, u'll be ending up spending 20k just for a chip to invite a japanese tuner to come to tune a car. that is just rechipping and not car building yet.

we tend to get carried away with the japanese idolism since they started this trend and yet again they seems to be still unfriendly and not sharing their thoughts to us. too much of those "no engrish" websites and secrecy. we should thank the americans since they managed to share what ever they have encrypted and put it up on the net.

at the end of the day, it depends on how much budget do you have and how much power you would want to be put on the ground. i would love to see ppl sharing thoughts and ideas probably with some dyno graphs results and maybe some quatermile time at least to be able to appreciate whatever has been tuned.

until to this day i see that we are still arguing and go into serious dilemma of which camshaft is the best, is 4-1 or 4-2-1 is better, is e-damage good, is rojak-ing your engine bad and etc. ppl seems to want the BEST but wanting to spend a penny on it and still NOT trying.

lets be thankful that we do have local tuners which are trying hard to compete with the rest.

have a good weekend guys.

huakenny said:
tat is Japan...spending n living standard different...

Mines and Ralliart r branded n specialized in this kind of thing....and they hv their own chip....

malaysia dun hv such tech yet...u cant comapre rm1000 quality with rm4000 quality

my 2 cent...

J101 said:
malaysia had the technology not long ago. i cant compare apple to apple since japan had this technology 20 years ago and they had spent so much time and money making the perfect chip and EMS for each car. please dont forget that consider ourself lucky to be able to own such programs and be able to tune and burn chips at the time being.

what they are doing are also the same and probably they have extra maps that we still dont. theres not much to it in the rechipping of ecu unless u want to go for extra functions that haltech or motec might cater your likings that an ecu is just not capable of doing.

the main reason why it is so much expensive in japan as they have set a price range to accomodate the whole wide world demand. some say cheap, some say expensive. when we argue about chipping and piggyback, people say send to japan or invite the japanese. but when the japanese arrive, nobody seems to be interested to tune for bulk tuning.

after calculation with all the lodging, food, entertainment, airfare and etc, u'll be ending up spending 20k just for a chip to invite a japanese tuner to come to tune a car. that is just rechipping and not car building yet.

we tend to get carried away with the japanese idolism since they started this trend and yet again they seems to be still unfriendly and not sharing their thoughts to us. too much of those "no engrish" websites and secrecy. we should thank the americans since they managed to share what ever they have encrypted and put it up on the net.

at the end of the day, it depends on how much budget do you have and how much power you would want to be put on the ground. i would love to see ppl sharing thoughts and ideas probably with some dyno graphs results and maybe some quatermile time at least to be able to appreciate whatever has been tuned.

until to this day i see that we are still arguing and go into serious dilemma of which camshaft is the best, is 4-1 or 4-2-1 is better, is e-damage good, is rojak-ing your engine bad and etc. ppl seems to want the BEST but wanting to spend a penny on it and still NOT trying.

lets be thankful that we do have local tuners which are trying hard to compete with the rest.

have a good weekend guys.

This is wat i totally agree with....every word n point is so meaningful!GREAT:shades_smile:

zaki said:
p/s: khoyos, i'm kinda lagging. we cannot promote meh?
last time our drax chip thread kena delete. whereas we are not trying to promote it. we just wanted to create awareness that apart from standalones and piggybacks, rechipping is an alternative towards engine tuning. most of our customers are not forummers, but those who hear about us by word of mouth.
so we better dont promote anything. just discuss normally, without giving a hint of our business.

jaga2 zaki, remember not to promote your business.

Write your reply...