E3newbie said:Correct me if i'm wrong but does it mean that stand alone have more parameters?
what khoyos comparing is a chip to a piggyback, its true that standalone hav more parameters, if u can afford to use it, why not?...
E3newbie said:Correct me if i'm wrong but does it mean that stand alone have more parameters?
jinkl said:accord21 : mapping is mapping bro , just like intercepting it using piggyback
doesnt matter turbo or n/a , ecu can be mapped to new settings and attributes.
MitonCT26 said:the problem comes over time. if the chip is fried or lost its memory over time, the car felt sluggish and consumes tonnes of petrol. sometimes it wont even start. the only option is to change to another chip
MitonCT26 said:let me support abit on khoyos' statement.
there are another way of remapping ECU especially on honda's.
by means of just exchanging the main chip with the "copied" ones flashed into the new chip. some sort of plug out, plug in.
the problem comes over time. if the chip is fried or lost its memory over time, the car felt sluggish and consumes tonnes of petrol. sometimes it wont even start. the only option is to change to another chip.
MitonCT26 said:no2 of disadvantage. in japan, the chip is custom mapped according to your setup done at their workshop be it in mine's or spoon or mugen or whatever lah. but the problem comes when a dude in malaysia got hold of a chip from the halfcut ECU and then makes mass copies of it claiming to increase hp, well partly true also. but take into consideration their air temp over there, the octane of the fuel (japs have ron 100s) and their ignition timing etc etc etc. is just totally diffrerent than the conditions here in malaysia. well some have been working fine touch wood but it is still worth to buy programmable chip/ecu/piggyback/management with some sort of fiddling to compensate or to optimise your setup. some mugen chips are known to bypass ECU error codes/check light or just cancel any warning signs to extract more horsies out of their engines. one small error...then there might be a chance you see a piston or a conrod fly out from your engine. that's the worse case scenario lah.
that's why it is a risk and there is no guarantee that your car will become faster by just adding a chip. but, ultimately for the amount of money you spend for one (rm 300 to 500) for a non-programmable, why dont spend a tad bit more for some programmable, adjustable management to suit every upgrade or setup you want in the future?
my 2 cents. uncle getting old and grumpy already. hahahahaha.