Recomended Gearbox 4 VR4

alucard, consider triniti lar, wong tells me with stock pressure plate it should be good up to 250hp. get the kevlar one, good stuff

dolly jus wana know how much it cost for a trinity kevlar clutch pads..is it gripy like those exedy ? can use back our own clutch cover rite?

sorry. just read ur latest reply that show u r using 4G13 Gearbox. u transplant ur VR4 into ur iswara? just wanna know how is the power band perform when u using VR4 with the stock F5M21.
i still wonder the F5M21 internal rings and gears can cope with VR4 power n torque. or u have change them into "straigh cut"?

ves, thanks again for the pictures and explanation..

So actually, I can use the 9" clucth but need to skim the clucth cover and clutch bolt. How about the clutch itself? I dun think that can be skimmed? The locking holes for clutch cover looks pretty close... any probs with its strength.. can tahan the abuse!!

dolly, the trinity is 8.5" izzit.. any idea on the price??

Thanks guys.....

CHB ,
yes im using back the F5M21 which is from the 1.3/1.5 proton gearbox . as for the internals , i guess its the same as any FM series , be it putra or gti its the same , just that the ratio and mounting point is different and certain stuff is different from my opinion . And i`ve been using this gearbox on the 4G63 for 1 year and the half without problem's . And before this was using it on the 4G13P for 6 years , so total usage & abuse for 7 years & half and its still going good , not as smooth as before cause nowdays always go infloods , so have too flush the gearbox oil .

blue print

oh yea , some people say that the F5M22 putra , gti & wira 1.6 gearbox is stronger then the F5M21 1.3/1.5 gearbox . i say all that is bullshit :lol:

F5M21
http://www.vestax.fivio.net/clutch/gearboxf5m21.jpg

F5M22
http://www.vestax.fivio.net/clutch/gearboxf5m22.jpg

AlucarD ,
well actually you don't need to skim that much , the one i show you was skimed by a machine . i know alot of people runing on this setup too , now day's its full of modification's :lol: . say worst comes to worst , which would u like to screw up ? your gearbox which is worth RM 800 bucks market price or clutch cover which is worth 50 bucks for a second hand unit or a new one at 100 bucks ?. :lol:

vestax, any gearbox that can go 300kmh that fits onto a vr4 engine without costing too much?

Currently tried maxing out my gsr 1.8 gearbox at 220kmh 5th gear almost 7k rpm while trying to tail a modena (of coz kena smoked as well...haha) Also noticed there is a lag after 200kmh.. looks like more power is needed as well.

300km/h you must be joking man :lol: , serious shit you must be really joking , cause this is 1 of the fastest galant in the world clocking 290 ++ km/h if im not mistaken . and i bet he has atleast 700hp under its hood to get that kind of speed . and your aming for 300 ? the question is where are you going to test the speed ?. cause that galant did at salt lake if not mistaken :lol: .

wahlau danny..crazy shit man..300kmh ..u muist be kidding man..i think my balls will shrink if i were sitting beside u..anyway one of my fren's wira, turbo ..if im not mistaken evo clocked max spped of 265kmh .. dats the highest speed i heard of le..as for GSR gearbox i dun think ther is much high speed due to the close gear ratio..

Vestax, just wondering, since u are running the F5M21 gearbox on the VR4(which model of VR4 is yours? 200bhp? 220bhp? 240bhp?), what's your rpm at 110km/h? It's still same like the original 4G13/4G15 where its around 3,200rpm?

Thanks.

Ves...

the pic u post.....alamak...galant where can go so fast wan......hehe....normally those cars using salt lake are "rocket" based, or sports car look.....dis galant ar...aijoo...family car ler....wanna go so fast for what..... :D

alucarD bro,

long time never hear from u.....ur clutch slipping ar?.....reckon u got high power to weight ratio....with all the CF stuff under the bonnet....hehe.... ;)

e39a, Foowarrr ... high power to weight also can slip wan neh!! :lol: :lol:

Brudderr.. long time u didnt appear on the forum leh.. last I heard you were retiring from car mod!! No more slimming scessions for your babe meh??

Ves, thanks for your feedback. I'll prolly look at new clutch after Dec.. will see which option I go.. either,

1) full trinity 8.5" semi race.
2) stock MMC 9" for Evo and mod like you.
3) exeddy race pressure-plate with organic/nomal clutch.

You all wait and see ler.. danny's Vr4 will be the fastestestes in M'sai... the 200hp shot of Laughing gas also not install yet!!

alucard, sorry for not replying sooner hehe, louya webbit.

neway i paid rm750 for kevlar 9" 6puck springless hub disc. not sure about 8.5" but should be more or less the same

man still can't find ne flywheel for my gsr :( dunno why this one so "special" cis...

vestax, just looking for the gearbox only, so that I have room for future upgrades, doesn't mean I want to run 300kmh now...heheh, anyway norris design also has an evo going 300+ I think it's running at 700+hp. Now it's a bit frustrating on the highways coz there is no where to go after 220 even if there is a way to upgrade the engine power. Wish mitsubitshi has similar 6-speed gearbox like toyota's silver/blacktop, that would be ideal.

keke AlucarD, no lar my car slow bai, the only type of laughing gas I have is when someone tells stupid jokes in my car.

danny must repect u lar, i 160 oredi see lil angels telling me to slow down :lol:

maybe you could consider changing ur final drive ratio? it would make every gear longer...but what else can you do?

got 6 speed what, get a waja + evo 8.5 halfcut lor kekeke

keke no la straight road only so it didn't seem fast, furthermore following a ferarri, everything seems slow in comparison! Feels like going at 80kmh only. Must take note though sepang airport road is super bumpy at certain intervals, I can imagine if using those super hard race suspension the car would go airborne!

dolly, thanks ... can we just use the evo flywheel then since its still 7 bolt type?? get it lighten to about 7kg and then were smooking!!

Danny, nmind.. i sit next to you and blow air into your intake, better than laughing gas.. my car top out at 180ler... speed cut!! :lol: from the stock ECU... :lol:

Jack...ur crazy man....lotsa mods ideas churning in ur mind....

power to weight ratio is important la...ur car so light...clutch "overspinning" till slip la....(talk cock la..hehe)

selamat hari raya everyone out there!!!

out of topic a bit here, if GSR,what gearbox should use? stock GSR and EVO3 non LSD,which one better? interm of 400m drag! hehehe... i've seen my fren GSR with VR4RS 1st 2nd and 3rd,4th and 5th used back the GSR one,quite good... but me dare not to rojak GSR with EVO3 cos expensive! hehehe... hope all the guru here can help!

regards